10/14/13 Jerry AMPS 125 + 7 106 Dosing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

HappyCat

Member Since 2013
Happy Columbus Day!
I have a question in regards to Jerry's dosing. For a while we had syringes from our vet with only full unit markings so for his safety I was aiming for 1.50 units instead of getting too close to 2 units unknowingly. We're back into our half unit marked syringes so for consistency I've kept him at 1.50 units. I've been told to hold the dose for 3-5 days (6-10 shots) and we hit 6 shots this morning. For a while he had been in the yellows in the AM (blue today) but had hit blues for his PM and some good greens for the NADIRs. He did hit a 61 on his presumed 1.50 dosing and a 62 just last night so he seems like he might be good where he's at but thought I'd seek an opinion from my experts. Thank you. :smile:
 
With Jerry seeing nadirs that are below 200, I would suggest holding the dose for 5 days (10 cycles).

Just as an FYI: Syringes from different manufacturers may not be calibrated exactly the same. I had used Monoject syringes for quite some time. Not all that long ago, I switched to Terumo syringes. There is amost 0.5u difference between the amount of insulin when I was measuring the same dose. (The Monoject's held almost 1.5u compared to 1.0u with the Terumos.)
 
Oh my I hadn't known that I figured 1.5 units would be the same across the board but if no 2 snowflakes are the same makes sense that no 2 different brand syringes would be the same. He doesn't seem to be raising any red flags so I probably do need more information from another couple of days. Great information thank you so much! :-D
 
even if you open and compare 10 syringes from the same box, you'll see that the markings aren't identical. that's the main reason some people use calipers to measure the dose. crazy - we live in this amazing technological world - you'd think we could get syringes marked consistently by one manufacturer!!

great cycle for jerry today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top