10/23 Binks pmps 398 +1 368 +2 355 +3 348 +5 379

Status
Not open for further replies.

mybuddybinks

Member Since 2010
i may have really pulled a dumb one this am...binks woke me 45 mins preshot...then 20 mins preshot threw up a little foam on the pillow. tested 235, i fed and went ahead with the increase to 1.5u...and 15 mins later he's completely unloaded his breakfast. thought i'd wait a half hour or so and try to feed him a little more... thinking if he has food on board in the next couple hours he'll be okay.

any thoughts? should i be more worried than i am at this point?

and of all things...i was up and down almost every hour thru the night, but decided to save his ears, so don't really know what his cycle was like.

celi
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27997#unread
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 increase & pukus ?

Laurie says that foamy pukus means they need to eat. could he have eaten it too fast? maybe try again in a bit but just a couple tsp at a time. been reading about the difference in regurgitation and vomit - all pukus to me but different causes for each. lovely Sat. a.m. conversation.

why were you up and down so much in the night? Poor Celi - I'm sorry you're not feeling well. I'll be over with some chicken soup.
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 increase & pukus ?

Is Binks acting like he's nauseous? I would make sure there's some food on board. Generally, if a kitty pukes and is acting like "So what. Where's the food?" I wouldn't worry about it. If he's looking like food is the last thing in the world that's of any interest, I'd keep an eye on him and/or get some Pepsid.
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 increase & pukus ?

he did hoover it up pretty fast...and it wasn't as soupy as i usually make it...

Sienne..he wasnt absolutely sure he wanted it, but he just tried a little gravy from the lc food...see how that sits with him.
can you enlighten me about the pepcid? is it human pepcid, and which one do i buy and/or stay away from...how much should i give him (if we need it) ?
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 increase & pukus ?

Poor Binks....I wish they could just tell us what's going on......Hope the LC stays w/him.....
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 increase & pukus ?

sorry...just searched it and saw you've posted in the past 1/4 10 mg tab of pepsid ac, not complete..
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 increase & pukus ?

bummer...the gravy just came up too...
on my way to the store to get pepsid and maybe some of the baby food you mentioned in previous posts.
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 increase & pukus ?

So, we should maybe call this the Puckus Moon tonight instead of the Hunter's Moon?
Binks is the 3rd kitty today that has puked...so far...sigh...
I hope he eats for you Celi.... 1/4 of the 10 mg tablet of the regular Pepcid...NOT the "compete"...
But I tend to believe that kitties do not have a pepcid deficiency going on so hopefully they will eat before they need the pepcid. He might have just been overly hungry....they do vomit sometimes when they are starved...
Hope he feels better soon...
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 increase & pukus ?

You got the info. I would keep an eye on Binks. A vet visit may be in order especially if you start seeing litterbox issues. Any chance Binks got into something he shouldn't have -- plants, etc.
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 increase & pukus ?

mmmmrrrfff! he was happy to try a tspn of baby food, so i held off on the pepcid, and 5 mins later pukus...

give him about 5 mins and then try to get the pepcid down him.
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 increase & pukus ?

don't think so, sienne...the only plant inside is some bamboo but he steers clear of it.

if the pepcid doesnt help, i'll get him to the vet. he just peed, (neg ketones, btw)...but no other lb so far.
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235

so far, the pepcid has stayed down for 30 mins...and 3/4 tspn of baby food has stayed down 10 mins...haven't tried a bg test yet, will in 15-20 mins or so, but think he's better off if i leave him undisturbed on the bed for a few more minutes. he was happy to lick up the baby food.

didnt tell you the worst thing for the morning so far...i grabbed a cup out of cupboard for coffee...and when it is filled with warm liquid, every time you pick it up it plays "jingle bells". sickening!

thanks for the help, guys...again, gotta say...what would we do without this forum?
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235

Poor Binks...I hope he is feeling better.
Just a thought here but maybe it was the sound of "Jingle Bells" in October that made Binks lose his pre-breakfast.....I'm just sayin.
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235

I really hope Binks is feeling better and can keep some food down. Sending happy tummy vines to Binks this morning.

And happy Caturday to you, Celi. I think you should move that cup to the back of the cupboard. :lol:
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235

Aww, poor Binks, I hope the pepcid helps his tummy. The constant puking doesn't sound so good. I could understand once... or even twice, but he's doing it too much to be just due to the 'hungries.'

Lol, Miriam! Yeah, maybe that singing coffee cup is contributing to the nausea. I have a Vincent Van Gogh coffee mug and his ear disappears when hot coffee is poured inside. Ewww.
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313

i don't believe i even said 'good morning" to y'all earlier...how rude is the bean under pressure...

so far so good...feeding him a tspn of babyfood every 15 mins...and the last two he's really been pleased about.
couldnt find his piller , so i put a tiny bit of butter on the pepcid and shoved it down his throat (just enuf to make it slick)...wouldnt be surprised if that's contributed to the pinky bg...or maybe just stress...this from the ocd fd bean who now has two pantry shelves labeled and stocked...but the piller aint there :shock:

:lol: :lol: on the cup comments...first time it went off, i didnt know what the heck it was...2nd time i wanted to get right down there with the Binkster and hurl too. i'm taking it up to the nursing home next trip and letting it play until sis yells for mercy :smile:
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313

Hate to hear Binks had a upset tummy hope the pepcid helps sending feel better vines to him cat_pet_icon :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313

also, called the vet...they're open till noon, but there are two ER vets in town if he needs a visit...

Pat talks about the magical poops...i've just had my intro to the magical pepcid!
lastly...two things of interest i found when i was looking in siennes condos about pepcid:
1. gabby was grooming but it could have been due to the baby food getting everywhere but where it should :lol:

2. "i tend to get wound a little tight when gabby is sick" :shock: this from the woman who exudes calm under fire???

thanks so much for the help, support, and laughs this morning!

celi & binks
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 pukus again ??

CRAPPUS !! he drank a little water, and puked everything up again.

okay, should i try another 2.5 of pepcid, or should i take him to the vet? rather try the pepcid, actually, cause he stresses so bad on trips to vet, but i don't want him getting sicker in order to keep him home

eta: vet is calling me back in 15 mins
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 pukus again ??

Oh no Celi! I'm so sorry Binks isn't feeling well. No advice really, just wanted to check in. Hope he feels better soon.
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 pukus again ??

Hmmm. This doesn't sound like a simple tummy upset that goes away after one or two pukes. Binks has puked more than just a little. It is now more of a pattern. I don't know about giving more pepcid at this point. Maybe the vet will let you know if it is worth trying or if is too much, too soon.

So sorry he's ADR. (ain't doing right.)
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 pukus again ??

Celi I'm sorry Binks is under the weather today. Lantus not withstanding do you think if he has an upset tummy it might be better to avoid food and water for a bit say an hour or two and keep a close eye on his BG? Being ill usually makes BG rise so maybe his insulin won't be an issue.
After the brief fast if he hasn't vomited again then try to start up food a tsp every 1/2 hour if he keeps it down. With the water let him have a little in between bites. I hope its just a mild tummy upset and nothing serious.
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323

tech called back and took info...they're having severe emergencies, so vet will call back as soon as possible.

kathy i think you've given some pretty good advice...he was begging for water and food, so i let him have just a couple of laps of water and couple licks of baby food 30 mins ago...he's lying on the couch now and hasnt hurled. i think if he rests and fasts awhile it might solve issue. i don't think i'd get him to reg vet until they close...and pretty sure no staff on hand after that...so if he can hang in maybe he'd be better here.
see what vet says, and will go to ER if needed, but he doesnt look nearly as sick as he did earlier, and he has been purring and grooming front legs...

happy caturday, eh? poor lil poop.

eta: what i was most worried about was the insulin without food on board...that seems not a problem...so now, of course, i'm free to worry about what might be an underlying issue causing the upset.
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323

Celi I'm sure relieved he has stopped vomiting and kept a little down. How is he now? I hope he's still ok. :?:
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323

Celi...not supposed to be on computer but DH went to get my AB and I was worried about Binks. I might hold off on pepcid...he probably got some in his system but in the CRF group they recommend 1/4 -10 mg tab every other day to start so I'd be careful about giving him too much. One thing I use if my kitties have upset tummies is slippery elm bark syrup...it soothes the digestive tract and can act as an anti-acid. You can usually get the powder at the health food store. Recipe is:
1/4 c water
1/2 tsp SEB powder
Warm gently in glass or porcelain pot until slightly thick (it won't be real thick and will get a little thicker as it cools). Give 5 mls bid. Just be sure you do it either an hour before meds or two hours after (that doesn't inc insulin). Healing vines for you both.

uh oh..gotta run...DH home.
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323 +7 373 vet advice

well...vet was able to finally get back to us, and advised basically the same as what the forum said...not to give more pepcid, the fasting thing...only difference is she said that if his numbers stay up, she'd prefer i feed small amts of baby food about every 2 hrs or so, but let him have small amts of water every 45 mins if he asks. he had a tspn fud 30 mins ago, and some water...and is again lying stretched out in the sun on the couch, no foodus expellarious so far.

they are affiliated with the ER clinic, and share computer info...she called the vet on duty there and gave them a heads up in case he starts up again and needs to go in.

thanks for checking in on him, and thanks for the good advice...

(marjie...if you not supposed to be outta bed...bad girl! but thanks :smile: )

celi and regan :lol:
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323 +7 373 vet advice

Cdli, sorry I didn't see this earlier, I hope Binksy is feeling better! I'm not much help with these sort of issues, not much experience so I usually just pass on what has already been said....

It makes sense to me to not repeat the Pepcid unless the vet says to do that, and to rest the GI tract by giving small amounts of food and water at a time....very common sense advice. I hope he continues to improve.

Pukus Moon indeed! :shock:

I see you posted while I was typing. Glad the vet got back to you.
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323 +7 373 vet advice

and while the brat prince snoozes...i'm treatin myself to a kb spa vanilla latte bubble bath.
aaahhhh :-D
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323 +7 373 vet advice

Poor little guy! I hope he perks up soon. How are you holding up? At least you can cuddle in bed together. Sending feel better vines to bothe of you.
âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§ âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§ âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§âť§
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323 +7 373 vet advice

:-| poor Binks (though can't help but snicker a bit at all the new euphemisms for vomiting)
Hope all is resolved quickly.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323 +7 373 probable cause

when i read side effects on my meds, they state short term memory loss. nowhere was it explained "you will be reduced to a total ignoramous"

LB action...complete normapoo, with exception of the first deposit, which was filled with binksy fur. which leads to recall the biggest clue i forgot until now...yesterday afternoon during cuddles, he started coughing like he had a hairball, but didnt produce one. :oops:

discussed with vet...still keeping eagle eye on him...but we may have solution to the mystery of B. if ya can't get rid of it one way...try, try again.

eta: i comb him daily, but he's got that classic manx undercoat that relentlessly sheds...
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323 +7 373 probable cause

oh! just got this...Binks was emptying the "sheds" :lol:

(i hope)
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323 +7 373 probable cause

riveraside_q5nvb939.gif
Here is some snowflakes to help him feel better hope the evening shows us a better feeling Binks :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323 +7 373 probable cause

How is he now Celi? any news?
Do you have any tuna in oil Celi? The oil might help if it is a hairball. Not sure he will drink it, but it's worth a try maybe?
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323 +7 373 probable cause

mybuddybinks said:
oh! just got this...Binks was emptying the "sheds" :lol:

(i hope)
Ouch! but I hope so too, it can also account for the higher numbers.
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323 +7 373 +9.5 396 ?

ohhh..i have a feeling that his pmps is going to be high enough to make me nauseous.

he had a large teaspoon of baby food at +9, is parked by his dish asking for more...seems to be feeling much better.
i've put his water dish back down...but he'd prefer more food...

he also exchanged insults and windowslaps with smudge at +9.5, and is now busily grooming himself

so i'm thinking unless he has a turn for the worse, tonight's shot is a go-ahead.

i feel if he continues to improve, that i shouldnt reduce his dose...does anyone feel differently?

gotta go feed the cats up the street..

and boy do we appreciate the support, folks.
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323 +7 373 +9.5 396

So glad Binks is feeling better. He had us worried. So, would that be considered a magical hairpoo?
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323 +7 373 +9.5 396

Looking for a good pm report, Celi. This was quite a disheartening day you had...but always with a good attitude and humor. Cyber hug. :smile:
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323 +7 373 +9.5 396

Sounds like maybe he was backed up. Sending tummy calming energy his way. Throwing up can cause BG to spike and if the blockage has passed, then you might see a sudden drop. If you know when insulin usually kicks in for Binks, you may want to test an hour before just to stay ahead of things. Hope things "go" smoothly now. :P
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323 +7 373 +9.5 396 +11 4

so glad that Binks seems to be better . phew! Loved Ann's remark: magical hairpoo? Somehow that reminded me of ella and Stu's "gigantus-hairballitis" when he was so under the weather. Take care.
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323 +7 373 +9.5 396 +11 4

my computer keeps booting me out...

he's purring, preening, and asking for food...so am i right in assuming if it stays this way in the next hour he should get the full dose?
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323 +7 373 +9.5 396 +11 4

has kept down everything since +5, and i'm here all night and well supplied...
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323 +7 373 +9.5 396 +11 4

thanks, all, for the humor and advice...for once i gotta keep it short...( a blessing, no doubt)
 
Re: 10/23 Binks amps 235 +3 313 +5 323 +7 373 +9.5 396 +11 4

Are you okay with shooting that Celi? I hope he eats and keeps it down...I would think that he needs to get those numbers down...so unless anyone says differently, I would shoot the same...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top