10/16 KHANs amps 325 +1 302+4 368 +8 358

Status
Not open for further replies.

pepperthecat1969

Member Since 2010
Khan was switched from Humulin N to Lantus today at 7am. SS attached. Starting dose low 0.25 (just to be very cautious).
comments welcome.

7am amps 325, 0.25u

+1 302
+4 268
 
KHAN amps 325 +1 302 +4 268

Thank you. My question is.. how often today should I be checking BG? I thought: +6, +8, +10 (5pm), +11 (6pm)?
I have for the childrens museum 530-8pm which is right towards the end of the 12 hr cycle.

What do recommend I do? Leave after +10 BG check then come back at exactly +12 or can I come back at +12.5?
 
Re: KHAN amps FIRST DAY TODAY!

Welcome and congrats on the first dose! :thumbup

It is not always possible to test every 2 hours - I know I just try to do the best I can. After the first few dose changes you may start to get a feel for the pattern Khan will give you, and can adjust your testing times according to that. For now, while you are getting started, its probably a good idea to test every 2 to 3 hours when you can, so you can start to gather data on how your kitty responds.
 
Re: KHAN amps FIRST DAY TODAY!

Welcome to LL we started out on N too and my cat has done so much better with the switch you will find a lot of info and guidance :mrgreen: here
 
Re: KHAN amps FIRST DAY TODAY!

First off, what can we call you? I am Pat and I would like to tell you a few things about this board and hope to persuade you to post daily....
When was Khan diagnosed?
Does he have any other medical issue or on any other meds?
How long was he on Humlin N?

The BGs will fluctuate during the day and from day-to-day. Congratulations on doing the home testing! That is a most important tool. The sticky "new to the Group" linked below discusses curves.

We post a new thread each and every day. In your condo (thread) you will post the heading:
Date, Kitty's name, AMPS=________ and update with any new BG tests you get during the cycle. We also include in our first post of the day a link to the previous day's condo.
Here is the link to yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27498

If you have any questions, you may come back and post them in this thread ok?
At the top of the page are starred stickies that you will enjoy reading. Start with the "New to the Group..."
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18139
and if you can, print out the section on HYPOS and also be sure to have the supplies listed in the HYPO TOOL KIT.
 
Re: KHAN amps FIRST DAY TODAY!

To answer your question, you should stick as close as possible to 12/12 shooting schedule. So if you CAN be back to test and shoot at +12, that is recommended. Good luck!
 
Re: KHAN amps FIRST DAY TODAY!

Welcome to LL!
Spot started on N too...didn't to well at all and now so glad that we are on Lev.
As far as testing, the more data you have the better off you are, so for now, I'd get in tests when you can. In a few days, you could do a mini curve and see where Kahn is at.
As far as shooting schedule, it is recommended that you stick with a 12/12 schedule as close as you can. Sometimes you just can't, but since you are so new to the insulin, I would do my best to do so. Eventually you can have a little leeway....sometimes I'm as low as 15 minutes either way, sometime I shoot an hour earlier. you just adjust your next shooting time.
 
Re: KHAN amps FIRST DAY TODAY!

Thank you that information helps a lot. My name is Jenee. I've been on the main post for some time now. Well probably mid August right about the time it was recommended to consider putting my Khan (cat) down. Than God I found this board without it Khan would not be with me. I'm a bit nervous because Khan's numbers are not coming down. I did start with a low dose. It was left up to me to start with .25 or.50u. I just don't want him to run around 350 400s for the next few days. His neuropathy just started to get a bit better. I did order the methyl B12 that has been recommended on here. Until then he is getting a B12 that is presevative free, sugar free.. I believe it has methyl in it but just to really know he is getting the correct methyl B12 I ordered it from the recommendation here.
 
Re: KHAN amps FIRST DAY TODAY!

Jenee & Khan said:
I did start with a low dose. It was left up to me to start with .25 or.50u. I just don't want him to run around 350 400s for the next few days.
I'm not sure who recommended that you start at such a low dose, especially after having Khan up to 1.25u of N. Several of us echoed Libby's recommendation about dose that she posted in your condo last night.
Libby said:
I would like to encourage you to consider starting on a higher dose than 0.25 units BID. Based on your spreadsheet, 1 unit BID of Lantus seems like a reasonable and safe starting dose. Of course everything is up to you, but based on my experience most cats end up needing the same or higher dose of Lantus than their previous insulin. You're getting mostly pink and some mid to high blue on 1.25 of N.
Initial dosing of Lantus can be based on a cat's ideal weight coupled with dose on a prior type of insulin. Most cats end up with a dose in the neighborhood of 1.0u. Further, Lantus will take approximately 5 - 7 days to form a depot, or shed. (See the sticky note on this topic at the top of the Board.) What this means is that the full dose of Lantus will not be bioavailable until the shed is formed. I am concerned that you have opted to give a dose that is considerably less than what Khan needs and he will be in the higher ranges until you can gradually titrate up the dose. We usually increase doses in increments of 0.25u and increase every 3 days once the initial dose of Lantus is established. This is why we were suggesting you start Khan at 1.0u.
 
Jenee...hi...so he was diagnosed in mid August and you were on Humilin N since the diagnosis?
Can you say what foods you are feeding and what your feeding schedule is?

Sienne explained the usually starting dose and told you about the shed. I am afraid that on the very tiny dose you started with, the shed will be very small and the insulin that your boy needs is much more than that dose. Would you consider upping the dose to 1.0u as so many have suggested now that you see today's numbers?

Have you read the starred stickies at the top of the page?
 
I started on this page Sept 1st or shortly before that.. the initial link is: NEWBIE KHAN.
Khan is 12yrs old, I have his mom and brother as well.

10/16 KHANs amps 325 +1 302,+4 368 ,+8 358,+11 383 (0.25u), +3 253 1cFF,

I have printed out the HYPO advice/tool kit- I have 100 strips, a lot of high carb gravy different foods based on Blinky's list, fuctose syrup to put on gums if need be. I have read the stickies and will printed and will reread again & again.

Over view of KHAN:
Steriod given due to allergy issues--eating Royal Canin Venison &Rabbit or pea -can't remember(wow look at the carbs in this food!)
Khan lost 6#-7# in one month!!
Maximum Calorie and Hill's a/d- syringe fed then began to mix in IAMS Kitten canned
Evo Herring & Salmon dry
Fancy Feast Salmon
Recently added Fancy Feast Turkey & giblets and other seafood FF as listed on blinkys page as low carb no grain.

Khan has had 3 hospital stays and thyroid tests, blood work etc. I will no longer hospitalize Khan unless I must. I won't allow any of my cats to suffer either but I will do my very best to provide the best quality of life..if I can not then I will do what is best for my cat although it will hurt very much.

Lantus- received 10/12/10 however I'm too nervous about shooting Lantus and having Khan hypo on me so I waited until this wkend to get him started.

NOW ON 0.25u Lantus and I really believe he should be bumped to 0.50u at least since BG is not really dropping. So now he is on Lantus and BG is high..I would really appreciate support since I'm nervous on not knowing enough about Lantus and making a mistake and WHAM having his numbers dropped when I''m not here.

BACKGROUND:
less than 6wks later in the hospital -- unsure what is going on, sent home with no insulin, thyroid checked, full blood panel
I began feeding him IAMS Kitten canned, then the recall.. back into hospital.. then placed on 0.25u Humulin N.
I was not home monitoring, Khan proceeded to get worse. I was feeding him Purina DM dry..then went to Hlls w/d..tried wet of both- was not eating-allergy issue still present. Hair on belly, back legs, ears bald, scratching face. Khan looked aweful.. I switched him to EVO herring & Salmon dry, allergy issues decreased alot. Went in for 3rd bg curve at vet, came home and I was NOT happy - I couldn't believe how he looked -his neck and insides of his legs were bruised. I called the vet-- and I was just not willing to bring Khan back in.. I felt just stuck. I waited and kept shooting the insulin- I didn't know any better- I began to believe I'd have to make the dreadful decision... then I found this page! and spoke with the vet clinic- my vet listened and was awesome. I began home testing, switched food to Fancy Feast salmon- and kept Khan on this- to keep things very simple, provided 3 different types of litter boxes, checked his ketones, found the best price for Lantus, finally ordered it once I had the money, mean time Khan's numbers are on the SS attached.I discussed diabetes with a diabetes educator that has been in the business for 25+ yrs. She really helped me to understand diabetes as well as the diferences in the insulins. I do realize that felines' metabolize is different and ECID.- it is what makes me nervous. Khan was up to 5u Humulin N twice a day. Once I changed the injection site to his back quarters (based off a video found here)his need for insulin dropped a lot.. or maybe his pancrease kicked in?? I don't know -either way his need for insulin dropped..see SS. Recently began mixing up his diet with other low carb FF no grain options as listed on Blinky's list. HIs neuropathy has increased - he was walking on his hocks, I added B12, ordered methyl B12recommended on this site and reviewed w/my vet. So now he is on Lantus and BG is high..I would really appreciate support since I'm nervous on not knowing enough about Lantus and making a mistake and WHAM having his numbers drop when I''m not here. What is really fantastic is my vet's practice (has 3 vets) and now 2 have attended Lantus conference and will most likely be switching the feline diabetes protocol for their clinic!
 
I shot at +11 because I had to be gone-- so now what should I be expecting? should I be checking Khan's BG sometime at +5 ,+6 and even at +10, +11?
 
i'm not an advisor...but you've got the best of the best here to help you...

so glad to see you here!

celi & binks
 
Am I safe to increase his dose tomorrow at the amps (am shot?) twelve hrs would be 6am so I would be here until 1020AM (+4) then home again at 1230pm.
 
I became pretty comfortable with Humulin N knowing when the insulin would peak and end so now I'm back to learning. I know Lantus doesn't give too much leeway.. the BG can be decreasing slowly then toward the end of the run drop into hypo..that is what scares the whatever out of me.. but if Khan isn't getting his BG to come down it is why his neuropathy is showing up tonight again..poor guy.. I wish I could shoot him with some Humulin N..which is only helpful with the fast acting humulin rt after eating but I'm not knowlegable enough to do that --yet..I say yet because I know I can learn to do this correctly--it will just take time. support to make the increase is what I need.. isn't 1u a lot for Lantus?
 
Ok I reread the information given and I have missed what my brain needed. Sienne did state the 1u being a good starting dose. Ok I will go to it tomorrow amps..if it is ok to go from 0.25u to 1u right away?
 
Thank you for your patience. Sometimes it takes me a while to get what must be done or what is being recommended. Please keep at me since I really do take in everyone's advice/suggestions-you've been there with this insulin--I have not.. so I feel confident Khan's BG will come down sooner than later if I start at the 1u.
 
I will be posting all day tomorrow- I'm nervous but confident since I have this board and I have the meter/hypo kit.. things will be just fine..
 
Good luck Jenee, can't wait to see what tomorrow brings. Just keep asking any questions you have, someone will have the answers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top