10/23 Khloe | AMPS 272, +2 219, +2.5 122, +5 108

Was the food experiment to see if you could slow the dive from PS? And she's been on that experiment since 10/15, right?
You're pretty tech savvy; have you thought about asking AI (I think it's Gemini on Google SS) to analyze the portion of the spreadsheet prior to the food experiment and compare it to the numbers during the experiment to see if the numbers are flattening? I'm looking at those +2s, and they do look higher than numbers prior to the experiment. That said, sometimes I think I see things in the numbers, but the changes are so nuanced that I end up being wrong. Sometimes it helps me to get an analysis.
 
Sara, every cat is different, but I’d like to share an experience with you.

One day, Mami Cat’s vet endocrinologist told me, “If her numbers drop early in the morning, let it happen, Clarice. Let her get into the green early if that’s her natural pattern. She may spend much of the day surfing in the green if she gets there early. Just watch her closely.”

For context, I used to be very afraid of Mami Cat’s steep dives, especially around +1.5 (AM cycle). They were often really dramatic. But when my vet told me that, something clicked: I began to change the way I approached her curves.

I started allowing her numbers to drop naturally around +1 and +1.5, even when she was dropping by more than 100 points, which was quite common. When her AMPS was high, the drops could be 200 points or more.

That’s when I adopted the *feed the curve* approach. In Mami’s case, I learned that I needed to pay particularly close attention around +2.5 and make sure I fed her before then, when her numbers were approaching that point in the cycle. I didn’t give her extra MC food during the first hour. I simply fed her her usual low-carb food and allowed her numbers to fall below 100 before intervening in the curve.

Over time, her bounces became less frequent and less pronounced, and her numbers gradually improved. I was allowing her to reach green early in the morning and letting her pancreas work at full speed during the time of day it seemed to favor most, before stepping in to help manage the curve.

I don’t know if this perspective might help you think about Khloe’s patterns, and of course, her response may be different from Mami’s. But this strategy worked well for Mami Cat, although it took a great deal of courage on my part at the time 🙏🏼
Then, I gradually learned how to manage her curves better. Not perfectly 🙃 but better.

Maybe sharing this experience might be helpful to you and give you something to consider with Khloe, too, since she’s also a diver. And of course, as you know very well 😊: the timing of her nadir will also play an important role in these choices and decisions.

Taking a quick look at Khloe's spreadsheet: her AM cycle (September 29 and 30): very similar to what often happened to Mami Cat, described above.

I care about Khloe and think of her 🥰
 
Last edited:
Was the food experiment to see if you could slow the dive from PS? And she's been on that experiment since 10/15, right?
You're pretty tech savvy; have you thought about asking AI (I think it's Gemini on Google SS) to analyze the portion of the spreadsheet prior to the food experiment and compare it to the numbers during the experiment to see if the numbers are flattening? I'm looking at those +2s, and they do look higher than numbers prior to the experiment. That said, sometimes I think I see things in the numbers, but the changes are so nuanced that I end up being wrong. Sometimes it helps me to get an analysis.
Yes, that’s exactly what I was attempting to do. I was theoretically trying to stop any big drops from happening, therefore smoothing the curve into a flat shape so I could give more insulin and bring the entire curve lower. But that just doesn’t seem to work for Khloe consistently enough to do. I’m also a bit worried after today with her dropping almost a 100 points 30 mins after eating 40g of 14%, starting to feel like I’m playing with fire if MC isn’t blunting anything.
I’ve attempted to use AI to just analyze the numbers for patterns but every time I double check it, I notice it has numbers incorrect or it can’t correctly identify which column the BG is located in.

While I agree the +2 numbers are technically higher numbers, comparing them to the PS of each cycle, the overall shape of the curve hasn’t seemed to change (in my opinion).
For example, if you look at the AM cycles from 10/7 (before I changed any food) to now, she consistently drops around 100 points by +2 if the cycle started yellow. With an occasional slower cycle that drops at +3 instead of +2. I can’t really compare the cycles that start blue because she’s always been flatter on lower pre-shots, regardless of food schedule.

That said, I’m no pro and I stare at this SS so much that maybe I’m not seeing things clearly. But that’s what I see with my observations. Thank you again for talking this out with me over the last week, it’s been helpful to have a second opinion! ☺️
 
I hope Khlo Khlo comes down for you gently today!

Also I just noticed - wow that’s a big drop from +2 to +2.5. Is that normal for her?
Thank you Connie!! 💜

And right?? That’s what I said! And she just had 40g of 14% at +2! And of course I had to leave the house right after.
I don’t normally grab +2.5 so can’t say for sure it’s ’normal’ for her, but I have a feeling the cycle was just a bit slower today so she took that big dive about 30 mins later than usual. I wish I could have been around to grab more data today!
 
“If her numbers drop early in the morning, let it happen, Clarice. Let her get into the green early if that’s her natural pattern. She may spend much of the day surfing in the green if she gets there early. Just watch her closely.”
Thank you Clarice! I always appreciate your thoughtful suggestions💜 I do kinda agree with this for Khloe in particular. I do feel like she spends a lot of time in green when she gets there early in the cycle. I’m not necessarily nervous about drops anymore, I was just attempting some experiments to see if tweaking anything made a significant difference in PSs, mostly so I know I at learned tried.
I completely agree that the higher the PS, it seems like the faster they drop! I guess we just got the luck of the draw with our skydiving kitties! Give Mami Cat a big squeeze and nose boop from me! Thanks again 🤗
 
Thank you Connie!! 💜

And right?? That’s what I said! And she just had 40g of 14% at +2! And of course I had to leave the house right after.
I don’t normally grab +2.5 so can’t say for sure it’s ’normal’ for her, but I have a feeling the cycle was just a bit slower today so she took that big dive about 30 mins later than usual. I wish I could have been around to grab more data today!
Oh interesting. Honestly I’m shocked at what a 30 minute difference made and it’s too big to be meter variance too. These kitties like to keep us on our toes… Moonie gave us a scare too this afternoon, because she’d flattened out from +2 to +5 in the high greens and we got a 45 when we tested 30 mins before PMPS 😅. She quickly came back up to 62 but it freaked me out thinking she could have gone lower in that time. It was weird because her nadirs are typically early around +4 or +5 unless it’s a bounce break cycle. So a long winded way of saying - maybe the girls conspired again this time but just to confuse us 🤣
 
Back
Top