10/25 Leo AMPS 252 +2=375 +5=363

Susan Shropshire

Member Since 2021
Just started Leo back on Lantus. We are at 5 units which is what we were doing a couple of weeks ago before the vet switched him to Vetsulin.

If I am doing tight regulation, this is day 3 and we are still in the 300's for the day. I did have a little down turn this morning to 252. After tonight, if I still don't see under 250, should I increase his dose and if so, do I do a .25 unit? It says greater than 200, but less than 300, but I have seen the 252 & a couple of borderline 300's.

  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Should I do 2 more days to see if it changes before I increase?

Susan
 
Hi Susan, with Lantus you would ordinarily hold the initial dose for 5-7 days to allow the depot to build, but given that Leo's numbers are so high he might have some room to increase by .25 units tomorrow after six cycles if you don't see some blue numbers tonight. I would still shoot 5 this evening.
 
Back
Top