10/18, Kahlua, PMPS=285, +2=297

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Kahluasmom, Oct 18, 2021.

1. Kahluasmom

Kahluasmom Well-Known Member

This is my first time. Excited and terrified! 1 unit...

FrostD likes this.
  2. Bandit's Mom

Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

Hi Maria!

Welcome to the Lantus forum. :) Good luck with Lantus!

You needn't mention the Lantus dose in your signature since it is bound to change.

Were you able to go through our dosing protocols and pick one? If Kahlua is only eating LC wet food and you can get at least 4 tests per day (2 preshots and 2 midcycle), you may want to follow TR. It is a more aggressive protocol but will get Kahlua to a good dose sooner.

Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

Link to your previous posts on the Main/Health forum:
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/starting-insulin-tomorrow.254360/
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/intro-and-questions.254177/

3. Kahluasmom

Yes, I did read them all. Sadly my memory is awful. I'm planning on TR since I'm home most of the time. What time should I recheck her? I was thinking every 2 hours. When do I stop rechecks? During the day it's no big deal. But at night...

4. Bandit's Mom

It will take the Lantus depot a week to build. With Lantus the onset (or when the insulin starts working) is usually around +2 (2 hours after the shot). For some cats it can be later and other it can be earlier. The idea is to understand how Kahlua responds to insulin - when does it onset and when does it peak (her numbers nadir)?

We like to suggest getting a +2 because it can act like a crystal ball of what the cycle is going to look like.
    • If the +2 is about the same as the PS, it's usually going to be a pretty normal cycle....gradually down to nadir and then gradually back up to the next PS.