10/21 Ruby AMPS 245, +6 106, +10 124, +11.75 167, PMPS 153, +2 199

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Good morning everyone!

Here's yesterday's story: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-20-ruby-amps-412-6-372-11-5-295.237201/#post-2662781

Food bowl was empty when I woke up at 5 AM (PMS+9). She was hungry and ate about half of her food, which I expect will be mostly gone by +4. I am happy that she is eating as her numbers go lower.

I also realized last night that part of the reason I believe Ruby reacted so strongly to the increase to 2U was because I saw there were air bubbles forming in the syringe when I drew the insulin from the vial and am now overdrawing and pushing the bubble out. I am sure every shot I have made since the beginning has had a .10 or .20 ml bubble. Now that I am getting rid of them, she is probably getting substantially more insulin than before.
 
It could be. Those air bubbles can be a nuisance. You may want to make a note on your SS about it.
I wish I could remember exactly when I started compensating for the bubble. Was definitely within the last week but there's been so much drama that I can't remember. So many details to keep in one's head! :eek: :eek: :eek: I didn't think it would make a difference but now I realize that even extra drops of the insulin would have an effect. Ruby seems to be leveling out on the 1.75 now, so hopefully it will be smooth sailing from now until I do her curve again.
 
I had air bubble issues as well. After awhile if you can’t get rid of them you kind of realize how to compensate.
 
+6 in the blues! Will check her again in 2 hours to make sure she stays above 70. She's been grazing so I expect that to keep things up.

I never thought I would be celebrating the consistency and shapes of poop, but I'm happy to report that she is back to having log shaped poops with a soft-ish consistency. I believe the diarrhea she was experiencing a few days ago might have had to do with FF broths. Anyone else have that experience with those treats? She adores them but they were among the many things I fed her a few days ago that started the cycle of diarrhea and not eating. Now that I've eliminated it she seems fine and is not sitting in the litter box anymore.
 
A lot can happen in two hours. If not I think I would reduce tomorrow and try to find a dose you can shoot every cycle. See what others think. I would try 1.5.
 
A lot can happen in two hours. If not I think I would reduce tomorrow and try to find a dose you can shoot every cycle. See what others think. I would try 1.5.
What you're suggesting makes sense to me. I'm feeling quite frustrated right now, with the process and with myself. I just need a dose to stick to for a week so I can do a curve and then re-evaluate from a stable place.
 
Last edited:
Should I give her a token dose of skinny .5? Or should I go to .75? We are going to have a black or pink morning otherwise...? Or should I wait a half an hour and test again to see where we are at?
 
+2 is 199. Looks like it will probably be another pink or black morning. Will lower dose back to 1.5 units, without bubbles this time!
 
It’s a catch up on sleep night. The 2 unit dose depot may still have been in play. With the two token doses you could try the 1.75 one more time in the morning if she’s high.
 
It’s a catch up on sleep night. The 2 unit dose depot may still have been in play. With the two token doses you could try the 1.75 one more time in the morning if she’s high.
Let’s see what the morning brings.

Thanks for your help tonight Elise! Couldn’t have made it through without you holding my hand!
 
Back
Top