10/24 Sooty PMPS 283 +4 314

Status
Not open for further replies.

Perry and Sooty

Member Since 2010
Good morning LLers! Here's Yesterday...

Today: AMPS 361 +2 359 +5 263 +7 258 +9 279 PMPS 283 +4 314 - Still seems OK, despite the higher late-cycle BGs...

We increased the dose last night from 3.25u to 3.5u so this AM is the start of the 2nd cycle at 3.5

He's just 'OK' this morning, no food eaten overnight (as usual) - doesn't seem hungry this morning although he wolfed down his Xobaline pill (I reckon he thinks its a kibble!) Hopped right up for his pokes and plenty of purrs during ear-warming procedures... Hope he will brighten up a bit today, he was overall, rather morose-looking yesterday albeit after a nice bright start (sheesh, I sound like the weatherman..!)
 
Re: 10/24 Sooty AMPS 361

That is great that he hopped up for his procedures this morning~and the purring is great!
Hope the increase helps Sooty today....wishing you well with it...
 
Re: 10/24 Sooty AMPS 361

Thanks Pat & Angela! hope you have a good Sunday...
Sooty's only had a few mouthfuls this morning, he's really not himself still, looks rather miserable, eyes are a bit downcast.
His BGs are still way higher than almost ever, but is that effect or cause?
We have a vet appt Monday (for blood draw for the IGF1 and IAA tests) but we'd better ask them to check him over I think...
 
Re: 10/24 Sooty AMPS 361 +2 359

I am doing a little experiment with Shadow, Perry. I am not sure if it is the change that is making the difference, but and I thought I'd share this with you. You are trying so hard...trying everything...so I though you might give this some thought. ECID...who knows if this will change anything...but I thought I'd mention it to you...
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28146#p287733
I started shooting in a different location...I have always shot the scruff. I am not convinced yet, but I will give it a few more days before I am totally sure of how this is working out for Shadow.
 
Re: 10/24 Sooty AMPS 361 +2 359 +5 263

Hmmmm well actually, I do give Sooty his shots in the flanks, already... !

...I use the loose skin either at the front flank just behind the shoulders, or the rear flanks just in front of the hocks (hips?) and alternate left and right sides. Though if Sooty is lying happily on the wrong side for any one shot, then I don't get too anal about that.. One thing, though - be careful to miss any nipples, nearby!

I do still shoot the scruff sometimes but only very occasionally - if he is determined not to flop over onto one side or the other... or if he is at all antsy for any reason - but this is pretty rare.

Those spots in the flanks that I mentioned, do let you get a nice pinch-up, although obviously, not such a big 'tent' as at the scruff. But especially with the short 5/16th needles, you can go more or less straight in and still reach SubQ. Also I find you can feel the insulin go in, between the finger and thumb you're pinching with, so you get an added assurance that you didn't give a fur shot. One thing though especially with the longer 1/2in needles, it's a bit easier to go in a bit crooked and have the needle come out of the side of the pinch... for a fur shot.

So good luck with your experiment, it will be very interesting to see if it makes a difference for your two - and to know your results!
 
Re: 10/24 Sooty AMPS 361 +2 359 +5 263 & reply to Pat

I'm only trying it with Shadow...glad you are shooting there already...thank you Perry...

I wish you well for your vet appointment tomorrow. If you think about using another insulin, I would hope you would try the Levemir before going to anything else. But most vets don't know much about it. Just curious as to what he will say.
Have you read anything about other insulins?
If it turns out that he is a high dose kitty, they have had success with Lev since it claims to not sting as the Lantus does.
Quite few kitties have switched over. We have used it since switching from Vetsulin. Good luck with the appointment and I am sending Sooty good vetty vines ! Will be looking forward to hearing about it ....I am not sure how long those tests take to be done...but it is a good thing that you are doing that!

I hope he has perked up a bit. Come on Sooty...let's see that smile? :mrgreen:
(that usually makes Raja laugh cause we all know that cats can't smile!!!) :lol:
 
Re: 10/24 Sooty AMPS 361 +2 359 +5 263 & reply to Pat

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
I'm only trying it with Shadow...glad you are shooting there already...thank you Perry...

I wish you well for your vet appointment tomorrow. If you think about using another insulin, I would hope you would try the Levemir before going to anything else. But most vets don't know much about it. Just curious as to what he will say.
Have you read anything about other insulins?
If it turns out that he is a high dose kitty, they have had success with Lev since it claims to not sting as the Lantus does.
Quite few kitties have switched over. We have used it since switching from Vetsulin. Good luck with the appointment and I am sending Sooty good vetty vines ! Will be looking forward to hearing about it ....I am not sure how long those tests take to be done...but it is a good thing that you are doing that!

I hope he has perked up a bit. Come on Sooty...let's see that smile? :mrgreen:
(that usually makes Raja laugh cause we all know that cats can't smile!!!) :lol:
Thanks! - hadn't really thought about changing insulins but good points you make there... I understand Lev isn't low pH (acidic, pH4) like Lantus is. BTW our vet is a she!
And yes I hope I'm not imagining it but he does seem to have perked up a bit the last 2 hours or so. BG has come down some, too. Still annoying with BGs you don't know if it's cause, or effect....! BTW I think cats CAN smile - they just don't want us to think so...? :lol:

Today so far: AMPS 361 +2 359 +5 263 +7 258
 
Re: 10/24 Sooty AMPS 361 +2 359 +5 263 +7 258 +9 279

Today: AMPS 361 +2 359 +5 263 +7 258 +9 279

- BG is back up a bit but it's getting toward the end of the cycle anyhow - he's still seeming much better than earlier today, more alert-looking.. and we can give him another P (for preening), now, too..!
 
Re: 10/24 Sooty PMPS 283

Hi Perry. I'm glad Sooty seems to feel a little better tonight.
Sending good thoughts for you vet appt. tomorrow. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top