I started on this page Sept 1st or shortly before that.. the initial link is: NEWBIE KHAN.
Khan is 12yrs old, I have his mom and brother as well.
10/16 KHANs amps 325 +1 302,+4 368 ,+8 358,+11 383 (0.25u), +3 253 1cFF,
I have printed out the HYPO advice/tool kit- I have 100 strips, a lot of high carb gravy different foods based on Blinky's list, fuctose syrup to put on gums if need be. I have read the stickies and will printed and will reread again & again.
Over view of KHAN:
Steriod given due to allergy issues--eating Royal Canin Venison &Rabbit or pea -can't remember(wow look at the carbs in this food!)
Khan lost 6#-7# in one month!!
Maximum Calorie and Hill's a/d- syringe fed then began to mix in IAMS Kitten canned
Evo Herring & Salmon dry
Fancy Feast Salmon
Recently added Fancy Feast Turkey & giblets and other seafood FF as listed on blinkys page as low carb no grain.
Khan has had 3 hospital stays and thyroid tests, blood work etc. I will no longer hospitalize Khan unless I must. I won't allow any of my cats to suffer either but I will do my very best to provide the best quality of life..if I can not then I will do what is best for my cat although it will hurt very much.
Lantus- received 10/12/10 however I'm too nervous about shooting Lantus and having Khan hypo on me so I waited until this wkend to get him started.
NOW ON 0.25u Lantus and I really believe he should be bumped to 0.50u at least since BG is not really dropping. So now he is on Lantus and BG is high..I would really appreciate support since I'm nervous on not knowing enough about Lantus and making a mistake and WHAM having his numbers dropped when I''m not here.
BACKGROUND:
less than 6wks later in the hospital -- unsure what is going on, sent home with no insulin, thyroid checked, full blood panel
I began feeding him IAMS Kitten canned, then the recall.. back into hospital.. then placed on 0.25u Humulin N.
I was not home monitoring, Khan proceeded to get worse. I was feeding him Purina DM dry..then went to Hlls w/d..tried wet of both- was not eating-allergy issue still present. Hair on belly, back legs, ears bald, scratching face. Khan looked aweful.. I switched him to EVO herring & Salmon dry, allergy issues decreased alot. Went in for 3rd bg curve at vet, came home and I was NOT happy - I couldn't believe how he looked -his neck and insides of his legs were bruised. I called the vet-- and I was just not willing to bring Khan back in.. I felt just stuck. I waited and kept shooting the insulin- I didn't know any better- I began to believe I'd have to make the dreadful decision... then I found this page! and spoke with the vet clinic- my vet listened and was awesome. I began home testing, switched food to Fancy Feast salmon- and kept Khan on this- to keep things very simple, provided 3 different types of litter boxes, checked his ketones, found the best price for Lantus, finally ordered it once I had the money, mean time Khan's numbers are on the SS attached.I discussed diabetes with a diabetes educator that has been in the business for 25+ yrs. She really helped me to understand diabetes as well as the diferences in the insulins. I do realize that felines' metabolize is different and ECID.- it is what makes me nervous. Khan was up to 5u Humulin N twice a day. Once I changed the injection site to his back quarters (based off a video found here)his need for insulin dropped a lot.. or maybe his pancrease kicked in?? I don't know -either way his need for insulin dropped..see SS. Recently began mixing up his diet with other low carb FF no grain options as listed on Blinky's list. HIs neuropathy has increased - he was walking on his hocks, I added B12, ordered methyl B12recommended on this site and reviewed w/my vet. So now he is on Lantus and BG is high..I would really appreciate support since I'm nervous on not knowing enough about Lantus and making a mistake and WHAM having his numbers drop when I''m not here. What is really fantastic is my vet's practice (has 3 vets) and now 2 have attended Lantus conference and will most likely be switching the feline diabetes protocol for their clinic!