Heike & BInie
Very Active Member
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-20-binie-amps-429-3-331-6-260.295079/#post-3215319
Good evening,
what a day. I didn't sleep much because I tried to catch Binies urine but I was not successful.
Seems she knows what I am doing and she tries to turn in another direction or she presses her tail so hard on her body that I couldn't get the cup under her. I hope I manage tonight, otherwise I have to use this medical litter again.
I had a full schedule with online meetings today and I saw Binie dropping early and fast on the sensor. So I started early to give her some high carb treats to slow it down (faked a bad internet connection and that I can't use the camera). Even though she earned a reduction at +7.5 and was very annoyed because of all the poking.
The only good thing is, that the reason I would have had to leave the house tomorrow is cancelled and so I can monitor her tomorrow, even though she might be bouncing. A bit less stress.
The vet answered my e-Mail or I'd rather say she answered a few questions I asked and some she did not answer: She said that if her chest licking and the lumps are the result of an allergy, antihistamines don't really work for cats. Usually you would only see side-effects. So she would recommend steroids. She says an allergy test in the blood only makes sense if we have a suspicion what the allergy might be. She said x-ray and ultrasound don't really help to find out what is happening in Binies chest but ct or mri would do. Both mean anaesthesia. She told me she will not be around from Wednesday on until the beginning of November. I should decide, what I want.
I don't feel I can really make a informed decision based on that but I decided that I want to test the urine and the blood first, before making more decisions. My gut feeling says, that another surgery does more harm than help. I know this decision has a high risk, if the lumps are cancer. But it's hard for me to believe it is cancer, if two samples didn't show any cells. She also sent me the pathology report from the surgery. I did another translation with an online-tool:
Histopathological examination report
Histopathologic diagnosis:
multifocal, medium to high grade, pyogranulomatous and partly lymphoplasma-histiocytic
Dermatitis and steatitis with partly associated granulation tissue formation and fibrosis.
Comment:
The submitted tissue sample of the skin and subcutis showed a partly pronounced
pyogranulomatous to lymphoplasma-histiocytic inflammation of the dermis and subcutis.
Similar changes can be observed in the context of foreign body reactions.
The involvement of neutrophil granulocytes can occur in the context of a
primary or secondary bacterial infection. The detection of
granulation tissue formation and fibrosis indicates a chronic reparative process. In the sample itself, there were no indications of the cause.
If further findings are made in the course of the further special staining, you will receive a separate second notification.
Translated with DeepL.com (free version)
If anyone has thoughts on that, I would be greatful!


Hope everyone had a relaxed start in the week!


Good evening,
what a day. I didn't sleep much because I tried to catch Binies urine but I was not successful.

I had a full schedule with online meetings today and I saw Binie dropping early and fast on the sensor. So I started early to give her some high carb treats to slow it down (faked a bad internet connection and that I can't use the camera). Even though she earned a reduction at +7.5 and was very annoyed because of all the poking.
The only good thing is, that the reason I would have had to leave the house tomorrow is cancelled and so I can monitor her tomorrow, even though she might be bouncing. A bit less stress.
The vet answered my e-Mail or I'd rather say she answered a few questions I asked and some she did not answer: She said that if her chest licking and the lumps are the result of an allergy, antihistamines don't really work for cats. Usually you would only see side-effects. So she would recommend steroids. She says an allergy test in the blood only makes sense if we have a suspicion what the allergy might be. She said x-ray and ultrasound don't really help to find out what is happening in Binies chest but ct or mri would do. Both mean anaesthesia. She told me she will not be around from Wednesday on until the beginning of November. I should decide, what I want.

I don't feel I can really make a informed decision based on that but I decided that I want to test the urine and the blood first, before making more decisions. My gut feeling says, that another surgery does more harm than help. I know this decision has a high risk, if the lumps are cancer. But it's hard for me to believe it is cancer, if two samples didn't show any cells. She also sent me the pathology report from the surgery. I did another translation with an online-tool:
Histopathological examination report
Histopathologic diagnosis:
multifocal, medium to high grade, pyogranulomatous and partly lymphoplasma-histiocytic
Dermatitis and steatitis with partly associated granulation tissue formation and fibrosis.
Comment:
The submitted tissue sample of the skin and subcutis showed a partly pronounced
pyogranulomatous to lymphoplasma-histiocytic inflammation of the dermis and subcutis.
Similar changes can be observed in the context of foreign body reactions.
The involvement of neutrophil granulocytes can occur in the context of a
primary or secondary bacterial infection. The detection of
granulation tissue formation and fibrosis indicates a chronic reparative process. In the sample itself, there were no indications of the cause.
If further findings are made in the course of the further special staining, you will receive a separate second notification.
Translated with DeepL.com (free version)
If anyone has thoughts on that, I would be greatful!



Hope everyone had a relaxed start in the week!



Last edited: