10/2 Jack AMPS=433 PMPS=383 +5=34

Status
Not open for further replies.

JacksDads

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo (10/1)

So it's nice to finally get some sleep last night, after a full week of nighttime spot checks - but the down side to that means no nadir numbers for last night. We'll see this morning when and if a curve happens with 0.1u insulin.

~Yoshi
 
Re: 10/2 Jack AMPS 433

Yoshi & Jose said:
Libby & Lucy said:
...It seems like you would want him to earn that last dose reduction from here and go OTJ, but his bouncing means his pancreas isn't on the job 100% yet, so he still needs more healing time on insulin. The goal for now is to *prevent* him from earning reductions, at least for a little while. Does that make sense?

Yeah! We agree! Jack earning his last dose reduction by having a normal blood glucose would be fantastic- however, Jack's "earned" his reductions thus far by diving to the green basement. And um, as he's about to get 0.1u of insulin tonight - what action do we take when he's below 50 mg/dL again?

* Can we space the doses out more (every 14 or 16 hours?)
* Do we just continue with 0.1u?

I'm guessing his next dose reduction would mean: Keep the 0.1u, but space the LC food out. Actually - that's what we're going to try anyway for his meals now: He usually get 2 one-ounce defrosted cubes of raw food at AMPS and PMPS. So now, we'll give him one defrosted cube and one frozen cube (Jack doesn't like eating cold food).
Note what Libby suggested -- you want to prevent Jack from earning another dose reduction. Right now, Jack's SS doesn't look like he's getting close to being ready for an OTJ trial. Most kitties who are nearing that point aren't bouncing into the 400s. You need to support his pancreas by keeping him in the greens for as long as possible.

What I would suggest is that you front load Jack's food to help prevent the early drops. In other words, divide his food for the cycle into 4 portions. Feed 1/4 of the food at pre-shot, +1, +2 and +3. You can also give a snack at +8 or +9 if you want. Spreading the food out into "mini-meals" can help to reduce the big drops.


Do not space out Jack's dose at this point. I'd keep shooting on a 12/12 schedule and shoot your current 0.1u dose.
 
Re: 10/2 Jack AMPS 433

My kitty also has an early nadir.....So I'm constantly trying to get the food in her over the first 3-4 hours...Sometimes I will even feed her every 30 minutes for the first 2 hours or so if I think she may drop early on me....It drives me nuts somtimes....We recently moved to a new place in the last few days and had to reduce her dose dramatically....from 1.0 to .3...due to stress and food issues...but I know she will need to increase her dose since her glucose is not low enough in the greens..its low but not hanging around 60s/70s like I would like. It sure is a balancing act.


Hope you can figure out a dose that Jack can surf at...not to low (that becomes scarey) and not too high. Its hard to find that ideal dose for our kitties.

We are rooting for you.
 
Re: 10/2 Jack AMPS 433

So at +4.8 I was about to go to bed, but thought, "I'll just do one last spot check..." That late night drop caught me by surprise because it seemed so sudden. I guess 400s to 30s in 3 hours isn't so sudden - but his declines have always seemed more gradual before this one. Or maybe I just haven't caught them before.

I guess he was due for a drop - his cycle over the past few days looks like he takes a huge dip every 36 hours. So I'm predicting the next green plummet to happen late Monday morning.

The one frozen and one defrosted cube of food doesn't space it out enough - I thought he'd stay away from the cold food - but apparently he just licked it like a popsicle until about 20 minutes later (+0.3) it was gone.

Does anyone understand Jack's nadir? Last week - I thought it was reliable that his would come early. Maybe he just doesn't have a regular nadir yet, because his dose has been changing so.

~Yoshi, signing out.
 
Nice catch guys.
This is why it's always important to do that before bedtime time check.

I don't quite understand what up with Jack kitty, but I'm interested in what others say.
Ask again in your next condo ok? Don't want your questions to get missed.

But good job last nite!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top