10/16 Crushy amps 522 +2 356 +3 320

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele M

Member Since 2013
previous http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=106376&p=1128611#p1128611

he earned a reduction last night. I did NOT see that coming!

pmps 339
+2 292
+6 39

He's had pretty steady pink and high yellow numbers for the last 4 cycles then out of nowhere at +6 (4am) he throws a 39??

Im wondering if he actually went lower than that because this bounce is reeallly high! I did give him a lot of HC when that 39 came in though. I gave him a couple spoonfuls at first and he absolutely INHALED it and looked at me like he was starving for more. That freaked me out a little so I just gave him the rest of the can (3 oz.) That was obviously overkill considering his numbers since then but it was my first nighttime low BG catch and everything seems scarier in the middle of the night. Ill be more conservative next time.

I had no problem shooting through the bounce this morning though. (522!! pthhhhh!! :-Q ) Ill reduce tonight I guess

He's acting starving this morning and drinking lots. (the last 3 times he needed HC food for low #s his appetite went down for a while afterwards but not this time)
 
Re: 10/16 Crushy amps 522 reduction earned

Congratulations on the reduction!

It looks to me like Cushy was coming off a bounce from PM 10/13. On PMs when your +2 is lower than your PMPS, it may be an indication for you that Cushy is coming off a bounce. On those days, you'd probably want to get a +3 or +4 to track whether he's going lower & how fast. It looks like you did that on 10/11, but he stayed high that night.

You did the right thing feeding him the HC, even if you feel you gave him too much - better safe than sorry. You need to get a good idea of how he responds to the HC. If he's never been in the 30's before, that could be another reason for the extra high bounce - at least his liver's working well & doing what its supposed to do!
 
Re: 10/16 Crushy amps 522 reduction earned

Good catch on the 39. Generally, rather than feeding an entire can of HC, give a teaspoon or two and re-test in 20 - 30 min. Give the same amount of HC if necessary and repeat the process until your kitty is in good numbers. You might want to print out the instructions for dealing with low numbers so you have them handy. You don't want to over feed. Some cats will barf if they eat too much which isn't a good thing if you're trying to steer the numbers. Likewise, if you need to be doing this for a while, you want to make sure your cat doesn't get too full and refuses to eat.
 
Re: 10/16 Crushy amps 522 reduction earned

there have been several times lately where his +2 is a little lower than the pre shot but he doesnt dive. I thought this was one of those times...wrong!

on 10/11 +2 was 90 pts lower than pm pre shot and no dive. On 10/12 am +2 was 130 pts lower than pre shot..he got into the blues then but no real dive. 10/13 am +2 was 60 pts lower than pre shot and no real dive.

Im glad I at least checked when I did though. sheesh!

He's been fairly high at night lately too.....until last night

Thanks Sienne, I knew the couple teaspoon rule I just sort of freaked a little. Crushy is an eating machine though. Hard to imagine him refusing food. Even when his appetite is down and he is completely full if I offer it he'll eat it. But I get your point. dont over do it.
 
Re: 10/16 Crushy amps 522 reduction earned

I know - it's so hard to predict where they'll go -& each cycle is usually a little different! My Tigger is all over the map - but after we recently had a PMPS of 254 & a +2 of 31, I've learned to watch if his AMPS or PMPS are heading lower from earlier numbers, even if the PS is still high - those may be particularly active cycles.

If you haven't read it yet, I recommend the LL topic Lantus & Levemir - Shooting & handling low numbers. While you're not shooting low numbers, the concept can also be applied to those times when Crushy is going lower at PS or +2.

Re. HC, Sienne's totally right. Also, with HC you can feed only the gravy instead of gravy & food chunks - helps keep their appetite up if you have to feed over longer intervals.
 
Re: 10/16 Crushy amps 522 reduction earned

holy cow on that 31 at +2!!!

thanks for the link. Im going to start checking the +10s and +11 #s more...thats one I always miss. Im guessing there are a lot of clues there
thanks!
 
wow Michelle Good catch. maybe the 1.75 was just too much insulin for Crushy. I bet 1.5
will be good for Crushy.
you are riding the roller coaster.
 
:lol: :lol: I thought yesterday looked like a bounce. Looky at you Crushy!!!

Congrats on the reduction. I'm not surprised at the 522....Crushy's liver just wasn't happy with the 39.
 
Hi Michele-
Saw this earlier..just walking back in the door. OMG Crushy!
Bless your heart..a roller coaster is right! I know how difficult it is seeing these high numbers. And i know what you mean that your moods almost coincide with how Crushy is doing. Cat empathy! I get it and I agree. All I can tell you is to hang in there. He will at some point even out in time and give you lots of green/happy. :mrgreen:
BTW, what on earth were you doing testing at 4Am?..was that an alarm test? What a dedicated bean you are!!

Just wanted to stop in and say 'Hi'. Hope he likes the reducie.
 
Holy mother of pearl, that's a lot of action for the middle of the night.
Poor you - it certainly is stressful, and good on Crushy for being a big-boned guy with an appetite to match.
 
Thanks Catherine, Suzanne....pretty exciting! :-D

You were right Marje it was indeed a bounce!

Thanks Betty, Ive been trying to get one or two in the middle of the night. The trick is to go right back to sleep, but seeing a 39 will wake you up pretty quick :shock:

Lara, The CrushMeister General's appetite is legendary! ;-)
 
My Mom, who also had trouble sleeping like myself..used to suggest to keep my eyes shut if I got up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, and I would fall back asleep easier..not be as likely to all the way wake up. But I guess this would not work testing Crushy...doing it with your eyes shut! :lol:

And yes, I imagine a 39 would jolt you awake regardless.
Seriously getting up for 2 a night...WOW. You are a better testaholic than I.
And more power to you if you can fall right back asleep...jealous...wish I could figure out how to do that.

Hopefully he gives you a break with some nice numbers soon. You are working so hard to help him feel better.
 
I try to keep my eyes kind of shut when I get up to go to the bathroom too!...sort of just dont open them all the way. It works! Cant do that with Crushy though...who knows where Id poke him, lol

my shot time is at 10:20 which makes my +2 at 12:20 & I usually go to sleep right after that
My husband and I are both night owls so this works well....the other ones are in the middle of the night though.

It took me a while to get into the habit of falling back to sleep. Its a trick for sure! Being slightly sleep deprived helps ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top