10/17 Crowley || AMPS 53 +.5 109 +1 132 +2 231

Liz & Crowley

Member Since 2026
Yesterday (or, earlier today....)

Hah hah, early (or late, it's late Friday night for me because I don't consider the day changed until I go to bed) condo today because we have had a day's worth of excitement already :arghh:

Crowley spent his whole last PM cycle going down, and at his AMPS, he was at 53 which made me REAL nervous!! He was also ravenous; when I was putting the food in the feeder, I had to (gently) shove him back away from the feeder, which is something I haven't had to do since we started insulin. Which was good because I wasn't worried about getting carbs into him.

Once he was done chowing down (and gods he was STARVING you would think I did not feed him all day), I pulled him up into my lap to give him some karo syrup. 53 and the fact he spent all day falling despite eating well really worried me, and I figured I wanted my first time administering karo to be when he wasn't in the MIDDLE of a crisis and having symptoms. I do think I want to get a feeding syringe because he did NOT like the karo lol.

I figure I will test again at +4 and as long as his +4 is good, I'll feel safe to go to bed. But I am so grateful that Crowley loves to hang out with me, because it made it easy to monitor him for any symptoms of a hypo. rn he's sleeping in his little cat tree.

So we're back at 1u again. I am wondering if, assuming it doesn't work out (AGAIN), I can try bumping up by a smaller amount? I'm dosing with calipers to allow fine dosing, so maybe 1.15u? Because right now it feels like we're bouncing between 1u and 1.25u, and I want to take the full reduction right now obviously, but just something I'm thinking about for the future.

ANYWAYS THANK YOU FOR READING MY NOVEL I HAVE NEVER BEEN A CONCISE WOMAN.
 
[Crowley voice] how I sleep knowing I am taking years off my mother's life ❤️
 

Attachments

  • 20261017_050033.jpg
    20261017_050033.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 12
Yesterday (or, earlier today....)

Hah hah, early (or late, it's late Friday night for me because I don't consider the day changed until I go to bed) condo today because we have had a day's worth of excitement already :arghh:

Crowley spent his whole last PM cycle going down, and at his AMPS, he was at 53 which made me REAL nervous!! He was also ravenous; when I was putting the food in the feeder, I had to (gently) shove him back away from the feeder, which is something I haven't had to do since we started insulin. Which was good because I wasn't worried about getting carbs into him.

Once he was done chowing down (and gods he was STARVING you would think I did not feed him all day), I pulled him up into my lap to give him some karo syrup. 53 and the fact he spent all day falling despite eating well really worried me, and I figured I wanted my first time administering karo to be when he wasn't in the MIDDLE of a crisis and having symptoms. I do think I want to get a feeding syringe because he did NOT like the karo lol.

I figure I will test again at +4 and as long as his +4 is good, I'll feel safe to go to bed. But I am so grateful that Crowley loves to hang out with me, because it made it easy to monitor him for any symptoms of a hypo. rn he's sleeping in his little cat tree.

So we're back at 1u again. I am wondering if, assuming it doesn't work out (AGAIN), I can try bumping up by a smaller amount? I'm dosing with calipers to allow fine dosing, so maybe 1.15u? Because right now it feels like we're bouncing between 1u and 1.25u, and I want to take the full reduction right now obviously, but just something I'm thinking about for the future.

ANYWAYS THANK YOU FOR READING MY NOVEL I HAVE NEVER BEEN A CONCISE WOMAN.

I like your novels and the way you express yourself - authentic and spontaneously!

I would be really nervous too, Liz. 🙏🏼 but the good side is (me being optimistic) you can collect data on how he responds to lower numbers... also, if he gets so hungry repeatedly when going lower (poor baby 🧡🙏🏼), it is the sign for you to pay attention to, as it means something.

Silly question: do you think he would prefer honey than karo? Here I use oral glicose; I have to use the syringe anyways.

The experienced ones will advise you on dosing. But if you are going to skip the dose, I think you don't need to give him Karo.

If I may ask, now that he reached lower numbers: would you like to try TR?

Kisses to Crowley 🧡
 
You're very kind <333

I'm honestly not sure! I doubt he's used to sweet things in general. Not that I know what his foods taste like, but I'm guessing not sweet. I figured the karo was probably a slight overreaction, but like I said, I wanted to try administering it before there was a true emergency to work out any kinks.

Unforch, TR is not feasible. I work in office 2x a week, and on those days, I pretty much shoot, leave, come home, shoot with maybe 20 minutes leeway at each end. I've read the document about working full time and doing TR, but it involved a pretty standard 8 hour shift it sounded like and the ability to come home on lunches, neither of which I have (half hour lunch, 25 min commute!)

The good news is that his +4 also showed an increase (but less of one than his +2, maybe we will avoid the highest highs of the inevitable rocketship lmao) so I get to go to bed! I just stayed up to make sure he ate some food at his +4.5 meal. And he did! (and Talasseres did too; he perhaps wisely let Crowley eat pretty much the whole first meal of the cycle lmao)
 
You're very kind <333

I'm honestly not sure! I doubt he's used to sweet things in general. Not that I know what his foods taste like, but I'm guessing not sweet. I figured the karo was probably a slight overreaction, but like I said, I wanted to try administering it before there was a true emergency to work out any kinks.

Unforch, TR is not feasible. I work in office 2x a week, and on those days, I pretty much shoot, leave, come home, shoot with maybe 20 minutes leeway at each end. I've read the document about working full time and doing TR, but it involved a pretty standard 8 hour shift it sounded like and the ability to come home on lunches, neither of which I have (half hour lunch, 25 min commute!)

The good news is that his +4 also showed an increase (but less of one than his +2, maybe we will avoid the highest highs of the inevitable rocketship lmao) so I get to go to bed! I just stayed up to make sure he ate some food at his +4.5 meal. And he did! (and Talasseres did too; he perhaps wisely let Crowley eat pretty much the whole first meal of the cycle lmao)
🥰

Got it, Liz. In the end, did he accept a little bit of Karo, or not at all? Anyway, it is also nice when we see that the dose is working on them — it feels like progress.

About TR, I see! 🙏🏼 It’s just that it would be amazing to see Crowley go into remission... (it’s such a nice possibility).

Talasseres... That’s a very creative name. Is it Greek?

Yes, let's hope no big 🚀🚀 tonight!!

🧡 wishing a good weekend to the boys and to you!
 
I do think I want to get a feeding syringe because he did NOT like the karo lol.
Like Clarice said, honey might be a better option (don’t quote me on this, but I think pancake syrup is also a option)
Just as my 2 cents, I put the honey on top of a teeny tiny amount of food which I found easier than trying to get the honey directly in Khlo’s mouth (& less of a sticky mess!). But let the record show that Khloe loves honey so this may not work for Crowley.
 
Maple syrup or pancake syrup also an option. I just used to mix a drop of syrup (not karo in Canada) in with gravy for Neko.

It's hard to speculate now how 1.0 will work out this time. And whether you need a smaller size increase or the full one. Could even be a decrease. Who knows, it is up to Crowley now.
 
🥰

Got it, Liz. In the end, did he accept a little bit of Karo, or not at all? Anyway, it is also nice when we see that the dose is working on them — it feels like progress.

About TR, I see! 🙏🏼 It’s just that it would be amazing to see Crowley go into remission... (it’s such a nice possibility).

Talasseres... That’s a very creative name. Is it Greek?

Yes, let's hope no big 🚀🚀 tonight!!

🧡 wishing a good weekend to the boys and to you!
Yes, he did!

And yes, I really wish I could do TR, but I just don't feel there's a way to do it safely atm.

It is from a book I read and adored! The Unspoken Name by AK Larkwood! He was one of my favorite characters.

I was surprised because his PMPS was 241. I was expecting in the 300s easily.
 
Maple syrup or pancake syrup also an option. I just used to mix a drop of syrup (not karo in Canada) in with gravy for Neko.

It's hard to speculate now how 1.0 will work out this time. And whether you need a smaller size increase or the full one. Could even be a decrease. Who knows, it is up to Crowley now.
Things usually are! But I think we've done this twice now, where we've tried to bump past 1u and ended up getting swatted down and then 1u continued not to work, so I was just sort of ruminating on possibilities if that happened again.
 
Also, FWIW, when I've had to use honey at times when Jude was resistant to eating but was dropping low, I'd dab it on his nose, and he'd lick it right off. They only need a little bit of honey/syrup, so I'd give him about three good nose dabs and up he'd go.
 
Thank you for the advice! I just pretty much put it on my finger and shoved my finger in his mouth lol
 
And yes, I really wish I could do TR, but I just don't feel there's a way to do it safely atm.
Yes... maybe something to think about when possible! Let's say and believe he has the potential 😃

It is from a book I read and adored! The Unspoken Name by AK Larkwood! He was one of my favorite characters.
Very nice to hear the story behind it!!

I was surprised because his PMPS was 241. I was expecting in the 300s easily.
Oh yes, great to see how this boy numbers are behaving 😉

✨️✨️✨️
 
Back
Top