10/19 Basic amps 403 +2 333 +4 299 +6 280

Basic's Mom

Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...nly-100-not-eating-again.282678/#post-3115345

I gave him another ondansetron at 2 am and then continued them this morning and will continue to do so. He was only getting 4 mg every 12 hours initially. I had her change his prescription according to this response.
Ondansetron dosing is 0.5-1.0 mg/kg of cat, every 6-8 hours. 23 lbs is a little over 10 kg, he can get 5-10 mg every 6-8 hours.
. I have been given him 10 mg every 8 (6 if needed) and it seems to help. I told his Dr to change his dosage according to the dosing of the medicine he should be getting more than 4mg every 12. Med dosage is every 6-8 hours, not 12. I see on his bottle it say 4 mg every 8 now. 4mg is not enough for a cat his size. I will continue to give the 10mg as needed, but I don't want him constipated and I've read ondansetron can cause that. Last thing he needs is another problem. Advice would be appreciated about preventing constipation. Also, please let me know if I'm doing the right thing by giving him the 10mg every 8 hours.

I'm doing his curve today. I couldnt go out of town knowing he isnt eating great again. It has been 6 days in this dose with no real improvements. Any low numbers seen on his SS are from him not consuming the calories he needs. He will need an increase this evening. His new dose will be 2.25 u every 12 hours. Please let me know if this is okay to move forward this evening with the increase provided nothing silly happens with his numbers today.

He has eaten a little better this morning than yesterday.

Thanks in advance for your help.
 
You skipped last night so even with TR you would not increase. Had you shot I bet he would have dropped under 90 and earned a reduction. Dosing is based on the numbers you see and not whether or not they eat.
 
You skipped last night so even with TR you would not increase. Had you shot I bet he would have dropped under 90 and earned a reduction. Dosing is based on the numbers you see and not whether or not they eat.
Okay. So, don't continue the curve today and start curve over tomorrow?
Thank you for responding before his pm dose.
 
A couple things you can add to his food to make him more regular are psyllium husk fibre, or pumpkin. Some cats don't like pumpkin but like the alternative baby food squash. Also make sure he's getting plenty of fluids.

And of course there's a site for that: https://felineconstipation.org/
 
Okay. So, don't continue the curve today and start curve over tomorrow?
Thank you for responding before his pm dose.

mix give it at least a few days before doing a curve. A skip depletes the depot at least some.
 
A couple things you can add to his food to make him more regular are psyllium husk fibre, or pumpkin. Some cats don't like pumpkin but like the alternative baby food squash. Also make sure he's getting plenty of fluids.

And of course there's a site for that: https://felineconstipation.org/
Thank you for the info. He is pretty picky with stuff. I'll get some fibre you mention, try some pumpkin or squash (I'll make sure there isn't anything back in either before giving).

He is drinking water. I tried adding some in his food, but he refused it when i did that this time around.

Thanks for the link to the site too.
 
mix give it at least a few days before doing a curve. A skip depletes the depot at least some.
Little worried about his numbers if I wait a few more days. He has been on this dose for 12 cycles with no real improvement. I'll do as you say though.
 
Also, please let me know if I'm doing the right thing by giving him the 10mg every 8 hours.
*CORRECTION*
His ondansetron is only 8mg. I'm giving him the whole pill every 8 hours, instead of 4mg every 8, which is what his prescription is for. Should I ask for 10mg? I already explained this once and the dosing for the med. She only changed the frequency from every 12 hours to every 8, but did not change mg.
 
Little worried about his numbers if I wait a few more days. He has been on this dose for 12 cycles with no real improvement.
He got down to 100 last night at PMPS and possibly would have gone lower if you had shot. I'd call that great improvement! Remember, with SLGS, you want a dose where they don't go below 90. He was pretty close yesterday. Today is a combination of bounce and missing the shot. Those high numbers will pass as the depot rebuilds and bounce clears. Time for patience pants.
 
He got down to 100 last night at PMPS and possibly would have gone lower if you had shot. I'd call that great improvement! Remember, with SLGS, you want a dose where they don't go below 90. He was pretty close yesterday. Today is a combination of bounce and missing the shot. Those high numbers will pass as the depot rebuilds and bounce clears. Time for patience pants.
They are on. They are on. Thank you for the reminder. Hahaha.

Did you see my message about the ondansetron only being an 8 mg pill? My question? Should I get a higher mg when I get a refill? Asking because I can't accurately take 2 mg from another pill. He is currently getting 8mg every 8 hours. He has almost caught up to his entire caloric intake from this medicine.

Thanks for helping me. We both appreciate it.
 
If 8 mg is working, I would stick with that. I have a pill cutter I got from the pharmacy that is pretty good at cutting pills in half. My current kitty gets a 2 mg dose that I cut from a 4 mg pill.
 
If 8 mg is working, I would stick with that. I have a pill cutter I got from the pharmacy that is pretty good at cutting pills in half. My current kitty gets a 2 mg dose that I cut from a 4 mg pill.
Dose is working. Makes sense. I have a pill cutter also, but it would be hard to quart that pill because of its shape.

Thanks
 
Back
Top