10/15 Jackson - AMPS 120

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday
I did another BCS this morning as I looked at that 120 and thought it was a little too close to green.

Jackson is upset and hissing and growling at Sabrina.

I have to take her to the vet whenever they can fit me in as her head and neck are filled with ticks big and small. Why are they around her head and neck and not all over her body? She is very happy to be home and loving and purring on me, and she tried to give Jackson a head butt in greeting, but he then started after her hissing.

At AMPS I took him out of the bedroom on his leash to the couch to test him, to my desk to give him his shot, and to the kitchen to prepare his breakfast. Sabrina heard the noises as the delicious food was being prepared and tried to join us in the kitchen. But he growled and hissed and pulled on his leash to get her. I then put him back in the bedroom to eat behind the puppy gate.
I got Sabrina the end of April 2025 and every time Jackson saw her he would chase her behind the couch, and she pretty much lived behind my couch for months, until Thanksgiving of last year something changed.. and they became friends and loved each other, kissed each other, played together, and sometimes slept next to each other. I know Jackson was worried about her when she was missing.
Now, we just need to get Jackson back to being friends with Sabrina again.
 
I’m just so happy that Sabrina is home. Hopefully the vet can see her soon for those pesky ticks. And I agree with Carla - my kitties are always a little weird with each other after vet visits because they smell “off.” I’m sure they’ll be back to being best friends in no time :)
 
Best news of the day that Sabrina is home. I am so happy for you and Jackson. I hope the vet can look at her soon.

For Jackson, maybe 11 units? All that green in spite of all the BCS means a lower dose may be in order.
 
It's not the vet smell on her. He was doing this before we went to the vet this morning.
 
If she’s been out in the bushes, trees, landscaping, whatever, she’s bound to smell like “outside” and therefore strange. She’s clearly been somewhere where there are loads of ticks, such as tall grass or tree-lined areas. So I’m not surprised at all that Jackson is acting strange.

I’d make sure to use a flea/tick med on BOTH Sabrina and Jackson and also perhaps ask the vet about preventative treatment for any potential tick-borne diseases (not trying to worry you; just figured it was worth asking given how loaded she sounds).

I’m so happy for you both that she’s finally home. Once you have time to breathe and settle back into normal life, I’d love to hear the story.
 
She might smell like fear. Poor thing was probably really scared at that time. What did the vet say?
The vet asked is she had thrown up or had diarrehea and I answered she hadn't used the litter box and she said she probably hasn't eaten much. :confused:
 
I just saw this post and went back to yesterday's to get the deets. How incredibly wonderful that she's home! Thank you, universe, for hearing our appeals! Happy!! Happy!!! She's likely picked up some smells outside that Jackson doesn't like. He'll eventually come around. I'd keep them separated a bit if you can, just so Sabrina is comfortable. I wish Sabrina could tell us about her adventure. I hope it wasn't too traumatic for her.
 
I hope you got your car fixed and I hope you get some stress-free (!!!!!) sleep tonight. You certainly earned it
I did sleep well indoors and no walks around at 5 in the morning.
I drove my car the night before to buy the motion sensor cameras, so I don't know why the battery was completely dead last night. I was pitch black outside by the time the very nice roadside assistance guy showed up to jump start the battery. I went out this morning before work and it started fine. Hopefully, I can get these posters down today after work.
 
Back
Top