? 10/29 Xander AMPS 271 - Ultrasound Results

Albert & Xander

Member Since 2025
Yesterday's post

Another late night of testing. He ate well though last night. This morning I had an early meeting so was able to give his pill early and it seemed to help. Still smaller meals but the increased gaba dose last night/this morning made him seem much more comfortable and alert at least. Still hoping this is temporary and not the new normal.

I received the ultrasound results back and am not sure whether to be reassured or concerned. It doesn't really seem like anything has progressed (Attached the current and previous ultrasound report and bloodwork), with no clear signs of IBD. His liver is again enlarged but it seems less so than last time? I know IBD can be present without clear ultrasound findings, but am concerned a diet change could cause even more issues with his finickyness. Not pursuing the diet change anyways until I can get his appetite normal again.

I received the following from the vet regarding his liver:
"I did not appreciate any major change but that is why we get the experts to look! We could give him an antibiotic injection to err on the side of caution if he has a little hepatitis brewing. It would not hurt him if it didn't"

I dont really understand this, it doesn't see there's any strong evidence of a bacterial problem, and an antibiotic most certainly could hurt him in this weakened appetite state I am struggling with. And I am assuming the mentioned shot is Covenia which I won't give based on previous research.
 

Attachments

We could give him an antibiotic injection to err on the side of caution if he has a little hepatitis brewing. It would not hurt him if it didn't"

I dont really understand this, it doesn't see there's any strong evidence of a bacterial problem, and an antibiotic most certainly could hurt him in this weakened appetite state I am struggling with.

Albert, I have a little bit of experience with liver issues in 2 cats of mine. And the US said "mildly", which is good, and I really get your point about using antibiotic (?).

I would like to suggest you something: please read about SAMe and Sylimarin, in case you haven't yet 🙏🏼. Please do. They are supplements and not really "strong medication" with side effects, and they are able to do wonders for the liver and its enzymes ALT and ALP. In my country, many vets prescribe it often when needed - because the results tend to be really good.

SAMe needs to be given on an empty stomach. If you feel like, I can explain it to you in more detail. After taken, please wait at least 45 minutes to feed him. It also supports energy and cognitive function, but it is excellent for the liver. If you can discuss this with his vet or a more "integrative" vet, that might help Xander a lot.

SAMe can be a game changer. Each cat is different, but generally speaking it is quite effective. Within one month of consistent use (once a day) it’s possible to start seeing an improvement in liver enzyme levels.

Obs.: SAMe might indirectly help with pancreatitis too, as it is an antioxidant. (Further studies are needed - it is the "therapy of chronic pancreatitis" section.)

Here is the article:

Pancreatitis in Cats - PMC

(I’m a huge fan of antioxidants. I think they’re wonderful and help so much!)
 
Last edited:
Just to add, you can get these two in a product called Denamarin. Its great for the liver but it does have to be given on an empty stomach. I always found that hard, so I just gave the Sylimarin (Milk Thistle) which will work as well, maybe not as fast. Hard to say.
Exactly. Sometimes it is challenging to give it at least one hour after they finish eating (not less). Sylimarin is great too, I guess it acts more as a protective "shield and filter" for the liver against external aggression and toxins.

I was using these here, as it can be given with food - a combination of two herbal remedies for cats and dogs: Desmodium adscendens (great) and Lithothamnium calcareum (contains calcium). They are also very good for the liver and I got better results in Mami's lab work.

I found something similar in Europe, but not in the US yet. I guess you’d need to go to a compounding pharmacy in the US to get it with a prescription.

Some options, in case you feel like discussing it with the vet:
1.
Vetriscience

2.
FUMACHOL

3.
HEPANUT

Those herbal remedies can be quite effective too. I was not able to find many options in the US, as I said, but maybe they exist and being there will make it easier to find them.
 
Back
Top