Yeah I was thinking the same thing. Just gave 2 tsp of honey @ +2 (mixed w squeeze treat, what we have on hand atm). Will test again in 30 or so!Woah bouncy boy. 41 is really low. Are you giving him 1-2 tsp of MC or HC to bring him up a bit? I would definitely test in another 30 mins and at a minimum in a couple hours when the food bump is out of his system to make sure his BG stays up.
And sorry if I missed the context - but I saw on your SS that he dropped below 50 on this dose yesterday too. Are you following a modified TR where you reduce <40 or <50 three separate days?
I think you should use the dropdown menu next to the title to put “?” by it so that moderators know to prioritize this thread for a response - and maybe put something like “dose review” in the title.Yeah I was thinking the same thing. Just gave 2 tsp of honey @ +2 (mixed w squeeze treat, what we have on hand atm). Will test again in 30 or so!
Yes, this would be the second day dropping into the 40s, don't have a test on 10/12 following his shot so hard to say. Warrant a dosage reduction hey? The one issue is I feed + shot before I leave for work in the AM so don't have access to test the +2, +4, etc in the AM
Will do, thanks for the replies! We may be at the start of a similar pattern to his first round of reductions back in 2024, where in ~6 months, the vet brought him down from 3 units to 0.5 units (gradually). Now 6 month post DKA, his readings really levelled off over the summer and the 2 weeks or so we're starting to see lower readingsI think you should use the dropdown menu next to the title to put “?” by it so that moderators know to prioritize this thread for a response - and maybe put something like “dose review” in the title.
I don’t give dosing advice but if it were my cat, I would reduce if you can’t have eyes on him after his AM shot. I’d be curious what someone experienced will say (especially with his prior DKA history) but this dose clearly has some juice so it would feel a little nerve wracking to me if I couldn’t monitor after.
I’m struggling with something similar though so I get it. Right now we’re running an aggressive dose for Moonie (similar to what this dose feels like for Caesar) and it’s been tough balancing that with work and sleep.
Will do on the formatting. We have tested for ketones in the past, but haven't as of late. Still have the urine testing strips handy so just waiting on Caesar. Will update the sheet accordingly once I have something.Here is the link to your previous post here: 10/13, AMPS: 380, +6 46.8, PMPS, 131.4 +3 55.8. FYI, you can skip the decimal points on the BG numbers. If you were using the World version of the spreadsheet, it does the conversions for you.
Have you been testing for ketones at home? That's a factor to consider with dosing suggestions. If you have tested lately, please put the test result in the Remarks column.
I think you should reduce to 2.25 units. You don't want him going below 50 when you are not able to monitor. Does he have access to food during the day when you are away?