10/18 Misty AMPS 124 +7 47 PMPS 58 dose?

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-17-misty-amps-306-6-202-pmps-79-dose.269729/

I didn’t get a reply to my previous post in which I feared Misty would go low when I wasn’t around and today she did.

I think she’s getting lower and lower. I know she has not earned a dose reduction yet, but I am scared. Does she get a dose reduction if it’s two light greens or is it three?

thanks
@Bron and Sheba (GA) are you ok?
Hi Rowena. . @Bandit's Mom and @tiffmaxee are who I heavily rely on for dosing advice. Bhooma might be around now. Elise is on the west coast USA so will probably be around later. I'm no expert but that 47 definitely earned a dose reduction
 
Here is the excerpt from the stickies
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.


Are you following Tight Regulation or Start Low Go SLow?
 
Here is the excerpt from the stickies
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.


Are you following Tight Regulation or Start Low Go SLow?
Thanks. I am attempting TR. I cannot test that frequently. My cat is difficult. I will do what I can. I just tested her and it was a battle.
Shall I reduce the dose in the AM?
 
Thanks. I am attempting TR. I cannot test that frequently. My cat is difficult. I will do what I can. I just tested her and it was a battle.
Shall I reduce the dose in the AM?
I remember reading your prior posts and the difficulty in testing Misty. By your spreadsheet, you're doing a great job getting in those tests. :bighug:
Per TR, you reduce by .25 every time the BG falls under 50 for a newly diagnosed diabetic, 3 times under 40 for a diabetic over 1 year since diagnosis, or 1 time under 40. I would wait for someone with more experience than I to advise on whether or not to reduce.
Hopefully either Bhooma or Elise will answer whether to reduce in the AM before your shoot time.
 
To earn a reduction for a long term diabetic it’s three times under 50 on three different days for those that don’t hold reductions or one time under 40 for those that do hold reductions. So one more time in the 40’s would earn a reduction. You hold the syringe soif you feel you want to reduce sooner and feel it’s necessary for safety then reduce.
 
Last edited:
To earn a reduction for a long term diabetic it’s three times under 50 on three different days for those that don’t hold reductions or one time under 40 for those that do hold reductions. So one more time in the 40’s would earn a reduction. You hold the syringe soif you feel you want to reduce sooner and feel it’s necessary for safety then reduce.
I’m not sure what you mean by “don’t hold reductions” but I’ll see how she goes today. She may bounce up. Thank you
 
Holding a reduction means that the cat sees green again on the new lower dose. Not holding the reduction means that you have to keep increasing the dose back up, after you've done a reduction.
 
Back
Top