10/27 Kylee AMBG 114 @+24; 60@ +27.5 83@+34 87@+36

Kylee and Her Mom Renee'

Member Since 2018
AMPS BG 114. As per advised no shot. Fed her and will retest in +3-4.
I guess at some time I poked too much and now Kylee kitty has a sore on her right ear. The left is not as easy to get blood from.
She is feeling good I can tell.
I no longer use my bed as a testing zone. She would not come lay with me. Now she does after she eats and knows she is safe here.
I am on my iPad and can't change the SS until later.
 
Kylee's SS looks awesome. Hope remission is in the near future, and she won't have to deal with any more pokes at all!

Hope the sore heals quickly. Always feel bad for the poor kitty ears
 
60 is not too low? So no HC food? She is playing. I am not used to seeing low and not having to deal with an alert.
If she had been given insulin this AM, I would say, pull out some HC food at this point in the cycle to steer her up some, but since no insulin was giving and she did just eat, she should start to come up. If you are worried, you could test as much as you feel comfortable doing, I was just thinking about her little ears...... I wouldn't give any HC food unless for some strange reason she would go below 50 to bring her back up. We are looking to see exactly what she is doing with out insulin on board and HC food will make the water muddy. BUT, that said, IF ( don't think she will) drop below 50, then by all means give her some HC.
 
If she had been given insulin this AM, I would say, pull out some HC food at this point in the cycle to steer her up some, but since no insulin was giving and she did just eat, she should start to come up. If you are worried, you could test as much as you feel comfortable doing, I was just thinking about her little ears...... I wouldn't give any HC food unless for some strange reason she would go below 50 to bring her back up. We are looking to see exactly what she is doing with out insulin on board and HC food will make the water muddy. BUT, that said, IF ( don't think she will) drop below 50, then by all means give her some HC.
No, I will keep on this path. I want to see her with a good cycle and not use the HC. I can watch her all day and test. She just wants to take her nap now and not get poked. Poor kitty. Thx
 
Wooooooo-hoooooooooooooo! Look at Kylee go! She's looking good! Very good! This is exactly what I was hoping to see!

Do you realize Kylee has only received 0.1u of insulin over the past 5 cycles (including today)? That's awesome!

As mentioned, no need to bring her numbers up with food since no insulin given since yesterday morning. :)

Some housekeeping notes
When you can, please make the following adjustments so others following and/or offering advice will be able to see what's going on at a glance:

On the spreadsheet...
  • 10/25 - PM cycle - NS @+24
  • 10/26 - AM cycle - 0.1u @+36
  • 10/27 - AM cycle - NS @+24
In the subject line (1st post in this thread), please change to read:
  • 10/27 - Kylee AMBG 114 @+24; 60 @+27.5

Testing and feeding prior to PM shot time
  • Do not feed during the 2 hours before what would normally be shot time.
  • Test Kylee 2 hours before shot time (+10 space on the spreadsheet or in reality, +34). It'll tell us where her BG number is coming from at shot time (+36)
  • At shot time, please post her BG number prior to giving insulin (if she needs it) just in case she does something we're not expecting.

Current dosing scale

  • shoot 0.25u if her BG is 175 or greater
  • shoot 0.1 if her BG is 125 - 174
  • skip shot if BG is less than 125
As of right now, I don't see the need to adjust the scale. However, Kylee is in charge. I'm sure she'll let us know if we have to make adjustments.

If at all possible tonight, please test her before going to bed.

On a personal note... just wanted to let you know you're doing a great job. Kylee is doing very well and it sounds like she's feeling pretty darn good! Keep on keepin' on because it's working! :D
 
About Kylee's ears...

I found a herbal alternative to the neo and polysporins most use for kitty's ears. Here's a copy of the post I wrote about it in Ravan's thread yesterday:

It *might* be the Neosporin. Several of us have had trouble using Neopsporin. Kitty develops bumps on their ears and the ears appear to be sore to the touch. Hopefully others will see this and suggest alternatives to Neosporin. I switched to a salve that I had already been using for years for dogs, cats, and in a pinch... grandchildren! It's called "Halo Cloud Nine Herbal Healing Salve for Dogs and Cats":
  • Helps support healing for cuts, wounds, abrasions, and scabby areas within days
  • Helps soothe hot spots
  • Made with natural oils, beeswax, and vitamins
  • No chemicals
  • No artificial colors or preservative
Ingredients: vegetable oils [almond, castor, coconut, avocado], beeswax, squalene, carnuba wax, vitamin A, vitamin E, calendula, aloe vera gel concentrate, comfrey, tea tree oil, myrrh gum oil, Lavender Oil.

Unlike Neosporin, there's no concern if one of your other cats ingests the salve from grooming Ravan. There's a store locator on the web site.

Just an idea that might help...
 
Wooooooo-hoooooooooooooo! Look at Kylee go! She's looking good! Very good! This is exactly what I was hoping to see!

Do you realize Kylee has only received 0.1u of insulin over the past 5 cycles (including today)? That's awesome!

As mentioned, no need to bring her numbers up with food since no insulin given since yesterday morning. :)

Some housekeeping notes
When you can, please make the following adjustments so others following and/or offering advice will be able to see what's going on at a glance:

On the spreadsheet...
  • 10/25 - PM cycle - NS @+24
  • 10/26 - AM cycle - 0.1u @+36
  • 10/27 - AM cycle - NS @+24
In the subject line (1st post in this thread), please change to read:
  • 10/27 - Kylee AMBG 114 @+24; 60 @+27.5

Testing and feeding prior to PM shot time
  • Do not feed during the 2 hours before what would normally be shot time.
  • Test Kylee 2 hours before shot time (+10 space on the spreadsheet or in reality, +34). It'll tell us where her BG number is coming from at shot time (+36)
  • At shot time, please post her BG number prior to giving insulin (if she needs it) just in case she does something we're not expecting.

Current dosing scale

  • shoot 0.25u if her BG is 175 or greater
  • shoot 0.1 if her BG is 125 - 174
  • skip shot if BG is less than 125
As of right now, I don't see the need to adjust the scale. However, Kylee is in charge. I'm sure she'll let us know if we have to make adjustments.

If at all possible tonight, please test her before going to bed.

On a personal note... just wanted to let you know you're doing a great job. Kylee is doing very well and it sounds like she's feeling pretty darn good! Keep on keepin' on because it's working! :D
Made all the changes on the SS and the post title. Thank you. I had not thought about her going that long. Or maybe I did and it has not sunk in until you said it. OH my!!! I am so glad I have you to help me with Kittie aka Rylee aka Kylee...Ha ha. I am so ready for a party. But I know I still have a long way to go. But just the idea of her getting better!!!Yes!!!! and a big woo hoo. Thank you for your very kind words. It means the world to me and bring emotional tears to my eyes. I know I was a pain in the neck. I am sorry about that. Bless you all.
 
About Kylee's ears...

I found a herbal alternative to the neo and polysporins most use for kitty's ears. Here's a copy of the post I wrote about it in Ravan's thread yesterday:

It *might* be the Neosporin. Several of us have had trouble using Neopsporin. Kitty develops bumps on their ears and the ears appear to be sore to the touch. Hopefully others will see this and suggest alternatives to Neosporin. I switched to a salve that I had already been using for years for dogs, cats, and in a pinch... grandchildren! It's called "Halo Cloud Nine Herbal Healing Salve for Dogs and Cats":
  • Helps support healing for cuts, wounds, abrasions, and scabby areas within days
  • Helps soothe hot spots
  • Made with natural oils, beeswax, and vitamins
  • No chemicals
  • No artificial colors or preservative
Ingredients: vegetable oils [almond, castor, coconut, avocado], beeswax, squalene, carnuba wax, vitamin A, vitamin E, calendula, aloe vera gel concentrate, comfrey, tea tree oil, myrrh gum oil, Lavender Oil.

Unlike Neosporin, there's no concern if one of your other cats ingests the salve from grooming Ravan. There's a store locator on the web site.

Just an idea that might help...
Thank you. That looks like a puuurrrrfect salve for kitty.
 
Thank you for making the changes. I know they seem picky, but our methods help us quickly spot a kitty in trouble/needs immediate help. And yes, Kylee is getting better... and that's the best part of this whole sugar dance! No worries about anything else.

We're going out to dinner soon, but I'll check back in when we're home.
 
PM +10 from AM 83 (+37) I will check again before her normal PMPS and go by the chart set up for her only. Do I have the +37 accurate Jill? I may or not be home tomorrow. If no shot do I just leave out food for her while I am gone. Hubby bless his heart will not feed her. Nuff said.
Current dosing scale
  • shoot 0.25u if her BG is 175 or greater
  • shoot 0.1 if her BG is 125 - 174
  • skip shot if BG is less than 125
 
PM +10 from AM 83 (+37) I will check again before her normal PMPS and go by the chart set up for her only. Do I have the +37 accurate Jill?
Counting hours sure gets confusing when you don't shoot, doesn't it? Oh, such a problems to have! :D :D :D

If the 83 is ten hours after the 114 this morning at +24, we're at +34. You'd record 83 @+34 in the +10 column of the AM cycle today. Just move it over one column to the left of where you have it now.

The PM number you'll be taking at what will be shot time (IF SHE NEEDS A SHOT) will go in the PMPS column At that time we'll be at +36.

Current dosing scale
  • shoot 0.25u if her BG is 175 or greater
  • shoot 0.1 if her BG is 125 - 174
  • skip shot if BG is less than 125
I may or not be home tomorrow. If no shot do I just leave out food for her while I am gone. Hubby bless his heart will not feed her. Nuff said.
Well, others may not agree (please speak up if you don't), you could shoot if she's high (like 175 or more), but if I were in your shoes I think I'd simply skip the shot tomorrow morning if you won't be home. She may not need one anyway and if she does you'll have her back on track in no time. Then you won't have to worry and I imagine you'll also make hubby happy. :smuggrin:

As for feeding, yes, leave canned food out for her to nibble on while you're gone.

What do you think? Sound like a plan?
 
Well, others may not agree (please speak up if you don't), you could shoot if she's high (like 175 or more), but if I were in your shoes I think I'd simply skip the shot tomorrow morning if you won't be home
If hubby won't feed, am I assuming he won't be testing either,? If so, I would not shoot IF you can not test her at all tomorrow.

I hope you won't have to worry about whether or not to shoot and that she will be under 125.
 
Counting hours sure gets confusing when you don't shoot, doesn't it? Oh, such a problems to have! :D :D :D

If the 83 is ten hours after the 114 this morning at +24, we're at +34. You'd record 83 @+34 in the +10 column of the AM cycle today. Just move it over one column to the left of where you have it now.

The PM number you'll be taking at what will be shot time (IF SHE NEEDS A SHOT) will go in the PMPS column At that time we'll be at +36.

Current dosing scale
  • shoot 0.25u if her BG is 175 or greater
  • shoot 0.1 if her BG is 125 - 174
  • skip shot if BG is less than 125
Well, others may not agree (please speak up if you don't), you could shoot if she's high (like 175 or more), but if I were in your shoes I think I'd simply skip the shot tomorrow morning if you won't be home. She may not need one anyway and if she does you'll have her back on track in no time. Then you won't have to worry and I imagine you'll also make hubby happy. :smuggrin:

As for feeding, yes, leave canned food out for her to nibble on while you're gone.

What do you think? Sound like a plan?
Thank you Jill. I hope you had a nice dinner out.
I moved the number over. It is almost test time and I know she is not going to be happy. But If I see a Less that 100 NS and I am taking a shower and putting my nightie on. Trying to ward off illness.
Tomorrow is a whole new ball game! I added the @+36 and will go from there. Test soon. Will post. I am trying to get back to a 8:30 schedule. Does that sound like an OK plan?
Sounds like a good plan. I like that I know the guideline for her BG numbers. I makes it so much better.
 
I moved the number over. It is almost test time and I know she is not going to be happy. But If I see a Less that 100 NS and I am taking a shower and putting my nightie on. Trying to ward off illness.
I hope you feel beter in the morning.
Tomorrow is a whole new ball game! I added the @+36 and will go from there. Test soon. Will post. I am trying to get back to a 8:30 schedule. Does that sound like an OK plan?
I think you can go back to 8:30 any time you want. I'll be here for the +36.
Sounds good.
 
Back
Top