10/26 Xander AMPS 292 +2 158 +3 89 PMPS 236

Albert & Xander

Member Since 2025
Previous post

Another very difficult morning :confused: He refused all food until his meds kicked in about an hour and a half later. He then began eating super well. I think he is having stronger nausea than usual despite the twice a day 2mg ondansetron. I asked the vet for advice, maybe I can add on cerenia? Just concerned because he's vomited several times in the past from oral cerenia. Its reassuring he still picks up to normal eating, but terrifying when he gets his shot and doesn't eat at all. It's hard to feed then shoot, as his first meals are always small even on the best of days so its really hard to judge how he'll do.

I ended up scheduling an ultrasound for first thing tomorrow morning. Unfortunately I'm going to get barely any sleep. I think I will likely reduce his dose tonight in case he has trouble eating after the procedure (and to try to avoid setting alarms/late night feedings tonight).
 
Previous post

Another very difficult morning :confused: He refused all food until his meds kicked in about an hour and a half later. He then began eating super well. I think he is having stronger nausea than usual despite the twice a day 2mg ondansetron. I asked the vet for advice, maybe I can add on cerenia? Just concerned because he's vomited several times in the past from oral cerenia. Its reassuring he still picks up to normal eating, but terrifying when he gets his shot and doesn't eat at all. It's hard to feed then shoot, as his first meals are always small even on the best of days so its really hard to judge how he'll do.

I ended up scheduling an ultrasound for first thing tomorrow morning. Unfortunately I'm going to get barely any sleep. I think I will likely reduce his dose tonight in case he has trouble eating after the procedure (and to try to avoid setting alarms/late night feedings tonight).
Have you tried 4 mg ondansetron 3x daily? (I believe that's the more common dose and they say if under dosed it won't work well). I use 4 mg every 8 hours for Ivy at 14ish pounds.
I also use Cerenia.
I hope Xander feels better! ๐Ÿƒ ๐Ÿƒ ๐Ÿƒ ๐Ÿƒ :bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
 
Have you tried 4 mg ondansetron 3x daily? (I believe that's the more common dose and they say if under dosed it won't work well). I use 4 mg every 8 hours for Ivy at 14ish pounds.
I also use Cerenia.
I hope Xander feels better! ๐Ÿƒ ๐Ÿƒ ๐Ÿƒ ๐Ÿƒ :bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
I experimented with it months ago when he wasn't doing great and the 4mg didn't seem to make a difference vs the 2mg (but no ondansetron definitely made a negative difference). I'll see if she replies today and if not discuss with her tomorrow morning. It definitely seems the meds are helping, its just doesn't seem to cover him the whole day, so 3x a day might be needed. Or adding in cerenia might be a good idea and risk seeing if it upsets his stomach.
Also the oral mirtazapine seems to have a big effect when given in the morning, but not carrying forward into the PM as much. It seems splitting it into 2 doses would be best, but don't see any guidance for anyone doing that online.

So complicated ๐Ÿ˜ตโ€๐Ÿ’ซ
 
I experimented with it months ago when he wasn't doing great and the 4mg didn't seem to make a difference vs the 2mg (but no ondansetron definitely made a negative difference). I'll see if she replies today and if not discuss with her tomorrow morning. It definitely seems the meds are helping, its just doesn't seem to cover him the whole day, so 3x a day might be needed. Or adding in cerenia might be a good idea and risk seeing if it upsets his stomach.
Also the oral mirtazapine seems to have a big effect when given in the morning, but not carrying forward into the PM as much. It seems splitting it into 2 doses would be best, but don't see any guidance for anyone doing that online.

So complicated ๐Ÿ˜ตโ€๐Ÿ’ซ
I know, we do have complicated cats ๐Ÿ˜ฅ
 
Ondansetron doesn't last 12 hours in the cat. Dosing allows 3-4 times per day. A 2 mg dose is good for an 8 lb cat, but even a cat that size can go to 4 mg if needed. Not sure much Xander weighs, just using a personal example. If you were trying 4 mg dose but only 2 times a day, that might have been the problem. You can give both Cerenia and ondansetron. Neko was on both. My most recent cat was on compounded transdermal maropitant, which is the generic for Cerenia. It went in the ears, which could be a problem if Xander's ears are still sensitive.

Any idea what might be causing the nausea? Have you ever tried a novel protein with him?
 
Good to know! I added cerenia this afternoon and PMPS tonight was a bit better. Im guessing its from pancreatitis (his specfpl was 50). Its just weird that he was doing finr on his current med regimen for months, even when his blood was tested and showed high specfpl last week and didnt start with the eating troubles until this Friday.

I have an ultrasound 7am tomorrow morning to see if anything new developed like IBD.
 
Back
Top