10/27/21 Biscuits amps 269 +4 189 +6 288 Need help/advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

cyndibalz

Member Since 2019
He just isnt doing well. Lethargic and just lays around pretty much all the time. He will get up to go to the bathroom. Blood and urine tests were normal

He was rediagnosed last Thursday. Theres lots in the notes of his spreadsheet. The dr called him in some B-12 (methylcobalamin) to help with the neuropathy and not wanting to eat, today was his 2nd injection of that. We give him an injection every other day, we have 3 left I believe. It did help, hes eating tons better but has no energy for anything. Its breaking my heart into a million pieces.

**sorry I dont have night numbers. With how his numbers have been during the day and him eating well around +2 after his pm shot before we go to bed I have been letting him be. He does have access to dr elseys and FF over night**

Any advise on what I can do?? Hes there, he reacts as much as he can when you talk to him or enter the room and purrs when we pet him.
He was originally prescribed 2 units. He wasnt eating well at all at first so Ive been slowly increasing his dosage.

Are things different the 2nd time around, like harder to get regulated or bounce back from?? Hes on the same insulin he was the first time.
 
Last edited:
Sorry to hear that Biscuits fell out of remission. I guess he must not be feeling great in the higher numbers.

There are 2 kinds of B-12. For neuropathy, you want methylcobalamin B12. Zobaline is one of the brands available but it is expensive. A more economical option is Vitacost:
https://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitamin-b-12-methylcobalamin-5000-mcg-60-capsules-5

Just empty a capsule into his food once a day.

What helps most with neuropathy though, is getting his blood sugar regulated. Here's the sticky on neuropathy:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/feline-diabetic-neuropathy-weak-back-legs.178252/

The other kind of B12 is cyanocobalamin and that is mainly for energy/appetite/stomach issues. It's possible that that's what your vet gave Biscuits a shot of. That or B-complex. That does not help with neuropathy though.

Vetsulin is a pretty harsh insulin for cats. It hits hard and is out of the system within a few hours. You don't get enough duration with it. Would your vet be willing to consider a more cat friendly insulin like Lantus? It is more expensive than Vetsulin. Though now, you have a biosimilar called Semglee which is muh cheaper.

Night time tests are important because many cats go lower at night. Getting tests in the day gives you only half the picture. It would be good if you could get a before-bed test every night.
 
do you have a copy of his labs? I wonder if he has pancreatitis or some kind of infection going on.
 
@cyndibalz
Hi
Can you please check in about your kitty?
There are suggestions here for you and a request for lab info if available.
Thanks and hugs,
@Ann & Sister
He still about the same really. He is eating a little better but still pretty small amounts multiple times a day. I will call the vet tomorrow to see if I can come in for a copy of his lab results. His dr did up him to 10cc's of Methylcobalamin once a day for his neuropathy. We have 10 syringes filled and can get more if needed. I did also order Zobaline but not sure when it will be here. He does seem to be able to get up to go to the bathroom easier than before. Dr gave me a tube of Lax'aire yesterday to start him on cause he hasnt pooped in 3 days. He did have a little but of the runs before that and with him eating a lot less than normal I figured it would take a few days for him to go. Hopefully he goes by tomorrow morning, if not I will call to see if we need to bring him in for an emema or something. His numbers are still high. I have read that if they are constipated that could cause them to elevate some. I dont know. Ive been so stressed out and worried this week. I totally screwed up his insulin I guess. I read the Vetsulin sticky multiple times.... I didnt start him on the 2 units the vet prescribed cause he wasnt eating well. I slowly crept up to that number and didnt stick with one dose and hold it for a week like the sticky said to do. Hopefully holding that dose steady for a week will help. If not Ill up the dosage or consider swapping to Lantus. I cant help to feel like it might be getting out of his system too fast cause it seems like his pre shot numbers are slowly creeping up.

Thank you for checking in on us. I greatly appreciate it.
 
@Ann & Sister
He still about the same really. He is eating a little better but still pretty small amounts multiple times a day. I will call the vet tomorrow to see if I can come in for a copy of his lab results. His dr did up him to 10cc's of Methylcobalamin once a day for his neuropathy. We have 10 syringes filled and can get more if needed. I did also order Zobaline but not sure when it will be here. He does seem to be able to get up to go to the bathroom easier than before. Dr gave me a tube of Lax'aire yesterday to start him on cause he hasnt pooped in 3 days. He did have a little but of the runs before that and with him eating a lot less than normal I figured it would take a few days for him to go. Hopefully he goes by tomorrow morning, if not I will call to see if we need to bring him in for an emema or something. His numbers are still high. I have read that if they are constipated that could cause them to elevate some. I dont know. Ive been so stressed out and worried this week. I totally screwed up his insulin I guess. I read the Vetsulin sticky multiple times.... I didnt start him on the 2 units the vet prescribed cause he wasnt eating well. I slowly crept up to that number and didnt stick with one dose and hold it for a week like the sticky said to do. Hopefully holding that dose steady for a week will help. If not Ill up the dosage or consider swapping to Lantus. I cant help to feel like it might be getting out of his system too fast cause it seems like his pre shot numbers are slowly creeping up.

Thank you for checking in on us. I greatly appreciate it.
Sorry to hear he is not better.
Your vet's office should be able to email the lab report to you ASAP, no need to visit them.
When I read your SS a day or so ago, I noted that you were testing within 1 hour of feeding. Is that right? Do you think that could influence the BG number??
I am not familiar with Vetsulin at all, but with Lantus we withhold food for two hours before any test to get an accurate BG.
Hugs,
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top