Hello,
Back in the beginning of September, my cat Lulu was on 1 unit twice a day but we increased it to 1.25 due to her BG level still being high but on Sept. 9th the AM preshot level was 88 so we went back to 1 unit instead. Since then she's been on 1 unit, the vet wanted to do a fructosamine test so I held the dose at 1 unit. The results came out to 515, which I believe may have contributed from skipping insulin certain days because my cat would panic. So I kept going with 1 unit and some days the bg level at preshot would be 145-275 or 300+. Also, I did a curve on Oct. 16th where it seems like the insulin hits at +7 resulting in the next preshot to be a bit lower than usual. The vet recommended on giving insulin once a day but Im worried that will cause spikes in her BG level. Today I was going to give 1.25 units and do a curve to see how she responds to the dose but the AM preshot was 161 so I waited another 30-40 mins and it went down to 149, I ended up skipping the dose and fed her morning meal. Then +4 hours her BG level spiked to 554 so I fed her half her usual meal and gave her 1 unit.
I keep struggling with knowing what dose to give my cat when the preshot is lower than usual since I dont want to risk hypo but also the insulin seems to work later than usual. When I skip insulin at a lower BG level, it ends up spiking up. I don't know what to do and am trying to get her BG levels stabilized. What would have been the best approach to react to today's case? And what should I do going forward?
Thank you for any help or advice, really appreciate it
Back in the beginning of September, my cat Lulu was on 1 unit twice a day but we increased it to 1.25 due to her BG level still being high but on Sept. 9th the AM preshot level was 88 so we went back to 1 unit instead. Since then she's been on 1 unit, the vet wanted to do a fructosamine test so I held the dose at 1 unit. The results came out to 515, which I believe may have contributed from skipping insulin certain days because my cat would panic. So I kept going with 1 unit and some days the bg level at preshot would be 145-275 or 300+. Also, I did a curve on Oct. 16th where it seems like the insulin hits at +7 resulting in the next preshot to be a bit lower than usual. The vet recommended on giving insulin once a day but Im worried that will cause spikes in her BG level. Today I was going to give 1.25 units and do a curve to see how she responds to the dose but the AM preshot was 161 so I waited another 30-40 mins and it went down to 149, I ended up skipping the dose and fed her morning meal. Then +4 hours her BG level spiked to 554 so I fed her half her usual meal and gave her 1 unit.
I keep struggling with knowing what dose to give my cat when the preshot is lower than usual since I dont want to risk hypo but also the insulin seems to work later than usual. When I skip insulin at a lower BG level, it ends up spiking up. I don't know what to do and am trying to get her BG levels stabilized. What would have been the best approach to react to today's case? And what should I do going forward?
Thank you for any help or advice, really appreciate it
