10/13 Blue AMBG 65 AMPS 52 + 2 70 +5.5 77 +8 99 +10 99 PMPS 113 +3 90

diabetic_blue

Member Since 2025
10/12 Blue AMPS 106 +3 62 +4 62 +7 88 +9 115 PMPS 115 +2 95 +6 49 +11 95

Ok, ok, we're not AMBG yet but +11.5 PM almost.

However..
Blue decided to put another number and pulled out a 49 at +6. He got fed HC food and now, at +11 he's doing fine. But he did not get retested.

I was sleepeing when it happened and so no more tests were done but now I am unsure: did he earn another reduction? I know ECID but how common is it to get two reductions within a few days? I'm not sure he had earned it looking at the other numbers but I would also like to keep him safe.

So another 0.25U decrease for his next shot in 30 minutes? We can always come back up if the reduction does not hold.
 
Last edited:
You can try the reduction and see how he does. Typically the larger depot influences 4-6 cycles after a reduction, and last night was cycle 4.

BTW, don't forget Blue's name in the subject line!
 
What you could be seeing is a Lantus double dip, where they go down for a second mini cycle, but not as low as the main cycle. Are you around to monitor today? Plenty of test strips and high carb food? I can't stick around much longer as it's getting close to my bed time.
 
Congrats on the reduction! I'm around if you need help later. :-)

You shot a similar number on the 10th and he headed up.
But it looks like he is still heading down?
Another test and he's 50. He ate about 1.5 hours ago (PMPS +11) and the 95 test was within minutes after he finished.
I think I would like to stall a bit more.
 
Last edited:
But it looks like he is still heading down?
Another test and he's 50. He ate about 1.5 hours ago (PMPS +11) and the 95 test was within minutes after he finished.
I think I would like to stall a bit more.
The problem with stalling is that numbers can keep dropping, making the shooting decision more difficult. Are you thinking of skipping the shot?
 
It's possible he's hit a breakthrough dose at 1.75 and will keep going down in dosing. We've seen this in many cats before.

That makes my decission even more difficult, and I don't think I saw this pattern before in other people SS (or I failed to notice it).

Also, is that like we basically jump started Punky's (Blue) pancreas? 😂
 
@Bandit's Mom I forgot to mention, he made quite the noise for food at +11, so maybe he was higher because of stress? He did have food but he did not like it.
Not stress. He could probably sense the drop coming and was therefore vocal for food.

Also, is that like we basically jump started Punky's (Blue) pancreas? 😂
That's exactly it!


I don't think I saw this pattern before in other people SS (or I failed to notice it).
I can't remember any offhand, but I'll look for some to share with you.
 
I was just wondering, thinking about this, from the stickies:

  • Shooting an hour or two early *could* act like a slight dose increase.
  • Shooting an hour or two late *could* act like a slight dose reduction.

What happens if, because I shot AMS 1 hour late, but it was a small token dose, I shoot PM dose at the usual time, rather than PMS + 45 minutes?
 
Back
Top