? 10/19 Purrdy AMPS 162 +3 133 IGF-1 test question / Vyktor AMPS 166

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Active Member
Weird, I tried to post a new thread as me but it just kept taking me back to an old one??? So here I am in disguise ;)

Yesterday - two green kitties!

Purrdy - S/Sheet
AMPS 198 +3 137 +6 139
PMPS 302 +3 103 :cool: +4 85 :D +4.5 79 :D +5.25 85 :D +6 70 :D +7 65 :D +8 63 :D

Big troubles with Purrdy poops last night, poor boy was straining and going from lb to lb for over an hour. He wouldn't let mum at him with the oiled q tip but he did allow some Zener massage which resolved the issue after a bit. He'll be getting coconut oil and pumpkin for at least the next few days! Champion effort from mum last night :D:D:D

QU: He looks like he has suddenly got with the program with no sign of a bounce this morning. I am wondering what this means for the growth hormone test which he is due to have tomorrow. Does this mean, if he is acro, that the tumour is taking a bit of a rest on spitting out the growth hormones, i.e. are we likely to get a false negative? Should we delay the test until his numbers turn bad again? It's pretty expensive so we don't want to be throwing that money away for nothing! @Wendy&Neko @julie & punkin (ga) or anyone else that might know.

Vyktor - S/Sheet
AMPS 162 +3 79 :D +4.5 47 (3/3) :D:D +5.25 74 :D +6 86 :D +8 149 :D
PMPS 131 +2 97 :D +3.5 103 :cool: +5 119 :cool:

After he'd earned his reduction yesterday his appy petered off so it ended up being a pretty poor eating day. He is due for poop today and is already quite agitated - pacing around and yowling. He's also fallen out of bed again - just as I told him that I thought he was lying to close to the edge - he does not land on his feet! But he's still purring :)
 
Last edited:
Poor Vyktor and Purrdy. I'm glad Vyktor was still purring. I hope he gets his poop out. I hope Purrdy's test gives you some answers whenever you get it done.
 
Lovely numbers for Purrdy!:D:cool: Glad the poop issue resolved.....he must have been very uncomfortable poor boy.
Poor Vyktor falling out of bed! How high up is the bed? Hope he manages to get his poop out successfully
 
With acro, the IGF-1 doesn't go up and down when the hormone output goes up and down. So no, I don't think you could get a false positive. He is looking pretty good though - mum is doing a great job of controlling his blood sugar! I'd hold at the 8.5u a little longer.

Is he also being tested for insulin auto-antibodies? IAA? I think it would be important to do that test as well. Here in the US it's an inexpensive test ($16 ish) so well worth doing.

Poor Vyktor - i hope he can work things out. No fun.
 
Poor Vyktor! Sasha is always courting danger by lying at the edge of the bed or a stool, with her head hanging over the edge. I've caught her a few times, but there have been some when I wasn't fast enough and SPLAT! It upsets me a lot more than it does her, though.

I'm sure Purrdy is quite confused. You've been begging him for better numbers, and now that he gives them, you're not so happy! o_O There's just no pleasing some beans! :rolleyes:

Sending poo vines for Vyktor, or maybe I should say poo in the box vines! Just to be safe. ;)
 
Poo, Vyktor. Poo. Eat, Vyktor, Eat. Oh, and don't settle so close to the edge of the bed. OK?

Yes, champion effort by his mum to help Purrdy get going. Poor boy. Hope the blues and greens become the norm!

Marilyn and Polly
 
It's amazing how close the two boys started this morning. :cool: Paws crossed for a green duet again.

The pituitary tumour outputs excess growth hormone and that is what causes the diabetes, and the growth hormone output can fluctuate. And there are no commercially available GH assays for felines at this time. The liver produces IGF-1 in response to the GH and that is a better indicator. It is possible to get a false negative for IGF-1 on cats that are newly diagnosed and have just started insulin. But that doesn't describe Purrdy.

Good job by your mum on getting Purrdy going again. Megacolon is a possible side effect of acromegaly, something to keep an eye on.
 
So many vines for Purrdy's vetty visit tomorrow! I was having the same issue with kitty last week. She earned two reductions right before her vetty visit... and now look at her. Pinks! ::sigh::

Congrats on Vyktor's reducie! I hope it holds :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top