10/29 Ming + 1 = 12.6 PMPS = 86 or 4.8 (AMPS = 142, +2 = 50) reduced to 5u in PM with MC meal

When do you return to work? I’m wondering how long you can stall without creating a schedule conflict

Tomorrow night. I would be leaving the house after his PM shoot time so after 7PM on Tuesday. There’s someone home to shoot him if needed.

Your SS says that you are testing for ketones daily:)cool::)) - does it mean Ming had DKA?
If yes you probably want to shoot something although the number is low.

Yes he had DKA two weeks ago along with pancreatitis.
 
It looks like Ming likes to nadir late. Neko did too on both Lantus and Levemir. If he’s a late nadir cat, you have to get used to shooting lower. Since you are home all day, and he’s just had DKA, I would shoot, provided you have plenty of test strips and some high carb wet food or corn syrup/honey around. I know you have easy access to a vet hospital if needed, though I don’t think you will.
 
Is this happening because his dose is too much actually? Or just a weird thing he decided to do?
It’s a lovely number but we don’t have much Lantus history here and most of his past history is blurred by all the dose hopping.
This is the first blue PS you have encountered since starting Lantus.
I don’t recommend skipping due to ketone history. So that leaves shooting the full 6u or a one time partial dose. What do you think?
 
You can make up the schedule by 1/2 hour once a day or 15 minutes a shot. If he’s really high, you might be able to shoot a bit earlier. Post here and ask.
 
Right now, he is awake and walking around. And eating well. He is peeing 2-3 times a day and seems to poop once a day. I can’t quite remember. Poop is solid.

He doesn’t play too much aside from dragging his toys around. He didn’t do much of that yesterday. He did that this morning.

Purring last night. I see him preening.
 
Also what number should I start loading him up with carbs? Under 50?
That's right - HC or MC if below 50.
It would be better if you use only the gravy part out of HC/MC can - without meat.
The gravy part is fast but short acting. ECID, with my cat it starts working in about15-20 min but doesn't last long, maybe just over one hour. The solid MC/HC might have much longer effect but will keep the BG higher than needed for a while afterwards. I used to feed solid LC topped with gravy from FF Gravy Lovers, worked well w/ lower numbers.
The +1 test will tell you what kind of food bump he gets - how many points up from the PS. Take a note of quantity and carbs content for future ref.
If he as Wendy said is a late nadir cat than try not to overfill him with food - you may need him hungry later on.
 
I gave him FF chicken and cheese with gravy and some meowmix
do you know what was the carbs count?
I am not familiar with either.
A table spoon maybe a little too much but we will know with the next test. Take a test in an hour after he's eaten.
I hope it won't be overload because there are reasons to expect him to nadir late.
2 teaspoons is ok to give in situations like that.

ETA: he may also bounce from that +1 drop. The 68 as a number is good and safe. But how quickly and after food onboard it was too fast. Many cats do bounce from fast drops v. lower that usual numbers. Mine does.
 
do you know what was the carbs count?
I am not familiar with either.
A table spoon maybe a little too much but we will know with the next test. Take a test in an hour after he's eaten.
I hope it won't be overload because there are reasons to expect him to nadir late.
2 teaspoons is ok to give in situations like that.

ETA: he may also bounce from that +1 drop. The 68 as a number is good and safe. But how quickly and after food onboard it was too fast. Many cats do bounce from fast drops v. lower that usual numbers. Mine does.

I’m not sure how to figure out the carb content but I know meowmix is high carb. I might have freaked out lol

NN (night nurse) said this drop is his reaction to the last dose? Or would it also be a reaction to the dose we just gave him?
 
NN (night nurse) said this drop is his reaction to the last dose? Or would it also be a reaction to the dose we just gave him?
it's hard to answer BC Lantus is the depot type insulin, accumulates itself in the tissues over period of several cycles - could be up to 6.
You are on the 4th cycle . The drop probably means that depot is established and now starts working as it should.
ich exactly dose at work is easier to point with in and out types - like ProZ you used. Lantus is different.
IMHO.

68 is safe, no need to freak.
But you are going to have busy morning testing.
 
Being that Lantus is a slow acting depot type of insulin, the effects are cumulative, they build over several cycles.

Ah I think that’s what she meant in a way. With the exception that she’s reassuring me that the new dose hasn’t taken effect yet if she’s correct.

it's hard to answer BC Lantus is the depot type insulin, accumulates itself in the tissues over period of several cycles - could be up to 6.
You are on the 4th cycle . The drop probably means that depot is established and now starts working as it should.
ich exactly dose at work is easier to point with in and out types - like ProZ you used. Lantus is different.
IMHO.

68 is safe, no need to freak.
But you are going to have busy morning testing.

Thanks Tanya. Phew!

What would this mean for tonight’s dose?
 
Back
Top