10/20 Meows AMPS 61, PMPS 76

shelbyandmeows

Member Since 2024
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...8-4-74-6-79-8-86-pmps-86.294949/#post-3214148

Good morning! Today I skipped his shot because he was 61. Previously it had been decided anything over 70 I would shoot, hence the skip.
I know @Bandit's Mom we said we would touch base today to see how his numbers were looking after this week. What do you think? Should we try a trial of OTJ starting today, or should I give him insulin tonight if he goes back above 70? ◡̈

(also sorry for tagging you if that's improper form, I just know you have been helping me so much and I am so appreciative) ◡̈
 
I'm no expert for sure! but why not give it a try? It looks like even with several skipped doses here and there he stayed in green numbers. Worst case you end up going back to a drop dose again.
 
Thank you both! It is crazy that we are even in this position and it is thanks to all of you ◡̈

Yes, it seems he had plans of his own as to when he wanted to start! He's always been the boss in this house, so no surprise there lol. I'll wait to hear from them for the confirmation ◡̈ thank you so much!
 

OTJ trial instructions:

  • Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
  • If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
  • Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
  • After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
 
Back
Top