10/13 Buddha amps 445

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Buddha

Member Since 2009
Yesterday ...

Recap. Good day! Late for pmps. +12.75 was 40! Ahhh! Ahhh! Ahhh! +14.5 was still just a fed 63 and bean was tired, so no shot.

Kept with the 1.25u dose this morning. Does a 40 mean a reduction? Shed is empty this morning, so I'm not worried about today. I think the 40 was an error of not feeding at his midcycle 60, though who knows? I'm all for sticking with the dose. Specially since I will most likely be shooting late for the next few cycles.

Are most people really at home at 12 hour intervals?
 
after a 40 i'd reduce my dose by a tiny fraction (shave it). you don't always have to do that the very next shot, because of the probable bounce after a low number, but i'd start the shave the cycle after that (meaning tonight).
if you see high numbers for a couple days go back to the 1.25u. some cats don't get a dose shave or reduction til they're in the low 30s. depends on the cat. initially tho, i'd take that 40 as indicating i need to shave my dose until proven otherwise.
 
I don't want to give out any advice because I don't feel qualified to do so, but with mocha we are doing a tight protocol, where she has to go under 50 three times on three different days on the same dose before she earns a decrease. But she is a hard to regulate cat.
 
Do you leave food for Buddha during the day? You mentioned not feeding during the midcycle....fasting could do that to them...lower the BGs like that. Can you leave snacks out if you won't be home? Some use the frozen food in an ice cube tray~leaving out a puck or two for times when you will be away. And many have gotten timed feeders....they are convenient too. Numbers <50 will earn a dosecrease...but if it doesn't seem to be holding within a few days, you can go back up to the last dose. Hope Buddha will bring himself down today...
 
Feeding is tricky, because I run a multiple pets with different diets household. Throw small children into the mix, and well. But, yes, if Buddha had been hungry, or what I considered low at the wrong part of the cycle or perhaps if I hadn't been distracted with other pressing activities, then Buddha would have had food.

I used to be more strict about meal timing, but Buddha's appetite has been more variable on Lantus. And I can't just leave food "out" or else he will have to spend his life locked in the bathroom, alone. So I try to guess when he will need or want extra food and confine him only at those times. Seems I was wrong yesterday.

What a drop yesterday too. From 359 amps to 40 +12.75. Maybe the larger bg swings are due to too much insulin. Though my gut tells me no.
 
The food thing is big though. IF he had food on board and went down to <40 then it is a decrease in the amount of insulin. But that still was a big drop he had. Oh well, you have your hands full during the daytime...it's hard to juggle.
If the decreased dose doesn't work, then it's back up again. We just have to see what Buddha thinks about all of this... :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top