10/29 Ming + 1 = 12.6 PMPS = 86 or 4.8 (AMPS = 142, +2 = 50) reduced to 5u in PM with MC meal

Oh, I'm gonna give him his pred with his pill pocket.

Hey... that explains this morning... why he was higher for a little bit after 7 am. I gave his pred at 7 and then 45 mins later, he was a bit higher. then back down
 
Yes, I can.

I'm getting so... anxious. I want to cry.

I'm also worried about tomorrow night. But who knows, I had such a bad night with Ming on Saturday but it was pretty nice and steady on Sunday. Then today... sigh. Worst case scenario for tomorrow night: I bring Ming with me to work. It'll stress him out but at least I can watch him.
 
I know it's not dangerous. I think everything from the past 2 weeks is hitting me hard again. I'm just so frustrated that this is so complicated and every option I have has some risk to it.
 
Worst case scenario for tomorrow night: I bring Ming with me to work. It'll stress him out but at least I can watch him.
...actually, ......if he can be near you in the facility that probably equipped with Dextrose Drip machine...... you might feel so much better if the dose remains relatively high such as right now...
imho casts a different light a little.
 
What’s the carb % of the LC you use?

The Primal Freeze Dried raw.. is 0? I looked at the food chart. It only has Beef and Salmon flavour.

And I don't see FF Classic Turkey and Giblets but they're 5-7% carbs

...actually, ......if he can be near you in the facility that probably equipped with Dextrose Drip machine...... you might feel so much better if the dose remains relatively high such as right now...
imho casts a different light a little.

Probably but I'm the only one staffed and I don't know how to put in a IV catheter so.. lol. I would have to call a doctor but Ming's technically not a patient tomororw night so I don't know how it'll work.
 
And also why we went a bit higher after his pill pocket this afternoon. I get my pred compounded into a chicken flavour chew treat. Very easy to give. :)

I see two possible explanations for today’s numbers. Which by the way, were a gorgeous cycle so far. Option 1 is that he got a sugar high from the HC and it took longer than usual to wear off. Typical is two hours, it was still going up 2.5 hours later. Option 2 is that Ming is a late nadir cat with a late onset and he came back down later after onset. This one is hard to wrap your head around at first.

Remember, we dose based on nadir, not the preshot. If you are following Tight Regulation, he didn’t technically earn a reduction today. But given circumstances, I think it’s best. Tanya is right, you don’t want to reduce too much because of ketones. You just want to reduce to being the nadirs up a bit higher,
 
4.4 or 79 at +11.5

Do you think he'll drop to 2.8 again? Should I feed him a little bit of HC food with his regular meal?
 
he won't drop because you are there and you will test and feed and prevent that from happening.
4.4 is ok, safe.

Hang on for a little while - I hope someone will chime in soon.(My PC freezes as I type ).

Thank you T_T THIS is now the lowest I might shoot lol

And that's annoying that it freezes!!!
 
The Primal Freeze Dried raw.. is 0? I looked at the food chart. It only has Beef and Salmon flavour.

And I don't see FF Classic Turkey and Giblets but they're 5-7% carbs
I dont know if you recall the recipe for ketone formation I mentioned on Saturday...
not enough calories + not enough insulin + infection/systemic inflammation/stress
There is a delicate balance that needs to be maintained until a ketone prone kitty is out of the woods.
In order to maintain an insulin dose that will metabolize enough food to prevent ketones from forming, the extra insulin may need to be offset with food that is higher carb. Something maybe in the 6-12% range.

How do you feel about bringing the dose down to 5u while simultaneously kicking the carb content up?
 
Sorry, cross posted. When is a ketone kitty out of the woods? He hasn't had ketones since the 20th.

I feel.. scared still just because he's so low right now. But as I'm typing this, I understand I'll be giving him something more carby so his 4.8/86 reading will go up after I feed him. So a little bit okay with it? I only have the 20% carb FF gravy cans that are high in carbs.
 
I only have the 20% carb FF gravy cans that are high in carbs.
I used to use it all the time - does awesome job bringing the BG up quickly.
Use the gravy part only.
Reserve meat and gravy for very stubborn low BG - IF you have them.
ETA: mixing equal parts of gravy 20% and LC solid food would make the total carbs count closer to the range Sandy posted above - 6-12%. @Sandy and Black Kitty @Crista & Ming
 
Not really. Just for sure I will feed when it's shot time and then randomly in between whenever he's hungry. But at night, he doesn't really ask for food.
 
What if I did 4.5 u lol. I know it's small.. but... I kind of want to sleep tonight even though I know I probably can't.
 
What if I did 4.5 u lol. I know it's small.. but... I kind of want to sleep tonight even though I know I probably can't.
keep in mind the results of a reduction this cycle will likely not affect this cycle (the 6u depot will see to that) but rather its more likely to affect tomorrows cycles. Know what I mean?
 
He's at 110 right now. Have not fed.

Okay. I'll try the higher carb food. I'll mix about 20% of gravy FF with normal classic FF. And give 5 units.

keep in mind the results of a reduction this cycle will likely not affect this cycle (the 6u depot will see to that) but rather its more likely to affect tomorrows cycles. Know what I mean?

Oh. So because we shot late this morning so it was sort of like a reduction, that's why he didn't go to 2.8 / 50?
 
Another question: If I took him to work tomorrow night, how much will it screw with his doses?

I think I just might do it. I just don’t feel comfortable with my family taking the reigns already.
 
Oh. So because we shot late this morning so it was sort of like a reduction, that's why he didn't go to 2.8 / 50?
When you stall, assuming the previous shot has worn off, the depot starts draining in an attempt to restore equilibrium and keep things smooth.

It looks to me like he hit 50 at AM+2...

Good luck tonight. You have control. Take good notes-they will be very valuable as you continue on your quest to find the right dose for Ming.

I'll say goodnight (I'm on the east coast) Wendy will keep an eye on you for a while.
I do have terrible insomnia so I may pop back in...;)
 
About 80% FF turkey and giblets. And then 20% of the gravy from this morning. I tried to only get mostly gravy but... not very successful. I think next time maybe I’ll put water in it so it’s easier. I didn’t think about it until after haha.

I feel better.

Saturday night, I was beside myself looking at those black numbers. And today I’m panicking over the blues and greens before the shot.

Hindsight is really 20/20. I sat down with my mom in the last hour and just talked to her and explained everything which helped me understand things more. I really need to knock PZI out of my head.
 
Also he suddenly has a lot of energy.... god this cat. I’ve been through some traumatic things this year and it was horrible (I’m okay now) but this hurts/distresses me even more and it’s not even happening to ME. It’s happening to HIM!!!

Sigh. Sorry and thank you again for putting up with me everyone :) :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
If following TR with a newly diagnosed cat, a reduction is earned either by going below 50, or a week in normal numbers. It’s possible the 6.0 unit depot would build more and he would have earned a reduction, or he could have just bounced for those two cycles. Guessing what a cat would do is not easy. :cat:
 
Stalling does have some impact too. A short stall is fine. You can think of 18 hour cycles as extreme cases of stalling.
 
+2 is 18.7 or 337.

Is this the food talking?

I’m assuming since his nadir is later... his onset might be later??

I really hope I shot him lol

I wonder if he’s not used to being so low because he’s been more energetic than he’s been all day.
 
Back
Top