? - 10/26 Sev, Ketones readings (constant .2), AMPS 122, +2 92, +8 112, PMPS 135 (human meter) | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

? 10/26 Sev, Ketones readings (constant .2), AMPS 122, +2 92, +8 112, PMPS 135 (human meter)

Sevytheking

Member since 2025
Yesterday's Post - 10/25 Sev, 3 Ketones readings (current .2), AMPS 144, PMPS 136, +3 96 (human meter)

Good morning, everyone! ☺️
A new day and another little dilemma. Sevy woke up with a nice, steady ketone reading of 0.2. But here’s where I’m a bit stuck - the human meter showed 122 and the iPet meter read 177.

Technically, based on the guidelines I’ve been following, that would mean a no-shot situation. However, his ketone numbers have been great ever since he started getting insulin. So now I’m wondering: should I still give the shot, even though these numbers look a bit low? or keep stalling to see the numbers go up?

His cycle has been pretty steady when he gets his insulin, at least that’s what yesterday’s readings showed. I’m home today and able to monitor him closely if needed.
 
So I think this is how confidence builds, right? I went ahead and gave him the 1 unit, and now I’m just hoping it was the right call. I looked over his numbers again, and there were two things I really wanted to avoid:
  1. His ketone numbers rising like they did without insulin. They’ve stayed nice and stable when he’s been getting it.
 
Yeah, we’d be interested in an experienced person’s thoughts.

Joha and I talked and considered a few things here:

1) Last night’s cycle was really flat and predictable. The number she shot last night was close to this morning’s as well. This was a bigger step for her because the pet meter was below 200, so shooting today differs from her vet’s advice.

2) The ketones are back down to trace amounts. We really didn’t feel good about skipping a shot again because we’ve seen the ketones rise in the past with a skip.

3) This is a good day for Joha to monitor since it’s the weekend and she’ll be home all day.

I felt like this was a good data gathering opportunity and a chance to build more confidence in shooting lower. Plan is to get a +2 or +3 (we’re expecting a drop like we’ve seen other cycles). And then getting a +4 or +5 to see if Sev remains flat like has been his pattern or if he continues to drop (meaning Joha will need to be a bit more vigilant about monitoring the back half of the cycle)
 
Most of all the members use the ReliOn Premier Human Monitor and strips, I have used it from the beginning, it is quite accurat, I have herd that the Pet meter do read much higher, but I am tagging another member that might know a bit more about your concerns in the difference of Bgs @squeem3
 
Thanks so much, Maria. Squeem stopped by in yesterday’s thread and commented on Joha’s pet meter.

Johanna is struggling as a lot of us do at first with her vet wanting data in the form of a specific pet meter. You know how that goes :)

By the way, early on when I learned that Joha was using ProZinc, I sent her Corky’s spreadsheet to show her how well regulated a cat can get on this insulin. I know you and Suzanne have had a long journey with sweet Corky
 
Yes we do! and Suzanne always places Corky as an example what an amazing work this Forum does at regulating our precious fur babies, one thing I do have to say, I follow every suggestion blind folded, no questions asked, and I believe that is one of the reasons for Corky's success, is unfortunately, when we first hear of FD we become so overwhelmed, that what ever the vet says, we take it to the bank, we know our pets better than our vets that sees our cats a few time a year or months, if you are getting higher readings with the Pet meter, continue to follow the human meter's BGs, that is what we base on here, is not that the pet meter is better or not, but for your peace of mind. You do not have to use the pet meter if you do not want to, remember, you are in control to what works for you, if you are getting such higher reading with the Pet meter, you may find yourself taking Sevy to the vet because of higher readings, and the vet may increase the dose, it can be good, it can be bad, Is your choice, but the human meter is very very accurate. By the way, you are doing a great job!
We love our fur babies don't we? 🤗:cat::cat:
 
The primary reason(s) we think in terms of using a human meter is that strips are much cheaper than strips for a pet meter. If you are looking to be cost conscious the difference in price may be a factor. The other reason is that our dosing guidelines were established quite some time ago. At the time, pet meters were relatively rare and as such, the dosing guidelines are based on numbers from a human meter.

Ultimately, which meter you use is your choice. A pet meter is calibrated differently than a human meter. At the dose reduction point for the Lantus Tight Regulation Protocol (which is where there is a researched comparison) a 50 is equivalent to a 68 on a pet meter. As numbers get higher, there is a greater difference between the two meters. In other words, higher numbers on a pet meter is to be expected but we do not have any other data comparing the two types of meters. We tend to suggest that you not try to compare results from pet vs human meters since it's likely to drive you crazy!

@Seth&Bell - I think you are providing Joha good advice. The only think I would add is our usual caveat that if someone is shooting lower numbers, only do so if you're going to be home to monitor and be sure to have plenty of strips.
 
Last edited:
Lovely Lantus cycle last night, I hope you see the same today. I'm also glad to hear he's still eating well. Great job testing those ketones. And just cause we'll ask, you might want to put the ketone test results in the Remarks.
I still have over 50 strips
Time to order more if you want to continue using this meter. The third reason for choosing human over pet meter is how fast you can get replacement test strips if you need them in a pinch. I was getting mine shipped and ordered more when I was down to less than 200. Thankfully, you do have a back up meter if needed.
 
Thank you all for the guidance!

One thing Joha will need to think about (potentially this evening) is the reduction point. I’m reading the PZI dosing guidelines and the SLGS reduction point is 90, while the modified method is 50. I’m curious of any thoughts on what we should be reducing based on (I realize this will also depend on how much monitoring Joha can do during a cycle).

We’ve already been slightly more aggressive than SLGS suggests, due to the ketones Sev has, so I’m curious if 90 is still the recommended reduction point. Joha will have to weigh in on her comfortability level, but I’m not sure she has enough data (or wants) to deal with the 50s on a regular basis yet. So I was thinking either keep that reduction point at 90 or (because of the ketones) move that down to 70 or 80. Curious if y’all’s thoughts.
 
Back
Top