10/2 Michael amps 332 +5.75 307 pmps 199 + 3.25 160

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paula

Member Since 2014
[http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=126246][/url]
Good Morning ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O)

Michael sure likes that stinky pink :!:
Did Michael's curve yesterday (10/1) added 35% to the #'s I got with the relion meter. She felt the #'s were too high and increased the dose to 2u bid. At present, I'm giving him 1.75u bid. Michael #'s are pretty much the same. No significant change. He has been on 1.75u bid for about 7 days. I thought I would increase tomorrow 10/2 to 2u bid. Any thoughts :?:

Paula :smile:

Michael still in that stinky pink :!: (amps +5.75 307)
M tried his blue suit again. (pmps 199) Nice color :!:
Still the dress blues. ;-) (pmps +3.25 160
 
Re: 10/2 Michael amps 332

Also have you switched to lc food less then 9%, if not, I would have also waited till you had both the new insulin and less then 9% food in his system.
 
Re: 10/2 Michael amps 332

I would wonder if he needs sometime for the new insulin working in his body to get accurate reading.
Question, does a less potent insulin equal a reduced dose?
If yes then would it? make sense that the depot needs to fill with the correct potency of insulin to get accurate readings?
These are questions that come to mind.
 
Re: 10/2 Michael amps 332

And the no real movement in numbers the last 7 days may be due to the less potent insulin.
 
Re: 10/2 Michael amps 332

I think Michaels numbers have been pretty consistent and he's been bouncing off blue. IF the insulin was getting toasty, I think the numbers would look a little more wonky.

If it were me, I'd increase the dose to 2u unless you see green today/tonight. Increasing tomorrow is fine...I always prefer to increase in the mornings.

I don't think thst 9% food would be responsible for the types of numbers Michael has been getting. Some cats actually do better in the 9-10% range. Dr. Lisa has said that with the variation in each batch of food, there is also variation in the %carbs to a certain degree. If you want to switch him to a lower carb food, that is fine but I would go lower than about 4%.

Good luck with the increase :-D
 
Re: 10/2 Michael amps 332

Thanks for the replies.
By adding 35% to the Relion meter #'s does that give a pretty accurate # for the aphatrak Pet meter #'s :?:
(The vet wanted me to use the alphatrak, which I can't afford.) She wants me to do another curve in about
5 days to see how he does with the increase.
 
Re: 10/2 Michael amps 332

Are you putting the Relion numbers on your SS or are you putting the number + 35% on your SS? Personally, it would help me more to see only the reading you get off of the Relion meter. Part of the issue is that we've typically looked at an 80 on the AlphaTrack as being the equivalent of a 50 on a human meter. The difference between these readings is not 35%. By your method, a 50 on the Relion would be a 68 on an AlphaTrack. (There's been some recent research on the AlphaTrack vs. human glucometers and the difference isn't that much.)
 
Re: 10/2 Michael amps 332

Sienne

I believe the numbers on his SS are Relion and Paula was going to calculate 35% on those numbers and give a separate SS to the vet so the vet thinks she is using the AT. She used 35% based on the latest Roomp/Rand doc which discussed differences being 30-40%.
 
Re: 10/2 Michael amps 332 +5.75 307

Sienne,
I am doing what Marje explained. I am using the Relion #'s on the SS.
Thanks,
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 10/2 Michael amps 332 +5.75 307 pmps 199

I would think that is an awfully big drop after +5.75, I'm not really sure what to think with that pmps.
 
Re: 10/2 Michael amps 332 +5.75 307 pmps 199

i agree with michael - if there is any way you can get another test tonight, paula, i would do so.
 
Thanks for the replies.
I managed to get pmps +3.25 160.
I will leave food out for him tonight and hope he doesn't eat it in one gulp :!:
Have a good night everyone :!:
Paula I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top