Biggietoms
Member Since 2021
Bear was recently diagnosed. He tested tonight at 148. Should I give him a shot or skip it?
Ok give it about 10 more minutes for Chris to chime in. If she doesn't, I'd go 0.25U (to the best of your ability to eyeball on the syringe), catch a +2 and post here. I should still be around
Shoot at 0.25U. It likely isn't enough and he'll probably go into higher numbers, but I believe safest option right now. It'll get easier to decide once you have more data.Cut dose by .25u or shoot at .25?
Sorry....went to feed the cat and noticed the dishes in the sink.
Glad you went with the token dose...when you get a little more data and experience under your belt, you could start to shoot anything over 150 (the scheduled dose). 148 would be close enough....of course with the caveat that you have plenty of test strips, medium and high carb food, Karo/honey/syrup and the ability to test as long as might be necessary.
It's been +2 and bears at 89. should I test again in an hour?
So a normal dose in this situation would have been ok?
That's quite unexpected with the .25 dose.
Go ahead and feed him a couple teaspoons of his regular low carb food and test again in 30 minutes. Want to see if that slows down how quickly he's dropping
As I said....once you have more data and experience! 3 days worth of data isn't enough to shoot lower Pre-shots but later on, when you have a better idea of how Bear reacts to both food and insulin and understand what his usual onset time is, when his usual nadir is, what kind of duration he usually gets....these are all things you learn with experience and lots of testing data.
Has anything been different today? Different food? Not eating as much?
Aw come on Bear! No shenanigans allowed tonight.
To add to what Chris said - it's generally better to give some insulin vs none (but not always... sometimes it is better to skip).
Ideally, you would have stalled for 20 mins without feeding (don't worry, nearly everyone makes that mistake the first time). We want to see if he was rising on his own without food. If he was, then pretty safe bet to shoot something on the higher side (half to full dose). Since he had already eaten and you can't be too far off schedule, no way of knowing. So based on the data you do have, I went with what I thought was pretty conservative 0.25U. Had you shot the full 1U we'd be having a pretty interesting night.
It's possible the last few cycles were bounces, and he's breaking that bounce throughout the day and heading into PMPS. Right now a bit hard to say if 1U overall is too much, tonight will tell.
Per the more conservative ProZinc dosing method, your new dose (effective tomorrow AM) would be 0.75U because he dropped below 90. But let's see what happens tonight and if we might want to consider lower than that.
He was caught walking out of the Pantry with a load of bread.
Bad kitty!!
I finally had to start putting all bread products in my microwave. I tried my oven first, but then I forgot they were in there and was baking a cake so I pre-heated the oven. Needless to say, you only make that mistake once! At least with the microwave, you have to open the door to put whatever you want to heat into it before you turn it on.![]()
Hi Tom I just had to laugh, I wish I could have seen thatHe was caught walking out of the Pantry with a loaf of bread

Hmm. Borderline. We usually don't give MC til into 50s/60s, but we also don't know when his nadir is.He's at 74....

@Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom are either of you around yet? Getting close to bedtime here and I don't want to leave Tom without assistance
It's a bit of a free for all. Some of us are on pretty much every day, some a few times a week. Lately I've been hit or miss, but I do check in if there's someone I've been helping/active conversations. Bron and Bhooma are Australia/India, and are usually the ones helping people at night US time.Do you guys pull shifts?
Do you guys pull shifts?
Can you do me a favor and change the thread title to "10/17 - Newly Diagnosed Bear - PMPS 148, +2 89, +3 74"? That will help those scanning the board to know to keep an eye out when they see that number trend
About time for another test?
Ok good. MC was probably a little much then but that's ok. No food, test again in about 45 mins, catch a nap if needed.Hes at 106.
Ok good. MC was probably a little much then but that's ok. No food, test again in about 45 mins, catch a nap if needed.
So for the AM dose, since you can't be home here are my thoughts. As we say "you hold the syringe" so by all means do what you're comfortable with, I probably won't be around at your shot time. Tonight's trend was a little unusual, so want to be careful.
Remember insulin is a hormone, it doesn't work the same way every time. So even though it dropped him 75+ points or 50% even with food tonight, it may not do the same tomorrow, or any other cycle. We just want to get to a point where you have enough data to see trends, and hopefully keep him above 90 for now so we have a buffer.
If he's above 185, I would stick with 0.25U. And try to hold that for a few days to see how he really does at that dose, provided it's safe to shoot, you can keep an eye on him, etc.
If he's below, I would stall for 20 mins without feeding if you can. If he goes above 185 with that stall, then I'd lean towards 0.25U. If you can't stall and/or he's under, I would skip.
I believe you said you can get a +2 before you leave the house, I would do that. Try to get him to eat a little LC before you leave. But if he's below 90, which I absolutely do not expect using 185 as cutoff, I'd leave 1-2 tsp MC
I do have to head to bed, I think you're out of the troublesome part.
I'll set an alarm for an hour just to check on you.
Gotcha about the +2, no worries. You may want to consider 200 as the shoot/no shoot cutoff for now then. Up to you.
@Biggietoms I’m just popping in to say hi and that you’re doing a good job tonight! Bear is definitely keeping you busy!I know you're overwhelmed with information, but for later reference - I'll tag @Hshray as a perfect example of learning to shoot lower and lower over time on ProZinc. Hopefully she'll stop by and you can see her spreadsheet (she's since switched to Lantus).
Thank youLooks like you're over it and it'll be safe for you to sleep!
Good job tonight!
So for the AM dose, since you can't be home here are my thoughts. As we say "you hold the syringe" so by all means do what you're comfortable with, I probably won't be around at your shot time. Tonight's trend was a little unusual, so want to be careful.
Remember insulin is a hormone, it doesn't work the same way every time. So even though it dropped him 75+ points or 50% even with food tonight, it may not do the same tomorrow, or any other cycle. We just want to get to a point where you have enough data to see trends, and hopefully keep him above 90 for now so we have a buffer.
If he's above 185, I would stick with 0.25U. And try to hold that for a few days to see how he really does at that dose, provided it's safe to shoot, you can keep an eye on him, etc.
If he's below, I would stall for 20 mins without feeding if you can. If he goes above 185 with that stall, then I'd lean towards 0.25U. If you can't stall and/or he's under, I would skip.
I believe you said you can get a +2 before you leave the house, I would do that. Try to get him to eat a little LC before you leave. But if he's below 90, which I absolutely do not expect using 185 as cutoff, I'd leave 1-2 tsp MC