Re: 10/14 Willie PMPS (+11.5) 68
Dubs is on a tear!!! Streaking through the house, outside/inside, and a game of sofa mice to boot.
I have a couple dilemmas....
1) My last night of softball is Tuesday. My first game that night is at 6:30. If we win, we play again at 8:30, if we win, the championship game is at 9:30. I have a couple options for Willie's shot that night. I can shoot at 5:30, and then maybe not be home until +5.5, or I can run home after the first game (10+ minute drive), shoot, leave, but then be home around +3. I'm leaning towards option 2.
2) Halloween weekend, I'm going to DC for a girl's weekend. Crack of dawn flight on Saturday morning, flying back Monday afternoon (will be home around 4pm if there are no delays). I don't really have anyone that I can have take care of him for me, so I've got to go with a pet sitting service or boarding.
The pet sitter I've used in the past has a service that would be a sleepover... for around $110 total, they would stay at my house from 7pm to 7am. (a little less $$ for 8pm/8am). This would allow a 12 hour shot schedule (well, except that I'd be shooting at 4:30 at the latest Saturday morning, so I'd have to either skip that shot, or have them shoot at +14.5 that night), company for Willie, and some spot checks in the PM cycle. For 4 30 minute visits, it would be $68. Because Willie has had only a rabies vaccine, many boarding options aren't available. Our vet does have boarding, but Willie would probably get shots only on Sunday and wouldn't get much attention as they aren't open that day (and close early afternoon on Saturday). He'd have to be boarded from early Friday night until I got back on Monday.
The sleepover option is pricey, but the company IS bonded and insured and they did a great job with Willie last time. I worry that boarding is going to stress him out, and after a vet tech almost gave Willie a carb ladened treat despite knowing he had diabetes, I'm concerned that diet restrictions would go by the wayside while he was there, and he'd be up to his elbows (cats HAVE elbows, right?!?!) in kibble ("but it was DM!!!") and pounce treats. I haven't checked the pricing yet, but I'm not sure it's the best option.
Anyway, would love you guys' thoughts!