10/14 Charlie PMPS83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +6 131 +7 229

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
Hi guys,

Charlie is still on 1.25 units, and on Oct 7 and Oct 11, she went lower.

However, earlier this week, I saw that Sienne had suggested that we consider increasing to 1.5 units. Sienne/Others: Do you think we should do so tonight? The 1.25 is having an impact, but we're not seeing much green.

Thanks in advance for your advice, and have a great, lazy (or productive) Sunday. Whatever makes you happiest! :smile:
Jill
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 Dose increase tonight?

Happy Sunday, Jill and Co. :mrgreen:

Here is the last Charlie Condo.

About the increase: I'd try it. Go for the 1.5u - but *only* if you are comfortable with the possibility that once the depot has re-adjusted, Charlie *may* dip into the greens while you are out at work. Bean Comfort Level is a definite factor. Her numbers aren't terrible, but I agree that there is certainly room for improvement and the 1.5u just might get her to try and settle into a better, lower range and reduce those pinks.

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 Dose increase tonight?

I don't disagree with Jane but I do have a slightly different perspective. First, each of our cats is inherently unpredictable so no matter how well we think they're going to play by the "rules," they won't! Charlie is seeing some blue nadirs on this dose. They are, however, numbers in the higher end of the blue range. I think a dose increase would, hopefully, lower the entire range. If it were me, I'd raise the dose.

There is always the chance that Charlie could see green numbers when you're at work. Unfortunately, you could do everything humanly possible to try to make sure those drops occur at times when you're home. I experience the same concerns. If you figure out a way to insure that Charlie will only be dramatic when you're around, could you let me know? The way I look at it is that we do our best to keep our cats in healthy numbers and to keep them safe. Our kitties don't always make it easy, though.

OT: Jill -- could you re-post your "roll call" info in the current thread? It's at: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79617#unread
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 Dose increase tonight?

It's nice to see some blues with Charlie.
Hope the new dose gets you some greens ... safe ones....
Have a relaxed day!
 
10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

Friends,

SERIOUS crisis on my hands tonight. At PMPS, I read the machine and must have overlooked. I thought it said 14.6 (263)when in fact, as I now look back at the history on my machine, it actually read 4.6 (83 in US numbers).

I increased Charlie's dose as advised.

Just now she was standing at her bowl and STARING at me at 1.5

I went over and decided to test her as we had just fed her 50 grams at 7pm when we gave her the 1.5 units.

I was thinking: WHY is she so hungry. This test she was at 1.5 (32 in US numbers). Afraid we're all in for a long Sunday evening. UGH.

I would never EVER have shot the 1.5 units if I had noticed it was only 4.6 (83 in US numbers). I am a complete and TOTAL idiot. Maple syrup and beef right now. Please, if someone is online, can you hang out for a bit? This feline diabetes is going to give me a heart attack.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

i'm here.

please retest in 15 - 20 minutes from when you gave the maple syrup.

how is she acting?
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

Thank you so much, Jill. She is laying down on her chair at the kitchen table, sleeping.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

As long as she's not showing any symptoms besides hunger, you're okay. You can control this with high carb and Charlie will be fine.

Do you have high carb cat food? That's really better than maple syrup, only because the syrup acts fast but wear off quickly.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

I'm here for moral support, but not one to give advise (still a beginner at all this stuff). Blame the misread on FD fog! Just glad you noticed something was off with Charlie's behavior. Any update?
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

ok. let's see where she's at at the next test.

how long will it take you to get to an ER vet should it become necessary? hopefully it won't be necessary, but i have to ask since she's low this early in the cycle.

when you get a chance, please update your ss.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

I can offer you some moral support for a while. I can only give advice that I have read in other condos from the wise ones. Don't beat yourself up. We all do things like that once in a while. At least you caught it. Don't feed her too much at once or she won't want to eat later if you need her to. Test every 20-30 minutes until you get a couple of high numbers.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

Camille and Cyclone said:
As long as she's not showing any symptoms besides hunger, you're okay. You can control this with high carb and Charlie will be fine.

Do you have high carb cat food? That's really better than maple syrup, only because the syrup acts fast but wear off quickly.
sorry, but i have o disagree with camille's advice.

it's too early in the cycle.

we need a quick bump in sugar levels before onset. charlie was on a steady decline throughout the previous cycle.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

Going in the right direction! Keep testing every 15-20 minutes and keep giving small amounts of whatever high-carb or syrup you have.

Edit: You're right, Jill, a quick bump is needed.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43

charliesmom said:
This test she's at 43.
better!

any chance you can rub a little syrup on her gums to spike her up a little more?

we don't want to feed her too much this early in the cycle. if she gets too full she may vomit... and that's something we don't want to happen.

please retest in another 20 minutes.

we'll be here...
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

ER vet is a 13 minute drive away according to google maps. I will quickly call them to see if anyone is there tonight (just as a backup plan). My partner and I will rub some maple syrup on her gums now.

Charlie has moved to her testing chair in the living room, where she's laying down right now. I'm feeling very very worried right now. I must admit. I'm so sorry I shot this girl tonight. WHY!
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

ER vet is open and we can call them anytime, they say, in case something happens. Charlie just got a little syringe of syrup in the mouth. A second ago, I saw her cleaning herself (her paw) so I hope it is trending upwards. Will test again now.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

charliesmom said:
ER vet is a 13 minute drive away according to google maps. I will quickly call them to see if anyone is there tonight (just as a backup plan). My partner will give a little bit more maple syrup and food right now.
good thinking.

go easy with food right now. better to use syrup to spike her before onset. we'll want her hungry soon.

charliesmom said:
Charlie has moved to her testing chair in the living room, where she's laying down right now. I'm feeling very very worried right now. I must admit. I'm so sorry I shot this girl tonight. WHY!
breathe. no beating yourself up now. let's see where she is on the next test.

i must tell you...
i don't fool around with low numbers early in the cycle. if i think you'll be better off going to the ER i will tell you.
that said, if you're more comfortable going to an ER now... by all means go. be sure to take the syrup with you to administer along the way.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

Test came out at 45 even after the syringe of maple syrup. More syrup?
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

charliesmom said:
Test came out at 45 even after the syringe of maple syrup. More syrup?
yes, more syrup. try rubbing it on her gums...

please retest in 15 minutes.


ETA: what +hour are we at now?
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43

We shot PMPS at 7pm. It's 9:18pm now. Last test was at 9:10pm.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

charliesmom said:
We shot PMPS at 7pm. It's 9:18pm now. Last test was at 9:10pm.
last test result was roughly 45 @ +2.25.
thank you!

i'll be waiting for the next test result. not going anywhere...
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

Here for moral support. You have a great team online.
Do you have chocolate? For yourself?
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

no problem. we've all been in your shoes and someone has helped us through low numbers.
just paying it forward. :mrgreen:

btw, you're doing great!
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

You're doing great right now. Just remember to keep breathing. Since you have Jill & Alex to help you out, I'm going to log off. I'll check back in later and see how you and Charlie are doing.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

Jill you are doing great, and you have great support from Jill & Alex. Many others of us are here suppporting you behind the scenes while keeping out of the way while you tend to Charlie Kat.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

You can do this!! Take a deep breath and a big cup of coffee. You are doing great.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +2.5 43

at 9:26pm, she's at 43.2. @-)

She is laying on her chair resting.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

charliesmom said:
at 9:26pm, she's at 43.2. @-)
ok, roughly 43 @ +2.5.

decision time.

we have a ways to go before nadir and she hasn't come up much.

you may want to seriously consider taking her to an ER where they will put her on a dextrose drip to prevent her from bottoming out.

what do you think?


"IF" you opt to go to the ER (which is the safest thing to do)...
take the syrup and your testing supplies with you. you may want to give her a little syrup on the way. from the looks of her ss, the dose shot tonight will be kicking in at any time now. keeping her numbers up may be an uphill battle.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

Hi, I am here for moral support and can't really give advice, but Marje had me feed tsps of LC with a drop of syrup when Kismet had really low numbers. You might try giving a tsp of LC food and retest to see if you can get Charlie's numbers up and encourage a surf at a higher number.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

56 at 9:41pm

Just gave more maple syrup from the syringe. Growl, says my sweet kitty.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

Courtney and Kismet said:
Hi, I am here for moral support and can't really give advice, but Marje had me feed tsps of LC with a drop of syrup when Kismet had really low numbers. You might try giving a tsp of LC food and retest to see if you can get Charlie's numbers up and encourage a surf at a higher number.
courtney, thank you for offering your support, but charlie is not in that type of situation right now. her numbers have been dropping steadily since the last cycle.
 
10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

Spoke to my Danish partner about the ER option. The Dutch healthcare/vet care system is not very preventative. They do not like taking measures until they deem them to be absolutely necessary. My partner thinks if we go there, they will not put Charlie on the dextrose drip if her number is in the normal range, which it is at this very moment. I will call the ER back once more by phone just to see what they say and find out how much that would cost and if they'd consider it.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

charliesmom said:
56 at 9:41pm

Just gave more maple syrup from the syringe. Growl, says my sweet kitty.
56 at roughly +2.75.
better! 50's are so much better, but we have to remain vigilant because this is all syrup talking.

at this point, i'd offer a couple teaspoons of hc. recent nadirs have been close to +5 from what i can see. so, there's a ways to go yet.

please retest in 20 minutes...
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

charliesmom said:
Spoke to my Danish partner about the ER option. The Dutch healthcare/vet care system is not very preventative. They do not like taking measures until they deem them to be absolutely necessary. My partner thinks if we go there, they will not put Charlie on the dextrose drip if her number is in the normal range, which it is at this very moment. I will call the ER back once more by phone just to see what they say and find out how much that would cost and if they'd consider it.
ok. it's your call.

here's the thing...
you want to balance syrup and food to keep her up high enough so that when she nadirs it won't be too low.
we also want to feed judiciously as we don't want her to become so full that she'll vomit.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

jill, how are you and your partner doing?
can you stay awake if you attempt to manage this from home or would you be better off taking charlie to an ER?
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

Hi Jill,

The ER vet receptionist has me on hold while she goes to speak to the ER Dr.

MY partner just tested Charlie again now at 10pm and she is at 52.

We are not really feeding Charlie a lot right now. We give her a bit of tuna each time we test, and thus far, every single test is followed up with a bit of maple syrup from the syringe.

ER vet's assistant says they sometimes give glucose fluids if necessary via IV. I'm still on hold waiting to see what she advises us, but she does not seem so concerned.

I am drinking a cappuccino, though I'd really much rather have a strong glass of wine at the moment. My better judgment has me with espresso.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

ha! you're making me laugh! yes, put the wine on hold for now. :lol:

you're doing a great job! all we want to do is keep her numbers high enough so that she won't bottom out at nadir. we also don't want to feed her too much because we don't want her to vomit. it's kind of a balancing act with food and syrup.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32

Here in the background also watching. I would also add 1 tsp LC with syrup the next test. When was her last test?

Melanie & Racci
 
10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52

My partner has been feeling sick with the flu all day. I am doing fine, other than the stress feeling.

Vet's assistant says I should check his sugar, but that testing once an hour is enough. What do you think?

They say I should give her syrup and food, and keep testing and stay awake until her nadir if I keep her at home.

If I go there, it will be minimum 300 euros and they will keep her overnight.

Right now Charlie has moved to the floor. Think she has now associated the chair with being bothered.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie AMPS 319 +5 187 PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 5

charliesmom said:
My partner has been feeling sick with the flu all day. I am doing fine, other than the stress feeling.

Vet's assistant says I should check his sugar, but that testing once an hour is enough. What do you think?

They say I should give her syrup and food, and keep testing and stay awake until her nadir if I keep her at home.

If I go there, it will be minimum 300 euros and they will keep her overnight.

Right now Charlie has moved to the floor. Think she has now associated the chair with being bothered.

in this particular case, i'm not comfortable testing at hour intervals until after nadir, but that's just me. she's been trending downwards since her AM shot... which has added a little oomph on to an increased dose. imho, you should attempt to keep her numbers up... i'd like to see them a bit higher yet before she nadirs.

jmo.
 
10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 3 52

RECAP:

PMPS (7pm) = 83
+1.5 (8:30pm) = 32
+2 (8:52pm) = 43
(9:10pm) = 45
(9:41pm) = 56
+3 (10:00 pm) = 52
+3.5 10:30pm = 54
 
10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 3 52

Completely agree with you Jill. That is the plan. We have enough test strips.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 3 52

I have no clue what that means. Let me guess.

GMTA: get me to alcohol!
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 3 52

charliesmom said:
I have no clue what that means. Let me guess.

GMTA: get me to alcohol!

lololololol! i like your definition better than mine!

GMTA = great minds think alike!
 
10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

RECAP:

PMPS (7pm) = 83
+1.5 (8:30pm) = 32
+2 (8:52pm) = 43
(9:10pm) = 45
(9:41pm) = 56
+3 (10:00 pm) = 52
+3.5 10:30pm = 54

By the way, I think the reason I misread the number at PMPS is because I read that a man was about to jump out of a plane from the stratosphere to earth. That was on TV at the moment I did Charlie's test tonight. I think my mind was off worrying about that nutcase. Now I think: What an accomplishment (for him, not me, obviously).

We will keep testing at home until you tell us it's OK.

Meantime, we usually give charlie 50 grams of food before bed at 10:30pm. In this case, should we give food as normal? Or keep doing what we're doing (bit of tuna, test .. if needed... more maple syrup)?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top