10/25 Boris evening update with decreased dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patti and Merlin

Member Since 2009
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28149

gosh - I've never felt so unsure of myself! But considering Boris' week - I am being overly cautious here! He's had 8 cycles of 0.25u. He's been mainly in the blues but has been in the greens. Because of his seizure the other day - and me working long hours all w/e and Joe having to watch him the whole time - at nite - Joe has fed him 1/4 can of FF (my mistake earlier when I mentioned smaller amounts) @ +3 to prevent anything from happening later in the nite. We are both quite nervous as you can see. Even with this this AM he is 90. altho he has never officially dropped to 4050 - I am thinking of dropping his dose to 0.1 u. Even on 0.25u - within 3 hours he has dropped 100 pts. I will be home all day to test!

Some history to remind everyone - prior to lantus - boris went on/off vetsulin several times - couldn't ever figure out why! Now he's on prednisolone for elevated liver tests - now it's decreased to every 3 days. Pred Dose is given today @ +11.

I hope I've made sense here!

Once again - I am sooo grateful to ALL of you! :YMHUG:

So gave decrease insulin dose 0f 0.1 unit @ +12.5
 
Re: 10/25 Boris - not sure what to shoot - want to decrease

hi patti. there's a few ways to look at this...

--- i think you've given pred this morning. the little bit of data you have shows boris going up on pred days. you're home today to monitor. it would be a good day to give the full dose to "see" what happens so you'll know what to do on work days.

--- you can stall to make sure he's rising before shooting.

--- remembering back to last march: boris doesn't seem to be a "normal" diabetic. he reminds me of when alex started having liver & kidney problems of an unknown origin out of the blue in march. at the time, jojo reminded me alex's pancreas was probably working (not well - working some), but because of the immediate health issues... we were just offering some support by giving her a very small amount of insulin. the reason i'm mentioning this is because since march i've had to both raise and lower alex's dose depending on how she was feeling --- adjustments to dose have been made not necessarily based on the tight regulation protocol. btw, initially i also remember jojo telling me to feel free to pull out the karo if she was dropping too quickly and/or to bring her numbers up if she had dropped too low.


your comfort is as important as anything else here. if shooting 0.1u is what you want to do... do it. the dose can always be increased if necessary.

sorry, i can't be of more help. imho, Boris' situation is rather unique... not the norm. no matter what you shoot, i know you'll monitor carefully today.



edited to add: good luck with the decreased dose!
 
Re: 10/25 Boris - not sure what to shoot - decreased dose

Thanks Jill - I'm sorry I was such a chicken today! I don't know what happened to me since the other day! besides it scared the S#!T out of me! Any other time - that 90 wouldn't have bothered me! On one hand - my head said to shoot 0.25 and just keep testing - and my heart said to decrease - today I led with my heart! sigh......

I'll for sure test tho just to see what it shows me. I am home the rest of the week too!!! I sooo appreciate your thoughts and help - and I'm going to look at your alex's SS so perhaps that will help me too and give me more self confidence again! THANK you sooo much!
 
Re: 10/25 Boris - not sure what to shoot - decreased dose

given what happened the other day, we all would have been scared to shoot anything this morning! your experience with boris was frightening.

when you look at alex's ss, keep in mind when i say i adjust the dose according to how she's feeling what i mean is i take my clues from her. most of the time the clues are very subtle... how she's acting, her activity level, the way she's holding her body, the amount of food she consumes, her "enthusiasm" for eating, where she's sleeping, how "social" she is, her mood, how she looks, etc... the list goes on. lol!

i've learned to jump on dose increases as her numbers go up and decrease carefully... sometimes based on gut feelings only (strictly following the protocol went out the window a long time ago).

over the last several months i've truly understood what people mean when they say "know thy cat". :-D
 
Re: 10/25 Boris - not sure what to shoot - decreased dose

I don't have anything to add to what Jill wrote. You have to do what you feel comfortable doing. I hope that the dose decrease works for Boris.
 
Re: 10/25 Boris - not sure what to shoot - decreased dose

Hi been MIA for a while.

Boris has given you quite a scare I see.
Hope the dosecrease does the bizz. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/25 Boris - PM update with decreased dose

well so far so good on just 0.1units. We've had a calm, stable day. Nothing much to report.

AMPS = 90
+2 = 129
+4 = 148
PMPS = 178

I had wanted to get more testing done today but wound up having to help a friend. But I'm home alot the next few days and will continue to get more.

Thanks Deb and of course Kate - it's so good to see you! Thank you both for checking on us - it means so much to me to have everyone's input! I'll check back in tomorrow and hope that everyone here is having a good nite! cat_pet_icon dancing_cat :dizcat
 
boris is living up to his namesake giving you the scary days. i know you've much more experience than i do in this ..but i've found myself in the 'chicken wing" after a couple of minor incidences with the binkster. small wonder you hesitated...IMHO, that adrenaline rush and then replaying all the terrible things that could have happened to boris is what gives you pause! in other words...

you ain't no chicken, patti ! :lol:

(hope you don't mind the humorous slant here...i find humor is my best coping mechanism)

celi & binks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top