10/17PowdersPMPS334+2 264

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy&Powder

Member Since 2010
Yesterdays condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27540

WCR Powder is having a typical day. All of his P's in place. I've added a P for him pestering :lol: So he has pee, poo and pestering since preening and playing aren't in his repertoire. He is so the Prince demanding me to do anything with his food when I'm in the kitchen which is his throne room. "Heap the spread out food into a pile." " Now put something else on it. "Better yet how about opening a whole new can just to see if it appeals to me." Funny how our little ones have us under their power. He really likes the Whiskas lc gourmet varieties like KIng Crab and Filet MIgnon. I've started putting some slightly mixed in on top of the other lc foods that he suddenly snubs hoping for the gravy foods. These varieties make him think he's getting gravy ;-)

Again today he has jumped down off that third floor and I hope he decides to visit all the kitties on the first floor. I'm not very experienced in this but it would appear as though scruff shots are better for him at this point. I'm reposting from last night's posting "Shooting the scruff shots has definitely stopped the very low numbers and trying to jockey between miniscule doses. Interesting looking at his SS still seems to have nadir +3-+5. But I noticed that his BG came down some so close to next shot. Is that due to the scruff shot or is his pancreas waking up a bit?
Since I'm coming up on dose 6 any ideas on staying with the scruff shots and going up on the dose soon?OR ...go back to flank shots and decreasing without stable BGs? Your experience is appreciated."
I'm leaning towards staying wiith the scruff but as I have stated experienced thoughts are welcomed.

There are some pretty tired Beans and probably Sugarcats in LL today after all the excitement yesterday :mrgreen: I'm hoping that the greens today allow for some recreational surfing not the required reactionary sport of --- greens. :!:
 
Re: 10/17PowdersAMPS356+4 118

Many people shoot the scruff and if that is working for you, then I would continue with it. Some kitties do dip before preshot...just keep documenting that and see if others have anything to say about that.
So, I do believe that after the dental you will start seeing some nicer numbers. Is it still scheduled for the 19th?
Did your vet give you information about what they would like you to do?
 
Re: 10/17PowdersAMPS356+4 118

Nice +4! I hope Powder can surf well today.

And good luck with the upcoming dental. it should make a difference in the numbers.
 
Re: 10/17PowdersAMPS356+4 118+5.5 53

Just gave him a tsp of Whiskas Filet Mignon hope to keep him up a little. What a brat he is :twisted: If he really wanted that I would have given it to him. He didn't have to do this :lol: He is fine so I'll keep an eye on him.
 
Re: 10/17PowdersAMPS356+4 118+5.5 53

Nice green, Powder!

I normally shoot in the flank, but J.D. is different. When we were using Lantus and J.D. would dive bomb, I would sometimes to switch to the scruff for slower absorption.

I hope J.D. doesn't read that Whiskas makes a lc gourmet KIng Crab and Filet MIgnon. Those are his favorite foods!

See you at +6?
 
Re: 10/17PowdersAMPS356+4 118+5.5 53+6 59

He's surfing like such an athlete :mrgreen: I'm so proud of him. I've given tsps of Whiskas and ran out to local market to buy more so I could keep enticing him in case this goes on for awhile. No King crab but had albacore and filet so he'll have to tough it out. :lol:

I read all the info from the link Sienne sent which was so helpful and then I pumped the tech as to what they use and what they do. They don't use gas at all only Propofol so they don't go under too deep. They give what they need to just keep them under. I feel good about that because that's what the anesthesia was in the pain clinic when I worked there. It was so easy for folks to wake up and be good. They have someone just watching Powder and taking care of that not an anesthesiologist 't give but trained tech. They use monitors and warming device but not warm air. They don't block or give pain meds before but I'm going to ask him to block if he pulls teeth even if I have to pay extra. They don't give Metacam for pain I think she said Buperione. He doesn't want him to have anything to eat after 4 am and no lantus. I wasn't happy about that before but after today I'd rather he stay up a little so he doesn't give him glucose. I can ask him not to but if he felt it was emergent I'm sure he would.He wants to do a chest x-ray any ideas as to whether this is that important? I would think abdomen would be more important but then I'm not a vet. He hasn't had any abnormalities with his heart rat or respiratory rate that he has mentioned but he may think its a good idea 'cause he's out already. I questioned so much and do not follow his advice on FD treatment I don't want to antagonize him so much that he won't work with me. Any and all hypothesis are welcomed. Got to check the boy :-D
 
Re: 10/17PowdersAMPS356+4 118+5.5 53+6 59

Nice
00002042.gif
Powder!
 
Re: 10/17PowdersAMPS356+4 118+5.5 53+6 59

Dyan that is such a cute surfin dude :-D I have seen so many neat pix and such on this Board. Some very clever Beans are here. Tena I think all the wishing of everyone worked along with the lc food flip_cat It's around his nadir but this has been a healthy surf so I hope it can continue awhile but if not maybe hewon't bounce high as in the past. BEHAVE MR. LIVER.
 
Re: 10/17PowdersAMPS356+4 118+5.5 53+6 59+7 91

Hi Kathy, thank you for visiting our condo. I have always admired Powder in other condos. I think he's just beautiful. :-D ....and he's the boss of the dogs....my kind of cat. :lol:
Last summer I went to SPCA looking for a white cat. Found a perfect white longhaired kitten.
Lady pulled me away, to look at scroungy, grungy, dirty, one-eyed, sewed up, shaved, smelly little greyish thing. He tucked his little head under my chin, and I was a goner. This is my civvie, Clancy, the most loving, beautiful, longhair.
 
Re: 10/17PowdersAMPS356+4 118+5.5 53+6 59+7 91+8170

Drats Powder fell off his surf board and he lost it :sad: He wants all the rest of you surfin cats to keep on going. Now I can hopefully get a project going.
 
Re: 10/17PowdersAMPS356+4 118+5.5 53+6 59+7 91+8170

Kathy

Great job for Powder today...he didn't go up too far..still blue!!

Be absolutely sure your vet does not use metacam with him...METACAM KILLS CATS!! I have all my cats' charts marked with "NO METACAM". It is typical to use
buprenex after a dental esp if they have any extractions. Hope that all goes great for him.

You are such a great person to be checking in on everyone...I love your cheery posts!! Thank you so much!! (((Powder)))
 
Re: 10/17PowdersAMPS356+4 118+5.5 53+6 59+7 91+8170

Kathie, I've never had x-rays before dentals. I mean other than mouth. I'd be curious to know why that's done.
My clinic always gives Metacam after extractions, doses diminishing as the days go by. I asked once and the doc explained my fears away, but I'm not convinced anymore. I've never had a problem, but don't want to chance it.
That Whiskas sounds like something Checks would love. We don't get it around here.
Powder's surfing beautifully today. :-D

oh, you added the last number after I posted. It's blue, so still beautiful. :-D
 
Re: 10/17PowdersAMPS356+4 118+5.5 53+6 59+7 91+8170

Nice numbers Kathy! Even though he went up, it's still blue and not bad! I bet Powder won't be too startled by the autofeeder, since he's already used to his noisy litterbox! :lol:
 
Re: 10/17PowdersAMPS356+4 118+5.5 53+6 59Dose ?

I have a dose question. I'm thinking he may have earned a dosecrease today going by the protocol. Should I leave Powder where he is at? Would it make a difference with his Dental on Tuesday? What do you think?
 
Re: 10/17PowdersAMPS356+4 118+5.5 53+6 59+7 91+8 170DOSE ?

Did he go <50 Kathy? I don't see that on the SS....technically, it's <50 when they earn a dosecrease.
Nice job today!
I have never heard of a chest xray during a dental, although if there are issues, it's as good a time as any while they are asleep, yes....by why does he want a chest xray? If he can't come up with a good reason, then I don't see why you would need one....see what others say about that.
Bupe is good...oh, and ask if they give any antibiotics after the dental...
The Convenia shot that lasts 2 weeks is not recommended...
better to get an oral ABs like Calvamox.
Good to take Fortiflora 4 hours after giving the ABs too....you can order it online...a probitotic to replace the friendly bacteria that the ABs wipe out along with the bad ones...

Most people don't give insulin the morning of the dental. And when you come home, see how he is and only give a little bit of food at a time...they might give you instructions about that...
 
Re: 10/17PowdersAMPS356+4 118+5.5 53+6 59+7 91+8 170DOSE ?

Thanks Pat. I guess I figured I may have missed it considering he's jumped up so fast. 357 at +11 checked after post. I'm fine keeping things as they are just wanted to make sure. I guess I need reassurance still that I'm staying the course :?

I'm glad I'm not the only one who thought the x=ray odd. Mouth I could get no problem. I have a dilemma when it comes to ab. Powder is extremely resistant to taking them. I was just giving Baytril (liver flavored) he reacted violently to it when I pilled him (he wouldn't chew it). Ropes of saliva came streaming down his neck. The liquid Clavamox goes flying but I think this time I may ask for the pills and try to coat them somehow and push them then feed him so I know they go down. Is there a problem with the Convenia 'cause he had that for his UTI last month? Glad to know you agree with vet's insulin advice. I'll bring his food just in case they feed.

BTW Shadow has done great today. It was wonderful seeing all that green today. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/17PowdersPMPS334

"Powder" is such a great name for your sweetie pie. Looks like he's bouncing from the greens so if you do reduce you might want to wait until the bounce clears. Oh, many cats have lower BGs following anesthesia so be prepared for that. Nice that he can eat until 4 AM, KB had to fast longer when he had his last dental.

Be sure they call you right away when his procedure is finished so you can post here - LL-ers will be waiting and watching over you.
 
Re: 10/17PowdersPMPS334

Kathy--After Moonie's 2 dentals & Civvie Copper's dental 3 weeks ago--This is what I would tell you--
Ask for Buprenex for pain during & after the dental..It is excellent & all it is is a little liquid in a small food syringe in the cheek--Even my wild man civvie let me do it.
My cats had Isoflorene gas during the surgery and had: Heart monitors, BP monitor, all vitals monitored.
Both cats took antibiotics before the dentals(both Needed extractions) and after--I used the Greenies pill pockets for pilling-The Best product ever!
Moonie spewed the Clavamox all over the house Exorcist style, but Copper- he loved the pill pockets & I started giving him the pockets before I even got the Clavamox, so he got used to them(thought it was a treat :lol: )
There is a post Jill had compiled on the board here--I will look for it for you..The dentals are scary for us, but the Best things for them.
Be back when I find it! I really think the dental will help sweet Powder!!
 
Re: 10/17PowdersPMPS334

There is a more updated one but here is the link to Moonie's first dental
Posted by: Roni & Moonie (IP Logged)
Date: December 8, 2009 10:07AM

Here It IS:
1). pre-dental antiobiotic - clindamyacin (begin 5 days prior to dental)
2). have pre-dental x-rays done.
3). have bloodwork done.
4). monitor blood pressure with doppler machine.
5). monitor heart rate.
6). IV fluids - only if needed. place an IV cath prior to procedure so there is quick veinous access, but don't need fluids unless kidneys are compromised.
7). anesthesia - Isoflurane? or sevo? either of these are good choices.
8). do you administer pain meds during the dental and after? would like buprenex if there are extractions.
9). post dental antiobiotics - administer clindamyacin for 5 days post-dental. do not give 14 day covenia shot.
10). use fortiflora (probiotic) while on antibiotics.
11). perform post dental x-rays to make sure nothing was missed.

vet told me to fast her for 8 hours before the procedure. water was allowed. give full dose of insulin the night before... half dose or skip shot in the morning (depending on her numbers). she's on levemir. instructions for kitties on vetsulin may be different. instructions may also vary from one vet to another.

in case no one has mentioned it, the anesthesia can have a blood glucose lowering effect after the dental for some cats. you may opt for a reduced PM dose after the dental just in case shadow is one of these kitties. be sure to monitor that night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top