10/21, Binie, AMPS 394, +3 207, +7.5 52L/84 Accu Check

Heike & BInie

Very Active Member
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-20-binie-amps-429-3-331-6-260.295079/#post-3215319

Good evening,

what a day. I didn't sleep much because I tried to catch Binies urine but I was not successful. :( Seems she knows what I am doing and she tries to turn in another direction or she presses her tail so hard on her body that I couldn't get the cup under her. I hope I manage tonight, otherwise I have to use this medical litter again.

I had a full schedule with online meetings today and I saw Binie dropping early and fast on the sensor. So I started early to give her some high carb treats to slow it down (faked a bad internet connection and that I can't use the camera). Even though she earned a reduction at +7.5 and was very annoyed because of all the poking.

The only good thing is, that the reason I would have had to leave the house tomorrow is cancelled and so I can monitor her tomorrow, even though she might be bouncing. A bit less stress.

The vet answered my e-Mail or I'd rather say she answered a few questions I asked and some she did not answer: She said that if her chest licking and the lumps are the result of an allergy, antihistamines don't really work for cats. Usually you would only see side-effects. So she would recommend steroids. She says an allergy test in the blood only makes sense if we have a suspicion what the allergy might be. She said x-ray and ultrasound don't really help to find out what is happening in Binies chest but ct or mri would do. Both mean anaesthesia. She told me she will not be around from Wednesday on until the beginning of November. I should decide, what I want. :(

I don't feel I can really make a informed decision based on that but I decided that I want to test the urine and the blood first, before making more decisions. My gut feeling says, that another surgery does more harm than help. I know this decision has a high risk, if the lumps are cancer. But it's hard for me to believe it is cancer, if two samples didn't show any cells. She also sent me the pathology report from the surgery. I did another translation with an online-tool:

Histopathological examination report
Histopathologic diagnosis:
multifocal, medium to high grade, pyogranulomatous and partly lymphoplasma-histiocytic
Dermatitis and steatitis with partly associated granulation tissue formation and fibrosis.
Comment:
The submitted tissue sample of the skin and subcutis showed a partly pronounced
pyogranulomatous to lymphoplasma-histiocytic inflammation of the dermis and subcutis.
Similar changes can be observed in the context of foreign body reactions.
The involvement of neutrophil granulocytes can occur in the context of a
primary or secondary bacterial infection. The detection of
granulation tissue formation and fibrosis indicates a chronic reparative process. In the sample itself, there were no indications of the cause.
If further findings are made in the course of the further special staining, you will receive a separate second notification.

Translated with DeepL.com (free version)

If anyone has thoughts on that, I would be greatful! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hope everyone had a relaxed start in the week! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
I’m glad you will be able to stay with Binie and I’m sure she’s glad to have you close to her. I’m in awe of you catching her urine. Would.not.happen. With my boys.

it sounds like the pathologist thinks it looks like she had an infection imposed on top of something foreign getting under her skin. There was changes consistent with infection and reaction to something foreign in the skin and the subcutaneous tissues. I suppose it could be she caught her self on a fence etc and a piece was left inside but I’m still wondering about the foxtail. I wonder if even the foxtail has disinterested by now the collection of scar and infection might remain. Humans of course don’t get thing like this, the closest example is probably when we accidentally leave something behind during surgery. Then the problem persists until we go back and take it out. I’ll try to read more about animals.

In hope you and Binie have a quiet time the next couple of days
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I’m glad you will be able to stay with Binie and I’m sure she’s glad to have you close to her. I’m in awe of you catching her urine. Would.not.happen. With my boys.

it sounds like the pathologist thinks it looks like she had an infection imposed on top of something foreign getting under her skin. There was changes consistent with infection and reaction to something foreign in the skin and the subcutaneous tissues. I suppose it could be she caught her self on a fence etc and a piece was left inside but I’m still wondering about the foxtail. I wonder if even the foxtail has disinterested by now the collection of scar and infection might remain. Humans of course don’t get thing like this, the closest example is probably when we accidentally leave something behind during surgery. Then the problem persists until we go back and take it out. I’ll try to read more about animals.

In hope you and Binie have a quiet time the next couple of days
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you so much Colleen for helping us, even though you got so much going on yourself with Methos! :bighug::bighug::bighug: One vet we went to also thought about a fence, because under the arm is a typical place for injuries like that. But the foxtail-theory makes a lot of sense for me. At the weekend I found a foxtail in Binies fur, even though she is limited to the terrace and I don't have a clue where she is having it from. So there is definitely something around here. The strange thing is only, that we always had weeks where everything was quiet. No licking, no open wounds, everything fine. Then it started again. That made me think about an allergy.

I hope you can also get some rest tonight Colleen. So strange, we have pets napping all day and we cat moms are sleep deprived. :rolleyes:

Thank you so, so much for your help and good thoughts! Give beautiful Methos a chin scratch from me! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-20-binie-amps-429-3-331-6-260.295079/#post-3215319

Good evening,

what a day. I didn't sleep much because I tried to catch Binies urine but I was not successful. :( Seems she knows what I am doing and she tries to turn in another direction or she presses her tail so hard on her body that I couldn't get the cup under her. I hope I manage tonight, otherwise I have to use this medical litter again.

I had a full schedule with online meetings today and I saw Binie dropping early and fast on the sensor. So I started early to give her some high carb treats to slow it down (faked a bad internet connection and that I can't use the camera). Even though she earned a reduction at +7.5 and was very annoyed because of all the poking.

The only good thing is, that the reason I would have had to leave the house tomorrow is cancelled and so I can monitor her tomorrow, even though she might be bouncing. A bit less stress.

The vet answered my e-Mail or I'd rather say she answered a few questions I asked and some she did not answer: She said that if her chest licking and the lumps are the result of an allergy, antihistamines don't really work for cats. Usually you would only see side-effects. So she would recommend steroids. She says an allergy test in the blood only makes sense if we have a suspicion what the allergy might be. She said x-ray and ultrasound don't really help to find out what is happening in Binies chest but ct or mri would do. Both mean anaesthesia. She told me she will not be around from Wednesday on until the beginning of November. I should decide, what I want. :(

I don't feel I can really make a informed decision based on that but I decided that I want to test the urine and the blood first, before making more decisions. My gut feeling says, that another surgery does more harm than help. I know this decision has a high risk, if the lumps are cancer. But it's hard for me to believe it is cancer, if two samples didn't show any cells. She also sent me the pathology report from the surgery. I did another translation with an online-tool:

Histopathological examination report
Histopathologic diagnosis:
multifocal, medium to high grade, pyogranulomatous and partly lymphoplasma-histiocytic
Dermatitis and steatitis with partly associated granulation tissue formation and fibrosis.
Comment:
The submitted tissue sample of the skin and subcutis showed a partly pronounced
pyogranulomatous to lymphoplasma-histiocytic inflammation of the dermis and subcutis.
Similar changes can be observed in the context of foreign body reactions.
The involvement of neutrophil granulocytes can occur in the context of a
primary or secondary bacterial infection. The detection of
granulation tissue formation and fibrosis indicates a chronic reparative process. In the sample itself, there were no indications of the cause.
If further findings are made in the course of the further special staining, you will receive a separate second notification.

Translated with DeepL.com (free version)

If anyone has thoughts on that, I would be greatful! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hope everyone had a relaxed start in the week! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike, wow what a cycle today. Binie decided to show off all of the rainbow colors today :smuggrin:
:cool::D
I can image you telling your meeting you had internet troubles!! Good call. Whatever works in that case :)

Binie is so smart that she knows how to block you from getting her urine. It’s good for her but not good for you. We can be so frustrating when all we’re trying to do is help them and they just like to put up roadblocks for us and make it more difficult.:banghead:
I really hope you will be successful to get a urine sample.

(I need to do the same to take tomorrow to the vet).

I’m so happy you are able to be home tomorrow as it turns out. That was a stroke of luck and you can sure use it.
Maybe the cat gods are listening to our prayers!!!!!

I’m glad Colleen had some good thoughts about the medical situation. I wish I knew more to give better suggestions.
I do think you need some answers and hopefully you will be able to get some about some of the tests you want done with urine and bloodwork.

Is there another colleague in the vet practice you use? Maybe another set of eyes that could look over Binie’s lab work and situation to give another opinion?

Ivy and I are sending you both lots of good wishes for a calm and stable night, Heike :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, wow what a cycle today. Binie decided to show off all of the rainbow colors today :smuggrin:
:cool::D
I can image you telling your meeting you had internet troubles!! Good call. Whatever works in that case :)

Binie is so smart that she knows how to block you from getting her urine. It’s good for her but not good for you. We can be so frustrating when all we’re trying to do is help them and they just like to put up roadblocks for us and make it more difficult.:banghead:
I really hope you will be successful to get a urine sample.

(I need to do the same to take tomorrow to the vet).

I’m so happy you are able to be home tomorrow as it turns out. That was a stroke of luck and you can sure use it.
Maybe the cat gods are listening to our prayers!!!!!

I’m glad Colleen had some good thoughts about the medical situation. I wish I knew more to give better suggestions.
I do think you need some answers and hopefully you will be able to get some about some of the tests you want done with urine and bloodwork.

Is there another colleague in the vet practice you use? Maybe another set of eyes that could look over Binie’s lab work and situation to give another opinion?

Ivy and I are sending you both lots of good wishes for a calm and stable night, Heike :bighug::bighug:

Hi Staci,

thank you so much for your sweet and kind support even though you have enough going on today as well. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I hope that was a white lie with the camera today... I hate not telling the truth but it is very complicating telling people about my diabetic cat. I think some just find it very crazy.

I hope you have more luck with the urine sample than I do. During the day she peed while I was in an online meeting so hopefully I am lucky tonight. I use the motion detector again to wake me up, when she is walking towards the toilet. Thank god, one day more is not a problem.

Yes, she really did a ride today. And I hated to give her all these high carb treats. If I am free to monitor, I can take more risks, because I know I can react any minute. But I am glad she did it today and not on a day where I am out.

Yes, I am so grateful Colleen helped me to make sense out of the report. And yes, you are right. Another vet would be helpful. While my vet is away, I will go to her young collegue. She is super sweet with Binie and I trust her but she is not so experienced. So every time it gets difficult, she asks the older vet. They also did the surgery together. But even though, she might has a fresh perspective on it. And she is less annoyed from me and my questions, which is also an advantage.

Of course I thought about a second opinion. I just don't know where. The vets in my town, I know them all and somehow I don't feel they are better qualified to help us. And I dread driving Binie to the next clinic, which is more than an hour drive. Last time they didn't treat her nice and I just feel she had enough stress the last month. I don't know if it is responsible but as long as I don't see her suffering, I feel I should wait how the situation develops and how her overall health is. I like to make informed decisions but as many things are vague, I feel I have to trust my gut feeling.

I keep all my fingers crossed for a stress free vet visit tomorrow! Curious to read your update! Big, big hug for you and all the best for sweet Ivy tomorrow. I hope she doesn't eat the vet. :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Update: I was about to go to bed and wanted to remove Binies toilet on the terrace so I don't have to control two toilets tonight. When I wanted to take it, she got up from her catbed like: "Wait, let me pee first!". Twenty seconds later I held a cup with warm pee in my hand. Never thought this would make me so happy. :) No motion detector alarm tonight.
 
Not sure about that. I know some people in the US give Zyrtec, active ingredient cetirizine hydrochloride to cats. In Canada we have a different product name for the same thing (Reactine). I think @tiffmaxee has experience giving it for allergies, or knows more.

I do give Mocha half a 10 gram regular strength Zyrtec for her skin allergies and did give it to Max when he had symptoms of a uri. It’s well tolerated but one potential side effect is increased appetite. I’ve used it as an appetite stimulant too.
 
Update: I was about to go to bed and wanted to remove Binies toilet on the terrace so I don't have to control two toilets tonight. When I wanted to take it, she got up from her catbed like: "Wait, let me pee first!". Twenty seconds later I held a cup with warm pee in my hand. Never thought this would make me so happy. :) No motion detector alarm tonight.
Congratulations!! Soo glad she did you a favor of a nice pee in a cup for her Mum!! Good girl, Binie :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,

thank you so much for your sweet and kind support even though you have enough going on today as well. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I hope that was a white lie with the camera today... I hate not telling the truth but it is very complicating telling people about my diabetic cat. I think some just find it very crazy.

I hope you have more luck with the urine sample than I do. During the day she peed while I was in an online meeting so hopefully I am lucky tonight. I use the motion detector again to wake me up, when she is walking towards the toilet. Thank god, one day more is not a problem.

Yes, she really did a ride today. And I hated to give her all these high carb treats. If I am free to monitor, I can take more risks, because I know I can react any minute. But I am glad she did it today and not on a day where I am out.

Yes, I am so grateful Colleen helped me to make sense out of the report. And yes, you are right. Another vet would be helpful. While my vet is away, I will go to her young collegue. She is super sweet with Binie and I trust her but she is not so experienced. So every time it gets difficult, she asks the older vet. They also did the surgery together. But even though, she might has a fresh perspective on it. And she is less annoyed from me and my questions, which is also an advantage.

Of course I thought about a second opinion. I just don't know where. The vets in my town, I know them all and somehow I don't feel they are better qualified to help us. And I dread driving Binie to the next clinic, which is more than an hour drive. Last time they didn't treat her nice and I just feel she had enough stress the last month. I don't know if it is responsible but as long as I don't see her suffering, I feel I should wait how the situation develops and how her overall health is. I like to make informed decisions but as many things are vague, I feel I have to trust my gut feeling.

I keep all my fingers crossed for a stress free vet visit tomorrow! Curious to read your update! Big, big hug for you and all the best for sweet Ivy tomorrow. I hope she doesn't eat the vet. :bighug::kiss::bighug:
Hi Heike, I totally understand your situation about another vet. I guess it’s a good opportunity to at least have the younger vet give you her opinion since she’s already familiar with Binie. It can’t hurt to have another set of eyes on her.

In light of what Wendy and Elise have also mentioned about using the antihistamine, I’ve seen lots of people on here using the same medication for various reasons. Maybe it couldn’t hurt to try it and see what happens? Maybe it would be helpful to Binie to stop her itching?
And I think there’s a lot to be said to trusting your gut. You know Binie best :)

Hope you are having a very restful night :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Thank you so much Colleen for helping us, even though you got so much going on yourself with Methos! :bighug::bighug::bighug: One vet we went to also thought about a fence, because under the arm is a typical place for injuries like that. But the foxtail-theory makes a lot of sense for me. At the weekend I found a foxtail in Binies fur, even though she is limited to the terrace and I don't have a clue where she is having it from. So there is definitely something around here. The strange thing is only, that we always had weeks where everything was quiet. No licking, no open wounds, everything fine. Then it started again. That made me think about an allergy.

I hope you can also get some rest tonight Colleen. So strange, we have pets napping all day and we cat moms are sleep deprived. :rolleyes:

Thank you so, so much for your help and good thoughts! Give beautiful Methos a chin scratch from me! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
Foxtails blow in the wind. Here in California unless you live in a huge city you must be on the alert all summer and into the fall. It’s crazy. It’s one reason my catio is at the front of my house rather than my back yard that backs up to an oak trail.
Methos sends purrs back. And waves his paws to sweet Binie
 
Back
Top