10/26/10 Squamee AMPS 389 1U, +3 186, +6 233, PMPS 499 1.2U

Status
Not open for further replies.

judy and squamee(GA)

Member Since 2009
Bad day. SO disappointing after the more normal days that we just had. I don't know what to make of these high numbers. Am very unsure about how much to shoot her. Two days ago she was in the green. I am wondering if something else is wrong. She slept almost the entire day today, in hiding. SHe ate some this morning, and then barely ate again till this evening. (she usually grazes all day). The not eating did not seem to be connected to her mouth symptoms, she didn't even approach the food.
 
Re: 10/26/10 Squamee AMPS 389 1U, +3 186, +6 233, PMPS 499 1

Your numbers are seeing a big upward trend. My thought is something must be going on especially when she is eating less. Perahps this is accounted for because of your inability to get in the anti-FOPS meds?

You have been aggressive about upping the dose which seems to have been the right choice. I would not have been so brave - I'm a super chicken.
 
Re: 10/26/10 Squamee AMPS 389 1U, +3 186, +6 233, PMPS 499 1

I don't think there is any substantial difference in how much pain med I am getting into her. It has been a struggle all along. What do you think I should do about dosing tomorrow? I was thinking of staying with 1.2 unless there is a big drop in the AMPS. And I am planning to get a +4 tonight---which is an hour and a quarter from now.
 
Re: 10/26/10 Squamee AMPS 389 1U, +3 186, +6 233, PMPS 499 1

+3.5 180. She has been eating on and off ever since I shot her this evening. This number seems all right to me. Now I will have to decide how to handle the morning shot.If the AMPS is lower than it has been, I guess I will shoot somewhat lower. If it is high, I guess I will stay with the 1.2. How does that sound?
 
Re: 10/26/10 Squamee AMPS 389 1U, +3 186, +6 233, PMPS 499 1

Maybe not eating means her panc is sleepier & not helping out? Bix tends to eat less when his #s are higher, it can be sort of a vicious circle. I haven't followed closely enough to be much help on the dose, but I'm sure you'll get it figured out! If it's relatively easy for you I'd consider shooting a little early (ETA if the higher #s continue) - could be if you can head the higher #s off quickly she'll settle back into good #s and stay there more easily. Hard to say though, if she has some kind of infection or something that could be causing it, and then early shooting would probably just be more stress than anything else. Sorry you are having to struggle so hard. :sad:
 
Re: 10/26/10 Squamee AMPS 389 1U, +3 186, +6 233, PMPS 499 1

Judy,

You seem to be making better decisions than I would have. As I said I'm a total chicken - which is not necessarily a good thing. I was awoken this morning by the air raid sirens and checked the Internets for your SS along with tornadoes because I was hopeful things went OK last night for you guys [I had 20 minutes to kill before they hit]. Things turned out OK for you guys and for us [took my buddy adopted feral Mr. T here down the the basement] - but I did not get my answer about your numbers this morning ;-) . lol air raid sirens means I'm not in SoCal any more!

499 must be the max that your meter can measure? Do you have another meter by chance?

From the update things look like they will be OK tonight. I just worry about that "haunting hour" for S or that +3 or +4. You've done a good job at trying to get those and the alt nadir around +6. I'd just be extra diligent about those hours when you are giving 'bigger' doses or new, higher doses. Kind of how may be expected, maybe the nadir seems to happen later when you get a dose that is not too low.

Judy, I think you are doing a good job and keeping pace with things. This 499 stuff at +12 is well...just crazy - your doing good guiding the ship.

Also you know that at some point [usually not much longer than 24 hours??? as I understand] they must eat or they risk hepatic lipidosis. So you need to stay very on top of that. I've read about lymphoma tumors potentially releasing anti-appetite hormones - not sure how that may work with other cancers. But cats just in pain don't like to eat either - a number of reasons for innapetence. Also since the numbers are very high of lates you may want to test for keytones just to be prophylactic?

I didn't answer you question did I? EDIT: Personally I would think about reducing if you see a PS below 400 [amount depending on amount below 400]. Maybe even reducing by a hair [like .1] depending on any hopeful significant drop tonight to PS just above 400? With a PS at 499 the supposed up to 20% meter error is kind of not friendly. :-| But that is just me, you are the best judge.

Joanna, basically since so many factors at work here including appetite, Nancy though perhaps some of my "variable" type dosing might help things here. You input is more than welcome. I tried to outline most of my thinking o\in this topic:
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=27792
Please feel free to contradict any of my input :smile:
 
Re: 10/26/10 Squamee AMPS 389 1U, +3 186, +6 233, PMPS 499 1

hi Gator,
When you say I am making good decisions---I am interested, because I realize I do not know how to evaluate that. Are you saying it is a good decision because she did not end up going too low? I have read about rebound, but she does not seem to be going that low. Of course I have no experience with that and don't know that I would recognize it if I saw it.

It never occurred to me that my meter might not go higher than 499! It is a Free style Freedom Lite. I just looked at the manual,and is says that if your test is above 500 "HI" will appear on the display screen. So we just happened to get some 499s??!!! I don't have any other meter. Is there one you would recommend?

Tornadoes terrify me. I hope you have a comfortable basement! There were 2 mini tornadoes here this summer---one in my town and one where my daughter and her twin babies are. We were spared any great damage---though a tree fell and damaged our deck, but missed the house. When I was hearing about the one at my daughter's, I was on the phone yelling at the baby sitter to take the babies to the basement while she was slowly describing to me how intense the wind was!!! Tons of trees down there and one person was killed on the road nearby. So scarey!!! Please stay safe!
 
Re: 10/26/10 Squamee AMPS 389 1U, +3 186, +6 233, PMPS 499 1

I say 'good' because you are making decisive decisions and IMHO they are turning out in the right direction. Yes in large part because she is not going too low while you raise the dose. There is the "panicky liver" type rebound too [too low too fast] which is talked about on occasion here in PZI. I'm not convinced that is what is happening here. And I'm not convinced you need to do "liver training" here yet [pushing the numbers low to train the live to accept low numbers] since this is a very short trend and she was having low numbers here very recently.

The basement here is not comfy - was built as a bomb shelter.

I actually ran into or near a tornado delivering LRS to Kelly & Yoda the last time I was here. After, there was this beautiful rainbow - a sign for the future: Yoda eventually went OTJ. Lots of symbolism about weathering storms etc. Ha yea and a long time ago I was in a tornado on prom night in a '73 Eldorado convertible - but that is a whole 'nother story. :-D

I really liked the Freestyle Lite and it became my primary meter over the One Touch Ultra ["OTU"] after I had a night where the darned thing died for a night. The OTU take way more blood to use. It is a good alt. The Reli-on might?? be made by the same mfr as the Freestyle - so as a backup/comparative meter I'm not too sure how relevant it might be?

No matter what you do, every sugar kitty care giver *should* have a backup and valid strips in case one decides to take a poop on you.
 
Re: 10/26/10 Squamee AMPS 389 1U, +3 186, +6 233, PMPS 499 1

Thanks for the invite Gator, but I am too brain dead to even think about dosing anyone beyond Bixie, let alone debate it. I miss my long-winded musings :lol: but my mind just doesn't function much anymore beyond work & necessities. The working lifestyle is brutal, how people do it for years on end is beyond me! I am already planning my 3rd retirement, lol, can't wait til I can swing it!

I actually am doing variable dosing with Bix lately. I only really argue with it when people are new and it seems like they leave their kitties hanging in high #s b/c they consistently pull back too far on lower PSs and never really stay in good #s except by accident. (Like I did when I got here.) For longer-termers, or "special needs" kitties, like variable eaters, I think it's a good way to go. It can be tough to figure out the doses right, I still haven't nailed it for Bix, but whatevs.

The key I think is philosophically that you RAISE the dose for higher PSs (i.e you find your ideal dose for ideal PSs and then if the PSs go higher you raise if your cat demonstrates that's what they need), rather than viewing it as LOWER for lower PSs (which from what I have seen typically is a situation of not having found the ideal dose yet, but being scared of lower PSs and over-lowering the dose in a chicken-like manner, of which I am guilty so I can say it like that :lol: ). Of course it is appropriate to lower the dose on lower PSs for safely til you have the data to support what doses work on lower PSs, caveat, caveat, I'm just musing philosophically here.

ok, long-winded flashback :)

my actual point in posting was curiosity on where the Gator be....? a-hangin' w/Mr. T :lol: not sure about SoCal, but NorCal has gone all cold & winter weirdness here, I can hardly take it, sun was only even out a few hours here & there the last few days.... what state IS this?!?
 
Re: 10/26/10 Squamee AMPS 389 1U, +3 186, +6 233, PMPS 499 1

The Gator be in Indy right now. Hoping to get back to SoCal very soon. I was hoping to get back before the end of the months but that kind of looks like it will not work out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top