10/14 Sarge AMPS 279 +1.5 307 +7 293 PMPS 362

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/14 Sarge AMPS 279 +1.5 307 +7 293

Hi Alison!

I think Sarge could use a little more insulin. Looks like you're mostly having nadirs of 200+, so I'd increase him by 0.25u and see if you can bring his BGs down a bit.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

You can re-evaluate his dose every 3 days (6 cycles) - look at the nadirs you're getting on this dose and decide if you should hold a little longer or increase. Until you're seeing regular green nadirs you don't want to hold the dose too long. When the dose isn't getting him into normal numbers you don't want to hold onto it too long. People are happy to help you figure out what you're looking at and what you should do with the dose if you want a hand. it takes a while to be able to see that for yourself sometimes. :-D

Hope you're having a great week!
 
You're right Julie. It does look like Sarge needs more insulin. I was counting cycles this morning and saw we were a decision point again. I am so confused though. Not that long ago he went low on this dose. Now it doesn't faze him. I am kind of suspicious what is left of his Lantus pen maybe bad. I have never been able to finish a pen. Seems like things start getting wonky at the end of them, maybe just coincidence. I don't know. So, what's my first move. Do I replace the pen or up the dose? If the new dose works only because the pen is weak then in a week or so when the pen runs out he could easily go low.
 
I used by Lantus pen/cartridges to the very last drop. It wasn't that long ago that you opened a new one. As long as you've been keeping the pen in the fridge, I'd go for the increase first.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top