? 10/26 Fergus AMPS 126

Dawnthebikegirl

Member Since 2021
So I came home a bit late last night and Ferg threw me another crazy low number! My vet said not to dose anything under 216. Wendy&Neko said I could dose as low as 150... but this was even lower than that so I didn't know what to do.

I was too tired to stay up and test again, and the window was closing for his dose time.... but I also didn't want to skip his dose so I gave him a reduced dose. He normally gets 5 units, but i gave him 3.5

So, I don't know what the hell I'm doing and I think I underdosed him.

How do you determine what to dose in these situations?

I guess what's done is done. I wish I had thought to ask this question before, but alas.

Thanks in advance for your help.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-24-fergus-pmps-211.254626/#post-2868947
 
Last edited:
When not able to monitor and following SLGS if you get a preshot lower than 150 the first step is to stall, don’t feed, and retest in 20-30 minutes to see if going up on his own. One of your choices if you choose to shoot is to give a reduced dose. That will lead to higher numbers but not as high as if you skipped. As you get more comfortable with shooting lower and have data you lower the no shot/reduced dose number to anything over 90. So your decision was fine.
 
I see you are following TR. With TR you could have shot if you could monitor. Eventually you shoot over 50.
 
Thank you... I would have stayed up and tested again but it was already about 30 min after his regular dose time and I was dead tired. I just couldn't.

I'm glad I did the right thing, phew!! I'm still wondering if there is a way to determine what a reduced dose should be? Like a percentage of the dose based on where the BG number is?

I am getting comfortable with shooting lower numbers, but i have to admit it stresses me out a bit.
 
When I heard Wendy said shoot over 150 I thought you were doing Slgs. Sorry about that. Next time this happens stall and retest after 20-30 minutes. If you can then stay up until +4 and the bg rises if needed it’s best to shoot the full dose. The +2-3 will tell you if you need to set an alarm for later or not and whether to leave out higher carb food. Also remember meter variance is 15-20% so the next test very well could have put him into your comfort level for shooting.
 
When I suggested a partial dose in this situation, it was twofold. One, so you get used to giving him some insulin and it'd be better than none which is what you were doing. Two, it gives you the data to show you while a full dose would have been better. So 3.5 units this time may have prevented him from going into the blacks.
 
Back
Top