10/21 Ivy Amps 248, +3 173, +6 204, +9 207, Pmps 198, +3 146 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
10/20/24
Amps 248 Libre

Past few days have been pretty flat blue and yellow (Libre readings) . She probably needs an increase but given that she’s going to the vet for lab work tomorrow and I’m going to have to reduce her dose and fast her for tomorrow morning, I don’t want to mess with anything today.
I’ll probably give it a few days till her Depot readjust after tomorrow’s wonky schedule and see where things shake out.

I will need to sedate her tonight and tomorrow morning before I take her for her vet tech appointment will try to get a urine sample late today and again tomorrow morning, if possible, to take with us.

The next day will be stressful for both of us. I’m not sure who it’s more stressful for her or me…. Maybe equal :blackeye:

Wishing everyone a safe surf today and a good start to the week:cat:
 
Hi Staci,
Good luck with the vet visit. Hope you will see progress with the thyroid number!
I think it's a sound plan to stay where she is until things settle and she recalibrates after the vet visit.
Our girls can be very unpredictable so we have to play safe :)
Wishing you a wonderful Monday and sending you and Ivy healthy vibes! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,

maybe it is less stressful for Ivy than for you, because her stress only starts tomorrow morning while we humans are already stressed out in advance. And she has the advantage to get a little drugged, while you have to stay sober.

I know you have a perfect plan and you really thought about every little detail. And I remember the last time I was so amazed, how fast Ivy came back on track. It's a stupid day tomorrow but both of you will manage. I'm sure.

Many, many hugs from Binie and me! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
By the way, I imagine that is how our kittys feel on Gabapentine.....:)

cats-in-space-1pg3e2nzpaiu5lmt.jpg
 
Awwww....the pupils... Good we have this option to make them relaxed. What a mercy! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
upload_2024-10-21_14-25-47.jpeg

even before tumor and drugs he’s always had big round eyes and pupils. He’d look at me and it was like a person looking at me when I spoke to him. The tongue sticking out, through, that’s all gabapentin :)
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-10-21_14-25-47.jpeg
    upload_2024-10-21_14-25-47.jpeg
    37.7 KB · Views: 178
By the way, I imagine that is how our kittys feel on Gabapentine.....:)

cats-in-space-1pg3e2nzpaiu5lmt.jpg
I’m very sure you’re right, Colleen. Ivy is always very spacey at home. But when we get to the vet she’s on high alert. It’s truly incredible.

I really hate to have to drug her (never had to do it with my previous cats and they had lots of labs done all the time and visits too). Just different personalities :(
 
Hi Staci,
Good luck with the vet visit. Hope you will see progress with the thyroid number!
I think it's a sound plan to stay where she is until things settle and she recalibrates after the vet visit.
Our girls can be very unpredictable so we have to play safe :)
Wishing you a wonderful Monday and sending you and Ivy healthy vibes! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Kit. I think so too. Since she likes to dive, I’m always worried about not being able to use food to bring her up if I’m fasting her so it just doesn’t seem like a good idea.
While I hate to reduce her insulin, It just seems like the safe thing to do and it’s only two cycles and then we’ll get back to normal dosing hopefully tomorrow night.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,

maybe it is less stressful for Ivy than for you, because her stress only starts tomorrow morning while we humans are already stressed out in advance. And she has the advantage to get a little drugged, while you have to stay sober.

I know you have a perfect plan and you really thought about every little detail. And I remember the last time I was so amazed, how fast Ivy came back on track. It's a stupid day tomorrow but both of you will manage. I'm sure.

Many, many hugs from Binie and me! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
Hi Heike, thank you for your sweet support.
I know everything you said is absolutely true. You know it’s just hard going through it. We just have to get through the day and the prep day and hopefully come out the other side and get back to business. It’s always just more stress than we all need. If only she were a chill cat, we wouldn’t have to take all these additional measures.
:bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:
 
He’s sooo handsome. And he and Ivy have similar coloring and markings, too. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Yes she’s very pretty—I’ve noticed the resemblance. It also looks like she has fuzzy feet like he does. He used to be very chill at the vet, I think for him it’s a combination of the tumor’s cortisol making him a bit ‘roid rage and his horrible hospitalization experience. The few times I’ve had to take him in au natural he’s been fine if I hold him or at least stand in front of him so he sees me. Tammuz otoh is a total squirrel but he doesn’t lash out he tries to disappear which is hilarious because he’s so pudgy he will stick his tiny head somewhere and an enormous butt sticks out
 
How do you decrease the dose for fasting?
I give her a 1/2 dose the night before (since if she dives overnight I don’t want to have to feed her, which would negate the fasting.
I’ve completely skipped her dose the morning of the labs but tomorrow morning if I feel she’s high enough, I’m going to try to give her a half of a dose with no food.
My appointment is at +4, which is 10 AM, so I’m hoping that works out that she won’t dive in the four hours from when I give her insulin and the appointment.
Paws crossed that this goes well.

If for some reason, she’s very low tomorrow morning I’ll just skip insulin.
We’ll see how it goes. It’s always a crapshoot with her. ;)
 
Yes she’s very pretty—I’ve noticed the resemblance. It also looks like she has fuzzy feet like he does. He used to be very chill at the vet, I think for him it’s a combination of the tumor’s cortisol making him a bit ‘roid rage and his horrible hospitalization experience. The few times I’ve had to take him in au natural he’s been fine if I hold him or at least stand in front of him so he sees me. Tammuz otoh is a total squirrel but he doesn’t lash out he tries to disappear which is hilarious because he’s so pudgy he will stick his tiny head somewhere and an enormous butt sticks out
Yes she does have the fuzzy feet. The fur sticks out between her toes. It’s luscious.
I’m sorry he’s had such bad experiences. Poor baby :(

it’s good he will calm down with you being there to calm him.

And you’re lucky Tammuz is pretty good.
Ivy is a maniacal beast. It’s really so sad how upset and feral she behaves. They all comment on it no matter what office I take her to.

I’ve learned how to handle her at home. But sometimes she’s so out of control even I can’t manage her. She’s a real challenge :blackeye:
 
10/20/24
Amps 248 Libre

Past few days have been pretty flat blue and yellow (Libre readings) . She probably needs an increase but given that she’s going to the vet for lab work tomorrow and I’m going to have to reduce her dose and fast her for tomorrow morning, I don’t want to mess with anything today.
I’ll probably give it a few days till her Depot readjust after tomorrow’s wonky schedule and see where things shake out.

I will need to sedate her tonight and tomorrow morning before I take her for her vet tech appointment will try to get a urine sample late today and again tomorrow morning, if possible, to take with us.

The next day will be stressful for both of us. I’m not sure who it’s more stressful for her or me…. Maybe equal :blackeye:

Wishing everyone a safe surf today and a good start to the week:cat:

Good luck tomorrow at the vet visit. I hope Ivy's thyroid numbers are lower. Paws crossed. Sending positive vibes :bighug:
Wishing you both a calm night and a stress-free day tomorrow. Safe surfing :cat:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Awe, what a cutie. How old is Methos?
If the shelter was correct in their age estimate he’s 18. He has to be at least 16 because he was not a juvenile cat when I met him—he could be older. I’m told they estimate based on teeth and size but he’s a big structured cat like a Maine Coon, and his teeth (no thanks to me) have always been perfect. So they could have over or underestimated him.
Shooter is also a cutie—how old is he?
 
If the shelter was correct in their age estimate he’s 18. He has to be at least 16 because he was not a juvenile cat when I met him—he could be older. I’m told they estimate based on teeth and size but he’s a big structured cat like a Maine Coon, and his teeth (no thanks to me) have always been perfect. So they could have over or underestimated him.
Shooter is also a cutie—how old is he?
Oh wow... so he possibly could be 18 or even 19. Shooter is 17 1/2. lol I count the half years now because I feel like they are milestones at this age. ;)
 
Oh wow... so he possibly could be 18 or even 19. Shooter is 17 1/2. lol I count the half years now because I feel like they are milestones at this age. ;)
I count the days. Every minute past January of 2023 has been a gift from God (and my long-suffering vet and all of you)
When I first moved to my town 9 years ago and met my vet she asked about his age and I explained he was adopted as a “shelter 3” — having volunteered there I knew we tried to make the animals appear as adoptable as possible so it might be the equivalent of “height and weight proportional” on a dating app
This is a picture not long after adoption so he definitely wasn’t a kitten
upload_2024-10-23_4-10-1.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-10-23_4-10-1.jpeg
    upload_2024-10-23_4-10-1.jpeg
    75.4 KB · Views: 100
Back
Top