Re: 10/26 Buddy AMPS 342
Pat,
Good morning. Let me post some more here, was in a hurry a bit ago.
Feeder, oh yeah it arrived. Works great for during the day, when I get home, he's less crazy for food and all the food is gone - I like knowing food is available to him if he feels he is going low. Feeder during the night, errr, not so good. He wakes me up and I have to show him that there is food in it and it's open. Maybe he will learn. As for the gravy/karo, yup check that, plus instructions with Vet and Emergency Vet numbers and Addy's, plus needless non-leur lock syringes (God forbid I gotta put syrup in his butt, there if necessary).
Ok, discussion time. Take these 2 pieces of info with a grain of salt, please, cause there may be another influence: When on 0.75units, his coat looked shinier, it was also closer to administration of Frontline Plus which was about a month ago. Also, when first diagnosed, his coat got shinier with the 1unit 2X BID then not so much, then more with 1.5BID then not so much. He had also had Frontline Plus administered 2 weeks before DX. Because it resides in the sebaceous glands, I venture to say Frontline is an oil or oillike and may be contributing to the shinyness of his coat. At DX the Doc even commented that his coat wasn't as ragged as she would have suspected. Also, currently, his pee volume is not as much as on the 0.75units BID. But also, we are not adding H2O to his food anymore. He threw up last night again - I had added water to the food . . . . I'm seeing a pattern there. Can't figure out why he throws up with the H2O.
Dosing. Last known dose to affect morning BG's was 0.75. So not comfortable with shooting so much (much for my cat) when he's showing a 98 in the morning. Once he goes lower, it seems he has a period of increased insulin sensitivity than before. See, 10/18 and 10/19. Even after reducing dose to 0.5 BID, he showed lower than normal number in the morning even after skipping the AM dose on 10/19 completely. I know you all swear by consistency and same dosing all the time. I've looked for other cats on the site with profiles like Buddy and haven't found any yet that go so low (relatively speaking) in the eve and so high in the morning. So unless you think I need more data, I'm planning on bumping up the dosage a bit to Fat 0.5's BID to give that a try and see where he goes. If it doesn't make the morning numbers better, I'll up it again to 0.75 until I see the drop. When I do, I'm backing off to the normal 0.5 immediately and re-evaluate from there. Like I said, it seems like once Buddy goes even close to normal, he gets more sensitive to the insulin. He's shown that time and again. Wish I had given BCD's on the mornings that he was low instead of skipping altogether. Agian, I know consistency is the norm here, but if the fat 0.5 doesn't do the trick, I'm going to have to try something less than normal as I still feel like consistent 0.75 will be too much for him.
Tony
PS. Vet is recommending 0.5 SID in the morning to see what happens. Again, this is a possibility if my next 2 steps don't show any improvement.
PPS. Oh yeah, and he is currently eating more food.