Amanda Comet’s Mom
Member Since 2021
At what number do we consider normal for not needing to shoot any insulin?
Comet was at 103 this morning, so since I’m home for about 6 hours with him after shooting we just shot .5u. Tonight his PMPS is 96, but I typically can only get a +2 and +4 before NEEDING to sleep. I skipped his insulin tonight and seeing where he is in the AMPS. Is it bad to skip, or could we get to a point he would only need insulin in the AM? I get it only works for 12 hours and after food it generally rises. But he is almost completely off his Prednisolone. The day after we dropped him to 2.5mg once daily his numbers were great! This morning he was 103 but his appetite was not great from the Clavamox (which we stopped) so I only shot .5u because I was not sure if he would eat much more and didn’t want to risk a hypo but also not just skip.
Ahhh idk help lol. I’m tired and sick right now so want to do what’s safest.
Comet was at 103 this morning, so since I’m home for about 6 hours with him after shooting we just shot .5u. Tonight his PMPS is 96, but I typically can only get a +2 and +4 before NEEDING to sleep. I skipped his insulin tonight and seeing where he is in the AMPS. Is it bad to skip, or could we get to a point he would only need insulin in the AM? I get it only works for 12 hours and after food it generally rises. But he is almost completely off his Prednisolone. The day after we dropped him to 2.5mg once daily his numbers were great! This morning he was 103 but his appetite was not great from the Clavamox (which we stopped) so I only shot .5u because I was not sure if he would eat much more and didn’t want to risk a hypo but also not just skip.
Ahhh idk help lol. I’m tired and sick right now so want to do what’s safest.
