10/16 Cinco PMPS 148 +3 76 +4 67

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
10/15 Recap:
1.25 units bid
AMPS: 226
AM+3: 181
AM+5: 187
PMPS: 151
PM+3: 68 :roll:
PM+4: 59
PM+4.5: 76
PM+5.5: 72
PM+6.5: 88
PM+7.5: 97

Yesterday's Condo

It's becoming more and more obvious that Cinco takes after his Mamabean - he's a night owl! These lovely green surfs make me so happy, if a little nervous lest he stray too far into the deep end of the lagoon. I'm hoping he's telling me that he will eventually want a reduction, but so far he seems pretty comfortable on this dose, so we ain't messin' with it! His leg is healing up nicely and I'm having to keep my patience pants on to keep from taking the collar off too soon. The vet said to give it a week to be sure, so we're going to wait for Monday. We started the once a day dose with the ointment today, and he didn't growl at me, even though he'd only had his Bupe about 20 minutes before (could it have taken effect that quickly?).

Sasha ate about 1/4 of her breakfast this morning before refusing to eat more, so I decided to try doing what Mariko used to do with Lucy. I put some food on my finger and waved it under her nose, and she licked it off! I tried again. Same thing. We polished off the whole serving that way! :-D :-D :-D Time-consuming, but as long as the food gets into her, I don't care. I'm really wondering if the problem is that it doesn't taste good anymore - the same problem Amy says her DF is having. Still no answer from the Oncologist about the stimulant.

Beautiful day out today, so I really should get out and finish the yardwork I started earlier this week. Roses to deadhead and tomatoes to pick. I am going to have to make some pomodoro sauce today (darn! ;-) ), as we have way too many tomatoes to eat in our salads. My basil is still going strong, so I'll be able to use some of that, too. I still have herbs in the dehydrator that are ready to be crushed and put in jars so we can load it up again with chili peppers and more herbs. So much to do, so little time!

Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans. :YMHUG: Prayers continue for Amy's DF, Lyresa's DF & DH, Lisa's DF, and Elise's DM. One more day for Shadow B on his OTJ trial! Go, baby, go! :-D
 
Re: 10/16 Cinco AMPS 152 +3.5 99 +4.5 117

What a nice start for Cinco. Beautiful night last night too. Whay a good boy. I hope the leg heals quick and that darn collar can come off.

Yay on Sasha. Maybe she likes time with her bean one on one. Healing and good appy vines for her.

Have a great day Tricia!
 
Re: 10/16 Cinco AMPS 152 +3.5 99 +4.5 117

Cinco is looking awesome!! I'm so glad his leg is healing up...I'm sure all of you are antsy to ditch that cone. Soon it will be gone for good - we'll have to have a big ole LL party on that day!!!

I bet Sasha is feeling like my Dad....food just doesn't taste right. For my Dad, he wasn't nauseated...food just tasted like rubber, and he had to force it down because he knew he needed to. I've heard others on his protocol say food tastes like mud...no wonder they lose their appy! Last visit, my Dad asked about an appy stimulant...they actually give mirtz to people for that reason, too! Since I already knew it caused agitation thanks to LL, I knew this was NOT a good choice for my Dad, since he tends to be a little, um, "moody" to begin with!

Anyway, for Sasha....I'm glad the finger feeding worked! Her sense of smell could be off, too....maybe a large quantity of food doesn't smell good and that's why she went for the finger feeding. I remember Jamie's Jupiter also had appy issues from the chemo...maybe shoot her a message and ask how long that lasted.

Sending appy vines for Sasha and healing vines for Cinco and yummy pomodoro sauce vines for you!
 
Re: 10/16 Cinco AMPS 152 +3.5 99 +4.5 117

Buster and Cinco seem to like the same neighborhood. I think they are up to something! Hope Sasha gets her happy appy back. We all know what it's like to feel ucky in the food dept. Have a happy day, guys!
 
Re: 10/16 Cinco AMPS 152 +3.5 99 +4.5 117

perhaps Sasha just really, really, really likes the taste of your finger. :-D

i had to go look up Irish kilts after I saw your comment in Polly's condo about Scots wearing kilts. This is what I found on wiki:

Kilts in Ireland[edit]

Irish Defence Force pipers wearing saffron kilts
Though the origins of the Irish kilt continue to be a subject of debate, current evidence suggests that kilts originated in the Scottish Highlands and Isles and were adopted by Irish nationalists at the turn of the 20th century as a symbol of Gaelic identity.[12]

A garment that has often been mistaken for kilts in early depictions is the Irish lein-croich, a long tunic traditionally made from solid colour cloth, with black, saffron and green. Solid coloured kilts were first adopted for use by Irish nationalists and thereafter by Irish regiments serving in the British Army, but they could often be seen in late 19th and early 20th century photos in Ireland especially at political and musical gatherings, as the kilt was re-adopted as a symbol of Gaelic nationalism in Ireland during this period.[12]

Within the world of Irish dancing, boys' kilts have been largely abandoned, especially since the worldwide popularity of Riverdance and the revival and interest in Irish dancing generally.[13]

Other Celtic nations[edit]
Although not a traditional component of national dress outside Scotland, kilts have become recently popular in the other Celtic nations as a sign of Celtic identity.[14] Kilts and tartans can therefore also be seen in Ireland, Wales, Cornwall, the Isle of Man and Brittany.

It's kinda the fad around here - I've seen lots of guys wearing kilts that i'm sure are pretty unrelated to anything national, just because they like to wear them! :lol: I thought the guys were going to look ridiculous, especially because the girls wear wearing calf-length dresses (can you say 4 bare legs walking together?) but in fact, they looked pretty great. My DH didn't want to wear one, though, and i'm sure he looked better in his suit.

Just about perfect day for Cinco today! woot!
 
Re: 10/16 Cinco AMPS 152 +3.5 99 +4.5 117

Great day for Cinco! :mrgreen: :-D I'm glad Sasha would eat off of your finger. :-D Sending lots of appy vines, hopefully the finger feeding will be short term.
Liz
 
Re: 10/16 Cinco AMPS 152 +3.5 99 +4.5 117 +6 134 +9 114

Thanks for visiting, Liz, Julie, Tara, Amy and Melissa.

Cinco is double dipping again. I had a feeling he might, so I checked him at +9. Very interesting.

I got a new bowl in the mail today. It's similar to the bowlmates I got at Petco, but higher. I wish now I'd ordered two, but I wasn't sure it'd work. It's called Dog It. The stainless bowl that came in it is too deep, but the little glass bowls I got in the bowlmate set fit in there just fine, so it's perfect with the megacone! :-D I wish someone had them in store, but they only seem to be online.

Amy, thanks for mentioning Jamie. She and I have PM'd back and forth a lot, but I haven't heard from her lately. She's been dealing with a lot of issues herself. I may just shoot her a note.

Julie, thank you for educating me. I had never heard of the Irish wearing kilts before. Learn something new every day (or in my case, several new things - I have a lot to learn!). You really see guys just walking down the street in kilts? Wow. I guess I can see it in a big city, but I can't imagine it in smaller towns. Maybe I'm more sheltered than I thought. :lol:
 
Re: 10/16 Cinco AMPS 152 +3.5 99 +4.5 117 +6 134 +9 114

Nice numbers for Cinco today. I'm glad Sasha ate, even if you did have to finger feed her.
 
Re: 10/16 Cinco AMPS 152 +3.5 99 +4.5 117 +6 134 +9 114

Hi Tricia,
How great that Cinco's leg is healing well. Soon that cone will be history! I used to finger-feed Rusty his "lung treat", but we are taking a break from Allerplex for a while. He got tired of it, even when fed as a treat.

Your garden sounds awesome! We have a small herb garden in a little greenhouse extension on the garage and it will soon be time to harvest the rosemary and oregano for drying. Do you find that a food dryer works better than just hanging the herbs indoors and letting them dry in the air? I may get one. We've eaten almost all our basil. It was so good this year. Next week Edward is going to plant garlic and cover it with straw. We are hoping it will come up next spring. We had a really good crop 2 years ago and we love the early garlic scapes.

Have a fine evening,

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/16 Cinco AMPS 152 +3.5 99 +4.5 117 +6 134 +9 114

I used to finger feed Tiffany as well when she wouldn't eat on her own. She wanted to please me so she would lick it off my finger. Max doesn't do that. I hope Cinco decides to give you a break and have a night cycle like her day one today.
 
Re: 10/16 Cinco AMPS 152 +3.5 99 +4.5 117 +6 134 +9 114

What a beautiful cycle for Cinco, and even though it keeps you up til all hours of the night, great night too! And so great that he is healing, hopefully he can lose the giant cone soon! Handfeeding works for Tiger too, except if I were working still, I would not have time. Sorry you haven't heard anything about the appetite stimulants.

RE: the night drops, I wish there was some way to either predict or control when kitty decides to drop, but it just makes us have to be better dancers eh? :roll:

I forgot to say, yummo on the garden goodies- you just can't beat fresh tomatoes and basil, I envy your climate! And RE: the kilt wearing guys in Oregon, I am in Oregon fairly often, that's a new one on me as well!
 
Re: 10/16 Cinco AMPS 152 +3.5 99 +4.5 117 +6 134 +9 114

:lol: no, i don't see guys walking down the streets in kilts! Didn't mean to imply that. But my son's been wearing one once in a while for a couple of years now. The daughter that just got married went to her senior high school prom with a guy who wore one. We also went to a wedding in August and the young man and his groomsmen all wore kilts as well. That one was a little *ahem* interesting because the groom got drunk before the wedding and his kilt almost came off during the reception. I watched it drop below his behind and him trying to hike it back up and belt it in. :lol: :lol:

his bride was less amused than me! ;-)

There is a place in Portland that sells "utili-kilts" that are meant for every day use.
 
Re: 10/16 Cinco AMPS 152 +3.5 99 +4.5 117 +6 134 +9 114

Oh Julie, :shock: :-D :lol: I need to keep my eyes open next time we're in Portland! :lol:
 
Re: 10/16 Cinco AMPS 152 +3.5 99 +4.5 117 +6 134 +9 114

:-D :-D :-D :-D :-D

:lol:

Portland's signature saying is "Keep Portland Weird" - you see it everywhere on bumper stickers and signs. It's true!
 
Re: 10/16 Cinco PMPS 148

Paws crossed the cone comes off soon. Cinco had a great steady blue day today. OK, a toe dip in the lagoon too. :-D

We have a window washing company in town called Men in Kilts. All the technicians wear kilts on the job and wear T-shirts saying No Peaking. :lol: They also do gutters and siding etc. You can also buy Utilikilts here - my favorite vendor being the motorcycle gear shop. :shock: Must be a west coast thing. :lol:
 
Re: 10/16 Cinco PMPS 148

Thanks for visiting, Julie, Wendy, Ruth, Elise, Ella and Carla.

:lol: :lol: :lol: OMG, Julie, I can't stop chuckling! One of those guys looks like he's been in a fight. Maybe that's a common side effect of wearing a kilt? :lol: Thanks for sharing.

Wendy, I live on the West Coast, and I haven't seen anything like that. Maybe I need to go to San Francisco more?

Sasha ate 3/4 of her dinner from the plate, with just a little plate chasing and some kitty crack. I'm still hoping for the other 1/4 to disappear. Finger feeding is not out of the question, either, although she didn't want any more, even off my finger, when she said she was done with dinner.

Ella, I wouldn't say my garden is awesome, but we have had a lot of tomatoes, green bell peppers, and various chili peppers (loads of jalapenos, some habaneros, Anaheims and even some ghost peppers - which still aren't ripe, but I saw some color finally starting on them today). We also have some mystery peppers. The plants look like jalapenos, but the peppers don't get very big before they turn red - most of them look like a small cherry tomato. The plants are loaded with them. I got the seeds out of an envelope that I'd had a couple of years, and it said "Rutgers" on it, as in tomatoes! Imagine my surprise when they started sprouting leaves and I could see they weren't going to be tomatoes at all! :o We also have two basil plants, some rosemary, lots of oregano and a little sage. The sage, rosemary and oregano are last year's plants that survived the winter in the greenhouse. I have never had any success with garlic, but I would like to grow some. I may try again next year.

I've never tried to hang herbs to dry. It's fairly humid here, so I'm not sure that would work. Mark puts chili peppers on the window sill to dry, and even after a couple of months they still have moisture in them, so we finished them off in the dehydrator. Our house smells really interesting when we get it going with several different herbs and the chilis all in there!

The pomodoro sauce turned out really good, although I might have used a smidge too much basil. I didn't think that was possible! It could have used more garlic, too. Oh well, I'll just have to force myself to eat it! ;-) :lol: Hopefully I'll be making another batch next week, as long as the tomatoes keep coming.

At around +10 Cinco went to the lb, and then he decided to take a stroll around the house, He went to the sliding screen and sat there a while, sniffing the fresh air, then he toured the dining area, the kitchen, and into the dining room. He sat down in there and meowed few times, then he retraced his steps, stopping at Harvey's plate and sampling the little bit of food left on it (there was only a bite or two, so I let him, even that late). He made his way back to his spot in the family room and then told me how pleased he was with himself. That was so unlike his recent behavior that I grabbed the meter and poked him! Not low. Just feeling good, I guess! :-D I took a video of him walking to and from the lb (It's behind the bar). I'm not very good at filming, but maybe you can see the way he bobs his head. Please ignore the very messy house!

[youtube]McOwVDRnOJ0[/youtube]
 
And here we go again. I'm not going to complain about a green surf, no matter what time it is. I'm not going to complain about a green surf, no matter what time it is. I'm not going to complain about a green surf, no matter what time it is. I'm not going to complain about a green surf, no matter what time it is. I'm not going to complain about a green surf, no matter what time it is. I'm not going to complain about a green surf, no matter what time it is. I'm not going to complain about a green surf, no matter what time it is. :roll:
 
I would never ever complain about a green surf either. Max is following Cinco's lead. Ordinarily I would say he is almost done but things they are a changing. Tell Cinco no need to go any deeper and just maybe Max will follow his lead in that as well. I don't know about you but I now find myself nodding off in the middle of TV shows.
 
Nope, never complain about a green surf! Looking good! He gets around well despite the cone, amazing what they can adapt to.

Ah Portlandia!
gallery_1366_13_10758.jpg
 
He gets along amazingly well - VERY impressive for a blind kitty with a MegaCone around his neck!! I hope he set up a safe surf for you, and I hope Sasha decided her fuds were yummy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top