10/22 Comet PMPS 215

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenny and Comet (GA)

Member Since 2020
Hi, everyone. Feeling a little dumb about posting here again. I know I need to figure out the Lantus board but I started reading the protocols last night and wasn't able to finish and my head is a mess today.

Not sure if I should shoot tonight and don't know what to try if I did. The other day at the advice of the board, I did try doing .1 at a similar preshot number, but it was a morning shot and I think I ended up shooting closer to zero. Our insulin history isn't very long. I would feel safer doing something if he was higher, but he isn't.

He has eaten okay today. I am home and can keep an eye on him, but can't stay up with him the entire night as I have before.

Thanks for your help. Feeling tired and discouraged.
 
Sorry but you were fine to shoot as the bg was over 200. The 0.1 dose was what you should have injected. New to insulin 200 is very safe.
 
Last edited:
Jenny, I know you’re reluctant because of the 2 previous hypo incidents but you should try to shoot over 200. Especially now with a smaller dose. Remember it’s not about the amount of food he eats but whether he’s eating or not. A few teaspoons of food onboard are enough to give insulin. What’s his bg now? I don’t see it on the ss :cat:

you know what else I’m going to ask you don’t you? :p
 
Jenny, I know you’re reluctant because of the 2 previous hypo incidents but you should try to shoot over 200. Especially now with a smaller dose. Remember it’s not about the amount of food he eats but whether he’s eating or not. A few teaspoons of food onboard are enough to give insulin. What’s his bg now? I don’t see it on the ss :cat:

you know what else I’m going to ask you don’t you? :p
I do know! I asked for it and was told that since he was eating normally later after he vomited that they did not think he needed it; they said they would prescribe later "if merited". Apparently not merited yet. :(
 
I do know! I asked for it and was told that since he was eating normally later after he vomited that they did not think he needed it; they said they would prescribe later "if merited". Apparently not merited yet. :(
The problem with that is by the time you do need it they could be closed, like at night or a Sunday, and then you’ll be on a tough spot. I’d push harder for it and say exactly that, you don’t want to risk being stuck with a diabetic cat who won’t eat when they’re closed and you want it now to have it at hand as a backup. Remember I told you they wouldn’t just give it to you, you have to advocate for the fact you’ll be the one dealing with it on your own and you don’t want a trip to the ER just for that. Or get your human doctor to prescribe you ondansetron. I’m serious. Don’t wait

but kudos for not forgetting to ask! :cat::cat::cat:
 
Last edited:
The problem with that is by the time you do need it they could be closed, like at night or a Sunday, and then you’ll be on a tough spot. I’d push harder for it and say exactly that, you don’t want to risk being stuck with a diabetic cat who won’t eat when they’re closed and you want it now to have it at hand as a backup. Remember I told you they wouldn’t just give it to you, you have to advocate for the fact you’ll be the one dealing with it on your own and you don’t want a trip to the ER just for that. Or get your human doctor to prescribe you ondansetron. I’m serious. Don’t wait

but kudos for not forgetting to ask! :cat::cat::cat:
Yes, I will try again. I'll call in the morning. Thank you.
 
If he goes up to food but walks away, drinks the liquid but doesn’t eat, or licks his lips. If he is super picky it’s another sign of nausea. Ondansetron is tiny so you can try but if nauseous he might not want a pill pocket. I put meds in empty gel capsules.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top