10/20 Tiger AMPS 133;PMPS 439;+2= 323 Otto Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiger(GA) and Ruth

Member Since 2014
Previous Condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=126974

10/19 Recap:
AMPS 372
+2 367
++ 319
+8 373
PMPS 358 (new Lantus Pen)
+2 269
+6.5 88 :mrgreen:

I am still smiling at Julie's description of the wedding, going to be on a Man- kilt lookout everytime we're in Seattle and Portland! :lol:

Otto arrived very late Friday afternoon. I filled it for the PMPS meal- no dice! As soon as Tiger heard that whirring noise, she bolted! :roll: Later that evening, she did eat some Wellness Core out of it, which she loves, but hopefully she will get used to Mr. Noisy Otto and learn the wonderful treats he has for her! :lol: I did go on our hike, this is an annual hike/picnic with a bunch of my cousins - we go to the Leavenworth area and if we are lucky, the weather is great, the leaf color spectacular and we have a nice lunch afterward. This year, the weather was 50/50- DH, my cousin Paula and her DH and I got there late due to a malfunction with my rice cooker(which we needed to make the traditional rice ball and fried chicken picnic :lol: ) The other cousins got to the trailhead on time, but it was pouring! We got there late and it was clearing and the sun came out, so much for the early bird getting the worm :lol: Even though they got soaked, we all had a good time,I found a nice variety of mushrooms including Pine, Chantrelle and Hedgehogs. The only one not happy was little Tiger. Because she didn't want to eat Saturday morning, I skipped her shot. Her BG soared up to that ugly color that shall NOT be named! :oops: :oops: She did eat food that I had left out that was not inside Otto. :roll: She has since recovered from Saturday, I should have gotten a +4 and +8 but I overslept my alarm :oops:

Sending healing vines for all kitties and their humans in need!
 
Re: 10/20 Tiger AMPS 133;PMPS 439 Otto Update

Tiger - time to turn it around. Green is the other away. Nice recovery last night from the "fur" shot. Ruth, I'm glad you had fun on the hike. Beans need to get out and have some bean time. Saturday was strange weather here too and it cleared for the afternoon.

Your description of Otto reminds me of the first time I tried and autofeeder with Neko. And the QPet is even louder for longer than the Petsafe 5. The first couple of times I had to catch her and drag her back to Otto and show her the yummy food inside. Then she got it. :cool: :lol:
 
Re: 10/20 Tiger AMPS 133;PMPS 439 Otto Update

Hi Ruth,
Rusty eats almost all his meals from his automat (a 2-compartment Cat Mate C2, with 2 kitchen-type mechanical timers and lids that pop up). When I don't set the timers, which is most of the time, he uses it as a tray. Perhaps you can take the battery out of Otto for a while and just use it as a single-compartment tray until Tiger gets used to it. I used to have a PetSafe 5-compartment "Otto" for Stu, but it used to get stuck between compartments and he couldn't get his head in to eat! I don't think I programmed it correctly.

Glad you had a great hike and picnic!

Enjoy the evening. Thanks for visiting Rusty.

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks ladies!
Wendy, it's hard to imagine anything being louder than the Petsafe Otto :lol: Boy, I was telling DH how lucky we have been with our weather and tonight, we had a thunder/lightening storm complete with hail- the ground was white! :shock: Glad we got that hike in and hopefully a couple more before it snows!

Ella, that is a great idea to leave the thing open and have her eat out of it! I was going to stuff it full of Pure Bite treats in every other compartment as well, she never used to be so afraid of things when she was younger.
 
Hi Ruth:

I think she'll get the hang of it. New noises are usually scary to cats, but once she's used to it and understands it means fuds, I think it'll be fine. The problem Ella had with the PetSafe 5 was probably not programming, but that she didn't get the food tray seated properly. I speak from experience! If it isn't all the way down (It will "click"), then it won't turn completely. So learn from my and Ella's mistakes - check to be sure it's as far down as it will go before closing the lid. There is a button you can push to turn it, and if you're not sure if it's seated properly, you might try that once or twice till you're comfortable with how it should look. Better that than to have a frustrated Tiger trying to get to food that's just out of reach! :o

I'm glad your being fashionably late to the family outing worked out so well! Sounds like a lot of fun.

Yes, I love fall and winter weather. I've lived in places where it snows and gets cold, but not for a long time. Dad was career Air Force so we lived in Maine, North Dakota and Massachusetts (along with Florida and AZ). He retired in AZ, where we moved when I was in the 4th grade, so I didn't get a lot of real winter. Mark and I lived in England for the first three years of our marriage, and except for the winter we got there (in January), they had almost no snow. If fact one year, on Christmas it was in the 60s and I called home to Tucson and found it had snowed there!!! :roll: Hopefully we'll retire somewhere that gets a little snow and has actual seasons. Not sure where that will be.

Now, Tiger, get thee down out of the rafters! There are no birdies up there - only cobwebs (sorry, Ruth. I don't mean to impugn your housekeeping!).

Sending safe sliding vines.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top