10/19 Nika AMPS 286 - My cat had a rough last week.

dov

Member Since 2026
My previous post.

Hello everyone,

My cat just had a rough last week, she's still very stressed from the two visits to a vet clinic. She's eating very little and hiding a lot. I think long commute hours to the clinic played a big factor in that. I took her to a vet clinic on Oct 13 because she started urinating outside the litter box. I had to leave her in a clinic for 2 hours because her bladder was empty, when the vet looked at the urine sample under a microscope, he told me he didn't find anything wrong. He noted to me that her glucose is extremely high and she has slightly elevated pH levels, and then he talked about the diet and asked me if I am feeding her prescription food formulated specifically for diabetic cats. Also during the visit I told him about my cat inflamed gums, she got her tooth extracted and cleaned on Sep 21, he told me to give it some more time to heal and if it doesnt go away she might need antibiotics.

Unfortunately, after the visit, she started eating less each day; before the visit, apart from those 2 - 3 times when she urinated outside a litter box, she didn't have any symptoms and was eating very well. That's when on Oct16 I decided to take her to a different vet clinic for a second opinion; they screened her organs and did a full lab blood work, including urine analysis with culture. I was told her organs were fine as well as her blood work (except glucose).

She's currently using her litter box normally, so far she hasn't peed outside of it. She got prescribed antibiotics for her inflamed gums. The vet told me if that doesn't make the inflammation go away, she will need an X-ray done and might need more extractions. (The previous clinic didn't do dental X-Ray before or aftter extractions).

Since she's eating far less than usual, I have placed TR protocol on a hold, hopefully she will go back to normal eating soon. I have lab work included in my spreadsheet as well in case someone wants to take a look.
 
Can you tell me what brand/type of food she's eating now - when she does eat that is. Some cats get tired of the DM food if that is what you are feeding. You don't need to feed prescription food, there are many other good choices commercially available. Did you see this link: UK Cat Food List. There are many foods on that list available in Europe or on line.

Some antibiotics are really hard on the cat's tummy as it destroys the good flora as well. What is the name of the one you are giving? You may need to give a probiotic as well, a couple hours apart from the antibiotic.

Does it look like she's having difficulty eating when she does eat? If you touch one side or the other of the jaw, does she make a noise? Just wondering if needing a dental means her mouth is hurting so reluctant to eat.

We find that Lantus dose best when you are consistent with the dosing. We don't change doses based on the preshot value. If you are finding it too hard to shoot the full dose consistently, maybe you should lower the dose to 0.75 units.
 
  • Like
Reactions: dov
Answering to @Wendy&Neko

​

Can you tell me what brand/type of food she's eating now
She's currently rotating between Miamor Pastete, Animonda Vom Feinsten "mousse", ocassionally Animonda Vom Feinsten, kitten "baby pate" since it's available locally for me. She likes plain boiled chicken too.

when she does eat that
I am feeding her small meals after first shot, then at +3, +6, +9.

Did you see this link: UK Cat Food List. There are many foods on that list available in Europe or on line.
Yes, this is where I choose my food from.

Some antibiotics are really hard on the cat's tummy as it destroys the good flora as well. What is the name of the one you are giving?
I just got a prescription today, I still haven't given antibiotics to my cat yet. Name of antibiotics - Cladaxxa 40mg/10mg.

Does it look like she's having difficulty eating when she does eat? If you touch one side or the other of the jaw, does she make a noise? Just wondering if needing a dental means her mouth is hurting so reluctant to eat.
Before extractions she used to shake her head while eating and occasionally food would fall out of her mouth, but it doesn't happen anymore. And I touched the jaw she doesn't mind and doesnt make any noise.

We find that Lantus dose best when you are consistent with the dosing. We don't change doses based on the preshot value. If you are finding it too hard to shoot the full dose consistently, maybe you should lower the dose to 0.75 units
Yeah I was thinking exactly that. I think I will cut the dose to 0.75 tomorrow, once she starts eating normally again, I will up it to 1u again.

And like I said in my main post, she had a good appetite and ate all the meals before the vet visit on Oct 13. I'm not sure if it's coincidence or not that she stopped being interested in food after the visit.
 
Last edited:
I am feeding her small meals after first shot, then at +3, +6, +9.
Could you try removing that +9 meal? Feeding after nadir can slow the insulin action and cause loss of duration. Meaning the preshots will be higher.

Do you have a way of measuring her weight? Would be good to know if she is losing weight, or just not needing as much food.

Cladaxxa 40mg/10mg.
Definitely consider adding a probiotic. A lot of cats get upset tummy with this one.
 
Could you try removing that +9 meal? Feeding after nadir can slow the insulin action and cause loss of duration. Meaning the preshots will be higher.

Do you have a way of measuring her weight? Would be good to know if she is losing weight, or just not needing as much food.
I don't have scales for animals, but I do have digital luggage scale, perhaps that could work.

And to clarify after +6 meal, I should give her nothing until a shot? Assuming that's the case then its quite a long time until she gets her next meal, maybe I can add some boiled chicken?

Definitely consider adding a probiotic. A lot of cats get upset tummy with this one.
I will. Thank you.
 
Just a little update;

She refused to eat her meal this morning she just sniffed the food and went hiding, at this point I am open feeding her. I am also not giving her antibiotics on an empty stomach. Not sure what I am supposed to do at this point, she did finish her meal yesterday after a second shot so I thought she was getting better.
 
Just a little update;

She refused to eat her meal this morning she just sniffed the food and went hiding, at this point I am open feeding her. I am also not giving her antibiotics on an empty stomach. Not sure what I am supposed to do at this point, she did finish her meal yesterday after a second shot so I thought she was getting better.
It sounds like she is nauseous if she’s sniffing food and walking away.
Do you have ondansetron or Cerenia? They can both help with nausea, which needs to be addressed. (Both prescription medications, ondansetron is a human medication and you can get at any pharmacy, or from your vet too).

Also, Mirataz is a transdermal medication that can be rubbed on their ear to stimulate appetite (it also comes as a pill if needed, but the transdermal is more common and easy to administer).
Has she ever had pancreatitis? That can also cause them to be not willing to eat. How are her stools, are they normal or loose or is she constipated? These can all be signs of pancreatitis with not eating.

As far as weighing her, if you have a regular human scale, you can weigh yourself with her and then just weigh yourself and subtract the difference to get her weight.

If needed for eating, do you have a feeding syringe? (With no needle) that can be helpful to keep on hand in case you need to gently try to give her some food. It’s important to keep her eating.

You could also try jarred baby food, plain meat with no additives (no garlic or onions).

I hope she feels better soon 🙏
 
  • Like
Reactions: dov
It sounds like she is nauseous if she’s sniffing food and walking away.
Do you have ondansetron or Cerenia? They can both help with nausea, which needs to be addressed. (Both prescription medications, ondansetron is a human medication and you can get at any pharmacy, or from your vet too).

I don't have ondansetron or Cerenia, but I can try getting ondansetron from local pharmacy. I am not sure about Cerenia but my local vet pharmacy didn't have it. Same with Mirataz.
Has she ever had pancreatitis? That can also cause them to be not willing to eat. How are her stools, are they normal or loose or is she constipated? These can all be signs of pancreatitis with not eating.

She was never diagnosed with pancreatitis, but I looked at my recent cat blood test, and fPLI was not included, although they did screen her organs with ultrasound. As far as her stools are concerned, it looks normal.


As far as weighing her, if you have a regular human scale, you can weigh yourself with her and then just weigh yourself and subtract the difference to get her weight.

If needed for eating, do you have a feeding syringe? (With no needle) that can be helpful to keep on hand in case you need to gently try to give her some food. It’s important to keep her eating.

You could also try jarred baby food, plain meat with no additives (no garlic or onions).
I have syringe with food prepared yes. She did eat some food in the middle of the day, while I wasn't home. The problem she's just so scared of everything lately. As soon as she hears me putting my shoes and jacket on, she immediately goes hiding, she probably thinks I am taking her to a vet again ://


I hope she feels better soon 🙏

Thank you.
 
Back
Top