10/15 Pat's Shadow AMBG=88, PMBG=215

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
10/14
AMPS=203 ~1.5u Lev (34th cycle)
+4=160
+8=96
PMPS=89 ~1.5u Lev
+3=46
+4=50
+6=84
+8=40
+9=50
AMBG=88
+1=104
+3=136

Yesterday
Well, Shadow has 3 Ps today so far. We had quite a night last night!
He really didn't eat normally for the first few hours of the cycle and I tried everything....
I had thought he would be okay when he reached the +6=84, but he dropped again by the time +8=40.. I syringed HC gravy since he didn't seem to want to eat.
(I have put out a gazillion bowls of fuds for him in the past 24 hours. WITH and without Fortiflora, with freeze-dried chicken, with HC gravy and with Temptations, etc and so forth!
All in an effort to tempt him to eat. I have been trying just about everything!)

He vomited this morning before test time...liquid and loose hair...not in a ball shape, just a lot of hair.
Was hoping that would make things better but he didn't eat much after that ..... He got no shot....let's call it another "fur shot" but I could not shoot him when he wasn't eating well again. sigh. Just like the night before last when he was 64 at preshot time. (Well, he did okay back then with getting back up to speed without insulin, so I am hoping he won't fare too badly today...but that might be too much to ask.)
I hope he feels better soon....it's so scary when they don't eat....
 
Re: 10/15 Pat's Shadow AMBG=88, +1=104, +3=136

I know exactly how you feel when your kitty won't eat. Especially after shooting and having to leave for work nailbite_smile
Does he seem nauseated? Like does he sniff and then walk away from the food?

Sending eating
smiley-eatdrink022.gif
vines to Shadow, and hugs to you, Pat.
 
Re: 10/15 Pat's Shadow AMBG=88, +1=104, +3=136

Hi pat

oh wow on last night and this morning. I too have learned with Mannie's issues over the past few months what it is like when they will not eat. scary, unnerving... been there a couple of times: Low PS numbers, no appy and therefore no shot. much safer, better for the kitty. FEEL BETTER SHADOW! Lots of hugs Pat...
 
Re: 10/15 Pat's Shadow AMBG=88, +4=148, +8=173

Well, he had a tiny puky again just now....didn't really eat much at all...
+4=148
+8=173
I am heading over to get more HC food...only have two cans left in the house.
We just did a brushing..he is lying around, seems okay and enjoyed the brushing but is just not interested in his food. He ate some Omega 3 Oil....I thought it might help with the hair balls if that's what is behind this inappetance.
Don'tcha just hate this? Wish they could talk and tell us what's on their mind.
I might just try pepcid...that's the one thing I have not done yet...

He does just sniff and walk away Dyana...yes. I don't know if there is a bigger hairball issue or if his stomach is upset for other reasons. The BG is climbing now without any insulin...moreso than the other day. I am hoping he will eat after the pepcid...will let you know (I don't always reach for that drug right away and prefer trying other things first...but I am all out of other ideas.
Thanks for you concern guys....appreciate it...hugs! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/15 Pat's Shadow AMBG=88, +4=148, +8=173

Hi Pat!!!

Haven't read the condo or peeked at the spreadsheet yet, will do that, but I just wanted to wave hello!
 
Re: 10/15 Pat's Shadow AMBG=88, +4=148, +8=173

Hi Libby! :mrgreen:

PMPS=215 no shot again
Well, gave him Pepcid and then chicken florentine...he sniffed it and acted as if he wanted to eat, but turned away. Ditto on the regular LC chopped grill with freeze-dried chicken. Raja is eating normally, thankfully. It was her turn last week for this nonsense.
So, he is acting fine and surprisingly his BG isn't sky high...but then again, he hasn't eaten that much. Guess I will now try to syringe something into his stomach, poor little guy.
Will update my SS now with today's numbers...
 
Hi Pat,
Shad-0, we want you to feel better!! It sounds as if he is nauseous if he looks like he wants to eat, but then walks away from his food. The following quote is from Marje's post "A Primer on Pancreatitis" http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79693. Shadow may be nauseous for any number of reasons, so pancreatitis may not be one of them. In any event, Marje gives a good description of medications that address nausea:

Antiemetics: Many cats with pancreatitis experience nausea (e.g., showing interest in food but just licking/sniffing and walking away, lip licking, lip smacking and teeth grinding). Dolasetron (Anzemet®) and ondansetron (Zofran®) are very effective for addressing nausea in cats. Shop around for the least expensive source for ondansetron or purchase with a prescription at an online pharmacy such as Thriving Pets. Ondansetron is typically administered at ¼ of a 4mg tablet twice daily. Dolasetron is acquired through the vet.

Maropitant citrate (Cerenia® ) is also effective for controlling vomiting and nausea. It has become a popular and effective antiemetic in cats and can be administered in a subcutaneous injection if kitty is vomiting. Since it is a veterinary drug, the pill form can be obtained from your vet or with a prescription at online sources (such as Thriving Pets). Cerenia is generally administered at 0.5mg/lb (1mg/kg) and for a maximum of five days consecutive days. Injectable cerenia must be obtained from the vet.

Sending lots and lots of healing vines to our Shad-0.

Hugs from us,

Ella & Rusty
 
Awww...thanks guys...appreciate your hugs and support...
I gave him some gravy and water....he sniffed the bowl but didn't eat it so I gave him some with the syringe....at least he has something in his stomach. Will keep doing this through the night I guess....
He did take some Omega fish oil earlier today...but didn't bring up any hairballs or anything...
Hope he eats on his own soon. (He isn't meatloafing or acting sick which is good so far, but it's not easy to deal with the inappetance...as you all know!) Hugs!
 
Pat -

I haven't stopped by in a while. Are you thinking about a vet visit? Shadow sounds like he's nauseous and the Pepsid may not be the answer. Any chance you're seeing pancreatitis?
 
We have not had pancratitis so I am not familiar personally with it except for what I have read. This inappetance has happened to both my kitties at times, though not often thankfully. Raja just went through a similar thing last week I think it was....she did not vomit though.
He had the hair and liquid puke this morning and a little bit this afternoon too....but without really eating enough, that seems to happen to him. Trying to get some liquids into him and maybe that will help.
Luckily, tomorrow is Monday and we will be at the vet office first thing if this continues...
 
You might try some oil or butter if you think this is a hairball. Is Shadow pooping OK? Hair can also clog the GI track which can be a problem.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top