10/14 Charlie PMPS83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +6 131 +7 229

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

hmmm... since she hasn't come up much how about feeding half the normal lc amount now with a drop of syrup mixed in OR feed a little hc rather than the lc.

i'd like to see a bump in numbers... 60s would be nice... before nadir.

you don't want her to get a full tummy before nadir. in other words, let's keep her a little bit hungry "in case" you have to get her to eat again soon.

all we're trying to do is bump her up a little before nadir and keep her from getting too full right now.

if i were in your shoes, i'd retest in 30 minutes.

thanks for recapping along the way. it's very helpful.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

Here for moral support too, you are doing great! Keep up the good work.
 
10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54 +4 47

RECAP:

PMPS (7 PM) = 83
+1.5 (8:30 PM) = 32
+2 (8:52 PM) = 43
(9:10 PM) = 45
(9:41 PM) = 56
+3 (10:00 PM) = 52
+3.5 (10:30 PM) = 54
+4 (11 PM) = 47
Fed 25 grams LC beef + maple syrup

She only ate about half of the food. Think she's getting sick of the maple syrup taste. I know I would be.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

Those 40s are pretty persistent today. Glad you gave some syrup, since she seems to need those extra carbs right now. I know she has had a lot of it but it's better than trying to cram even more food into her when she is full. Is she acting ok?

You're doing great!
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

do you think she's not enthused about eating because of the syrup or that she's simply not hungry?

you could try a teaspoon of hc food if you think she'll eat it... or let her lick a little gravy from the hc.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54 +4.5 6

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you. Just off the phone with my parents, had to test again, and saw my sick partner off to bed.

Back in action.

RECAP:

PMPS (7 PM) = 83
+1.5 (8:30 PM) = 32
+2 (8:52 PM) = 43
(9:10 PM) = 45
(9:41 PM) = 56
+3 (10:00 PM) = 52
+3.5 (10:30 PM) = 54
+4 (11 PM) = 47
Fed 25 grams LC beef + maple syrup
+4.5 (11:30 PM) = 68

Checked the food and what actually happened was that Charlie ate 3/4th's of it. She licked all the gravy and maple syrup off the meat. What was left was just a bit of the meat. I still have 1/2 portion left of Charlie's normal, nightly meal that we usually feed at 10:30 PM.

Let me know when you think it's a good idea to give that. I will stay awake for as long as necessary. I'm tired, but I can manage.

Thanks for sticking by my side tonight.

Charlie seems to be doing OK. Laying on the chair under our kitchen table resting.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +4.5 68

Me too, Rhiannon. From now on, my motto is: Trust thy cat.

She was sitting at her bowl looking up at me at +1.5

I thought, NO WAY are you hungry Charlie. I JUST fed you. Then I thought, well, she usually knows when she needs food. Guess I should test her.

Glad I did, and VERY glad Jill was online when the crisis hit.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

PMPS (7 PM) = 83
+1.5 (8:30 PM) = 32
+2 (8:52 PM) = 43
(9:10 PM) = 45
(9:41 PM) = 56
+3 (10:00 PM) = 52
+3.5 (10:30 PM) = 54
+4 (11 PM) = 47
Fed 25 grams LC beef + maple syrup
+4.5 (11:30 PM) = 68


awesome! she got a few more carbs into her! i'm liking that 68! :mrgreen:
i'd hold off on additional foods at the moment and retest in 30 - 40 minutes.

happy to hear you're managing. i know it's tough when our kitties drop at night.


unfortunately, i can't stick with you any longer due to some previously made plans. however, i've been in contact with libby (libby/lucy). she posted earlier in the thread. she'll stick with you for now. i've also heard from marje and sienne. they're both aware of what's going on with charlie and will be checking in. so, i'm leaving you in very capable hands. you and charlie will be just fine with them.

i'll check back as soon as i get home.
hopefully, this will be over and you'll be sound asleep.
 
10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72

PMPS (7 PM) = 83
+1.5 (8:30 PM) = 32
+2 (8:52 PM) = 43
(9:10 PM) = 45
(9:41 PM) = 56
+3 (10:00 PM) = 52
+3.5 (10:30 PM) = 54
+4 (11 PM) = 47
Fed 25 grams LC beef + maple syrup
+4.5 (11:30 PM) = 68
+5 (12 AM) = 72

Thanks for all your help Jill. Glad there are others in the neighborhood to keep up the coaching. For now, I will not feed the rest of the food. Will only feed tuna treats at next test. Didn't give maple syrup this last test at +5. Let's see how things develop. I will retest again in 30 mins.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

Great job to both Jill's! Don't you love how Charlie naps while you're freaking out? No advice from me, but looks like you're in fantabulous hands. Sending well wishes from overseas!
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +3.5 54

PMPS (7 PM) = 83
+1.5 (8:30 PM) = 32
+2 (8:52 PM) = 43
(9:10 PM) = 45
(9:41 PM) = 56
+3 (10:00 PM) = 52
+3.5 (10:30 PM) = 54
+4 (11 PM) = 47
Fed 25 grams LC beef + maple syrup
+4.5 (11:30 PM) = 68
+5 (12 AM) = 72

This is encouraging! Did she receive any food after the 68?

I know how tired you are (trust me, I know, Lucy LOVED to throw low numbers at her "before bed" test so there was no before bed). Hang in there, you're doing great.
 
10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72

Don't think she had any more food after the 68. She did, however, have a LOT of maple syrup until now. When I fed her just before that 68, there was also maple syrup on her LC beef.

Tara, you are SO, SO RIGHT. I freak out. Charlie yawns. When she gets to the point where she rolls on her back and starts purring and sunbathing, I'll know it's time to go to bed. Haha.

For now, still resting under the table on one of the kitchen chairs.
 
10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72 +5.5 9

PMPS (7 PM) = 83
+1.5 (8:30 PM) = 32
+2 (8:52 PM) = 43
(9:10 PM) = 45
(9:41 PM) = 56
+3 (10:00 PM) = 52
+3.5 (10:30 PM) = 54
+4 (11 PM) = 47
Fed 25 grams LC beef + maple syrup
+4.5 (11:30 PM) = 68
+5 (12 AM) = 72
+5.5 (12:34 PM) = 95
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72

awesome!

I would really like to see at least one more test before calling things off for the night. If you set an alarm for 1 hour, will you wake up?

If so, then I would give a little low carb (if she is hungry) and doze for an hour. Hopefully that number will be up and you can go to bed for real.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72

Great catch today, Jill and also great job. Sienne and I have been waiting in the wings and staying out of the way but just wanted to let you know we are both still around. Looks like everything is good. Because syrup tends to wear off in about two
hours and it looks like you last gave her some at +4, I might get one more test at +6 and if she's still coming up, I'd rest a bit.

eta: libby and I cross posted. If she's ok with an hour until the next test, I'd do that.

One other thing....could you please take off the 911 before you go to bed? Rebecca, the webmaster, prefers those don't get left up once things are resolved. thanks, Jill. sleep well.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72

I wanted to add that the reason I'm looking for a little more cushion in the numbers is that sometimes Charlie drops later in the cycle. We want to leave enough room for her to be able to drop again if she wants to, but still be high enough to be ok.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72

Libby: You are so on top of things, and that's my worry too. I'd love to go to bed soon, but I'm also a bit worried about Charlie's late cycle activity that always seems to come. I will test her now and then you guys can give me advice on next steps. First things first.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72

Just checking back in to see how you and Charlie are doing. It's good to see her numbers are coming up. Keep it up. You're doing great.
 
10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72 +6 131

PMPS (7 PM) = 83
+1.5 (8:30 PM) = 32
+2 (8:52 PM) = 43
(9:10 PM) = 45
(9:41 PM) = 56
+3 (10:00 PM) = 52
+3.5 (10:30 PM) = 54
+4 (11 PM) = 47
Fed 25 grams LC beef + maple syrup
+4.5 (11:30 PM) = 68
+5 (12 AM) = 72
+5.5 (12:34 PM) = 95
+6 (1:02 AM) = 131
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72

let's see what the number is. Once the bounce starts, you're in the clear. The main reason I suggested waiting an hour instead of 30 minutes is to give the carbs a little time to clear out so we could see if the increase over the last couple of hours is a real increase (like the beginning of a bounce) or if it is still carb influenced. But testing again now certainly won't hurt anything, and if she IS bouncing then you can get to bed that much sooner.

Hindsight being 20/20, it looks like what happened tonight was that you increased her dose right when a bounce was clearing. Downward momentum from the bounce clearing + dose increase = a whole bunch of momentum. I know you misread the PMPS number, and I have totally made more than my share of mistakes so I can understand how that happened. :? I would have increased too, if I thought she was at 263. I would go back down to 1.25 tomorrow, though.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72 +6

PMPS (7 PM) = 83
+1.5 (8:30 PM) = 32
+2 (8:52 PM) = 43
(9:10 PM) = 45
(9:41 PM) = 56
+3 (10:00 PM) = 52
+3.5 (10:30 PM) = 54
+4 (11 PM) = 47
Fed 25 grams LC beef + maple syrup
+4.5 (11:30 PM) = 68
+5 (12 AM) = 72
+5.5 (12:34 PM) = 95
+6 (1:02 AM) = 131

we cross-posted! No food since the 47, right? Or at least not much. She has come up from 72 to 131 (almost double) in the last hour, without food. This looks like she is probably starting to bounce. I think you're good to feed her and get some rest. Maybe grab a test in the night if you're up, just to be sure. You could even give her a higher carb snack before bed. That's what I used to do when I knew I *should* be ok to sleep, but I didn't trust Lucy. It can't hurt to be conservative, given Charlie's history of drops at +7-ish. What do you think? You know Charlie best.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72 +6

I'm thinking of going back down to 1.25 tomorrow too.

Just for my learning, why did you say you thought Charlie was clearing a bounce when she had a low number at PMPS tonight? I didn't see a significantly high number prior to that so I'm not sure i get it.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72 +6

Think I'll do 1 more test in ten mins, and if it's still going up, I'll give the rest of the LC plus some maple syrup so there's a tiny bit of a cushion. There have been a few times when Charlie dipped at +7 and even +10 so this will keep things a bit on the safer side. If I can wake up in the night to test, I will.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72 +6

charliesmom said:
I'm thinking of going back down to 1.25 tomorrow too.

Just for my learning, why did you say you thought Charlie was clearing a bounce when she had a low number at PMPS tonight? I didn't see a significantly high number prior to that so I'm not sure i get it.
Like I said, it's all hindsight, which would be a lot more convenient if it would happen in advance. :lol:

Looking just at today, she was high this morning, blue in mid-cycle, then green at PMPS. Filling in the blanks, it looks like she probably took one big slide today, rather than going down and back up like a normal cycle. So it looks like she was clearing a bounce. A bounce from what? I'm not sure exactly, but there could have been some lower numbers on 10/11 in the AM cycle. She was dropping into +2 so probably went green, then she shot up from there. She could have even been bouncing from something yesterday.
 
10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72 +6 131

PMPS (7 PM) = 83
+1.5 (8:30 PM) = 32
+2 (8:52 PM) = 43
(9:10 PM) = 45
(9:41 PM) = 56
+3 (10:00 PM) = 52
+3.5 (10:30 PM) = 54
+4 (11 PM) = 47
Fed 25 grams LC beef + maple syrup
+4.5 (11:30 PM) = 68
+5 (12 AM) = 72
+5.5 (12:34 PM) = 95
+6 (1:02 AM) = 131
+6.5 (1:35 AM) = 158

Just put out the rest of the LC beef with a few drops of maple syrup. Will go to bed now, and if I wake up to go to the bathroom, I'll test again in the middle of the night. If not, I'll test in the morning before Charlie's morning shot of 1.25 again.

Thank you all for your vigilance and support today. I appreciate all the experienced eyes, the advice, and even the support from those of you who just dropped in to give me a few words of encouragement. It helped me get through. Thanks for that.
 
Re: 10/14 Charlie PMPS 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72 +6

Jill, hope you're asleep by now, but just wanted to say GREAT JOB TONIGHT!!!!! Sleep well and sweet dreams!
 
10/14Charlie PM 83 +1.5 32 +2 43 +3 52 +4 47 +5 72 +6 131 +7

+7 = 229

Now she's eating the LC with maple syrup, so I think sleep is definitely in the cards, and I'm not so worried about the need to wake up and test.

Thanks again for being there, guys.

Jill
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top