10/14 Lucky +12.75 59 Low Preshot Again

Status
Not open for further replies.

Luckyducky

Member Since 2012
Hi again everyone! Well, Lucky's pre-shot number is sort of low again, so I thought I should post his numbers just in case.

Here's his spreadsheet and his numbers since yesterday:

Readings for 10/13 to 10/14
AMPS 370
+6 249
PMPS 268
+7 60
+8 94
+12 71
+12.25 71
+12.75 59

I'm going to try to get a reading every 15-30 minutes until it starts going up again (unless it gets really delayed, I might just skip the shot this time and get back on schedule). I was wondering, though, do y'all think it might just be okay to shoot low, based on his spreadsheet? Previously I might've figured it would be okay, since he seems to drop low towards the end of his cycles recently (well, except for last night, it seems like he was in the greens for a bit of the PM cycle). But then, I also figure it's a bad idea to shoot when the number is dropping. The thing is, it's such a hassle that he keeps hitting low numbers at the end of his cycles, and it seems that when I delayed last time it went right into a bounce. Anyways, I was just wondering if there was ever a point when the data might suggest shooting even when he's low.

I also thought I should mention that just a few days ago I switched Lucky's syringes from the Relion Brand to SureComfort from ADW. Almost every box I've gotten from Wal-mart has had terrible markings recently (twisted or way off from the base), and it seems like the SureComfort needles are a bit more consistent (albeit, the markings are kind of wonky in their own way, since the space between the individual unit markings and the 5u markings are noticeably spacious).
 
I would say, if he's still surfing about the same BG number at your next test, and you are going to be home to monitor and have plenty of supplies, that you have enough data to go ahead and shoot. This looks like either a nice long surf, if that 94 was a food induced number, or a late double dip.

Let's see what your next test number is.


ETA: I checked your SS, and now I see the 59 at +12.75. He will come up once you feed him, and this next dose if you give it shouldn't have onset until about +2. It's your choice. What do you feel comfortable with?
 
Thanks so much Dyana for the quick response, I think I'll go ahead and shoot and see what happens (I'll be home for most of the day, so I'll be on-hand in case anything happens). Hopefully it works out, I'll keep testing every half-hour after the shot to make sure it doesn't drop dangerously low (or more often if y'all recommend it).
 
Hello.
While you are watching today, you could check the difference between your syringes to see if it was noticeably different.
Load them both with water to the 1 unit and slowly twist the plunger and count how many drops you get in each syringe.
Then you will know.
Paws crossed for a great cycle fo Lucky.
 
It's quite possible that Lucky has a late nadir. There are some cats whose nadir is not mid-cycle. Rather, it's toward the end of the cycle. Until you know this is the case, it can be a nail biter at shot time. I think you did good to shoot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top