I'll give you my answer, others may differ.. if the +2 is lower (or close to the same) than the PS the cycle may be an active cycle which will show you how kitty is responding to the insulin.
Are you using Lantus or Levimir? Above is for Lantus.
I will add this, I did one every week for the first year and still try to get one at least every two weeks now but Gizmo has become a bit more predictable recently so I don't stress about missing a test mid-cycle when doing them.
We use Lantus. Since the reduction to 1 unit on 10/21 none of Tigger's cycles make sense to me. I see extended bounces, time where the +2 or +3 is 100 pts higher than the PS but still dips to blue by nadir (10/25 pm), and general confusion of all the numbers.
@Moms2Tigger&Blu there really isn't a bad time to do a curve. Any and all data builds patterns which more experienced people here on the forum can see when we caregivers can't or don't see (forest/trees). I can sometimes see it with my cat (Gizmo) but don't see it with others cats .